We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 122 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sandton, South Africa
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very comfortable place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Sankara is a lovely place to stay. Rooms are comfortable, reasonably spacious and quite comfortable and a good size bathroom with both shower and bathtub. Breakfast is buffet style but a very large selection of foods. Staff are very friendly and helpful. The only complaint I have is the price of drinks . A glass of wine will cost you in the region of USD. 10 and that is for half a glass....
Will come back and can recommend to anybody to stay.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear AMkenya,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 18th October 2013.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our ambience, service, staff, food and the facilities.

We are committed to offering the best to our guests; and since inception, import our own wines which provides an exceptional wine list with a large variety of labels not available in the local market.

As the entire team at Sankara Nairobi care deeply about our guests’ convenience and comfort, your kind words will only motivate to further exceed your expectations.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Kind regards,



The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    157
    28
    15
    11
See reviews for
35
74
32
257
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Nairobi is a beautiful and ugly place all at the same time. I loved it! But if you've got to stay there stay at the Sankara. This is an oasis. The rooms are incredibly comfortable and well furnished. The bathrooms are nicely done as well. I even loved their hygiene products. Had room service and the food was delicious! The breakfast was a little strange for me. But I chalk that up to my limited African travel. Everyone else in my party was happy with the breakfast choices. My room was higher up in the hotel so I had a wonderful view. The hotel staff was knowledgeable and very friendly and helpful as well.

The hotel restaurant and bar on the top floor has some great late night food and the pool there adds some really nice atmosphere at night. Plus the view up there is really cool. The kids will love it.

There is great security (don't be alarmed but you must pass through a metal detector to enter the hotel.) Some might be put off by the security measures. But in this day and age, I found it comforting. It wasn't intrusive, just thorough. But by far, this is the place to stay in Nairobi! No question. You'll be glad you stayed here!

Room Tip: If you can get a room on a higher floor the views are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Cleavetwo,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 15th October 2013.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our ambience, service, staff, food and the facilities.

We are happy to note that you enjoyed one of your evenings at Sarabi pool & supper club.

We are committed to ensuring your safety and comfort by heightening our already stringent security measures.

As the entire team at Sankara Nairobi care deeply about our guests’ convenience and comfort, your kind words will only motivate to further exceed your expectations.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Kind Regards,



The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sollentuna, Sweden
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This Hotel offers you a great stay with all the needed extras. The staff is very friendly and service is very good. Security is good but discrete. Located very centrally giving you the opportunity to see parts of Nairobi. Somewhat high priced.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thane, India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I been to this palace in month of June 2011, its really nice hotel, Staff is very friendly and helpful,
Food is also good, Like to visit again. Like the interior of the hotel is really nice and "WOW"
Sea Food is very good in this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Hotel is egreat. The rooms, service, food and location are all excellent and I think you will struggle to find a better hotel in Nairobi. Stayed the night before at Southern Sun Mayfair as bookings were full at Sankara. It is like chalk and cheese. My only gripe would be that everything in the hotel is very expensive and was bit annoyed that I had to pay more than 5 dollars for a bottle of drinking water as they dont sell the smaller cheaper bottle even though they provide 2 bottles of the cheaper stuff to everyroom everyday. So if you run out of complimentary water just be prepared to ripped off.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I wanted to stay for a longer period but it was full for the first four night I wanted but was very pleased I moved to the Sankara for the last four days of my visit.
Rooms are reasonably spacious and was pleased how light the room was so was able to work in the room. I had a room on the club floor so use of the club lounge which was convenient when I need a snack and to get out of the room for a while. Resturant on the seventh floor was pleaseant for a change ut sugest you book a table as certainly at the weekend was very popular though the friendly staff managed to fit me in. It is easy to access a number of malls in the area though of course the terrible events of Saturday 21st September occuring just a few days after I left was a real shock. Security at the hotel was very good and staff seemed very dilligent so will be happy to go back there again.

Room Tip: Club rooms very quiet and no external noise heard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Dear Paul H,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 25th September 2013.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and more so with your gracious compliments about our staff, service and facilities.

Our city has been deeply affected by the tragedy. We at Sankara stand by our community to mourn the loss and applaud the bravery of many. We are committed to ensuring your safety and comfort by heightening our already stringent security measures.

We do look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi very soon.

With Kind Regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
234 helpful votes 234 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

This turned out to be a decent location near the Sarit Center and the Undugu Fair Trade Shop. The room was very nice though perhaps a little cramped for the price and level of the hotel. The bathroom was very nice and included an in-room hair dryer, shower with multiple heads, and separate tub.
The spa included a nice fitness room, and the rooftop pool and bar was definitely picturesque.
We enjoyed the lunch buffet at Artisan, the less formal of the restaurants within the hotel, with great Kenyan tea, great breads, soups, and cheeses among the options - plus an awesome dessert bar. The food service was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the outdoor patio for dining was lovely.
Hotel service was outstanding, including the front desk/reception and the director of services Monica (the concierge).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.