We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Amazing hotel in the middle of Westlands so easy to go out and about. The pool and bar on the top floor are fab; service, food and rooms are great and we were always made to feel welcome. It's a great place to stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anyaspell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Overall, this was a very nice stay for business purposes. It's quite a busy area, so it wouldn't necessarily be my top choice for a vacation/personal stay, but it was a good place for people to come meet us and relatively central (meaning equally long time sitting in Nairobi traffic!) to all our outside meetings. Staff was generally friendly and helpful. Lots of small seating options on the mezzanine which are not too busy in the mornings and we often took a table in the bar for our meetings and just kept ordering coffees - and the coffee and bakery was quite good. The rooftop pool/bar is a nice place for a drink, but defintiely more of a "see and be seen" scene than a pool for exercise. The gym is small but adequate, though a bit warm. Hotel food and drinks are expensive, but that, I guess, is to be expected. It is just across from Westlands Mall which offers lower cost options. The room was nice, well-appointed, very comfortable bed and a mini fridge and safe in standard rooms. I only had a couple of issues during my stay. First, the previous guest had left the safe locked and it took many many calls and visits with maintenance before it was able to be fixed. Second, there was some confusion about our room rate. When booking we specifically asked for the room rate including breakfast. However, after we checked in we were told that breakfast was not included in the room rate. We showed the e-mail correspondence which specified breakfast, but the hotel insisted they would charge us an additional $20 per day for breakfast. I could never eat $20 worth of food first thing in the morning, so we just skipped breakfast. Not a big deal, but the lack of clarity or willingness to stand by the quoted rate was a little annoying. Finally, my last day there I thought I would take advantage of the steam and sauna rooms before getting on the long, dry 22-hour trip home. I was in my towel and heading out of the locker room section and over to the toilet/shower section to shower before heading into the steam room, and was surprised to find a gentleman relieving himself in the women's toilet - with the stall door open! I think the problem here is that the locker/shower/steam room is also the toilet for the rooftop bar and the men's and women's facilities are just across from each other, meaning you get some people who have perhaps had a bit too much to drink wandering into the wrong facility. While I can understand how this might happen, it was a little disturbing and pretty much ruined my plans for a relaxing sauna. I will likely return to this hotel because it is very convenient for business, and the rooms are nice, clean and confortable, but I would suggest that the hotel look into ways to better control for the bar patrons.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back as opposed to overlooking the noisy traffic and construction out front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OrangeZoneTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
90 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed here for one night during a stop over to my safari trip. It was a new hotel, less than 2 years i was told. Everything is top grade, bed is extremely comfortable. Food is excellent quality. We have tried the dinner buffet and there were a lot of choices. Dessert was also very good and with a lot of choices.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HKA_888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mombasa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had a beautiful experience during our stay at Sankara Nairobi.

The hotel is brand new, and the rooms are excellent in terms of size, luxury and the amenities.

Location is excellent as it is located in Westlands area thus centrally located to all nearby malls and restaurants.

WIFI is included, and the speed is great.

Staff is extremely friendly and welcoming.

Breakfast is very impressive, though they could do better with the hot dishes, as it was mostly pork.

However, I still rate the hotel 5 stars due to the room standards, customer service, and excellent location.

Since I am regular travel to Nairobi, I will not hesitate to always stay at Sankara.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
Level Contributor
118 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Went to the spa with a Family member, spent 2,5 hours indulging myself into the good and healthy in a massage and a facial. Booked by phone and was very well received. Apprecited the service, the competent staff, the ambiance. Recomend. Thanks for your great hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. Great rooms, great staff and good food. I would not hesitate to recommend it for business travel. A world class business hotel.
The staff were extremely proactive. My airport transfer was slightly delayed and there was numerous apologies by many folk for the inconvenience, which was really minor.
The room is spacious, a proper good desk to work at, free broadband and quick room service.
The bar and pool on the top floor is a very chic modern space.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fb399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I spent a night there 2 days ago on Saturday 20/7/13 en route for Lagos the next morning. Check in was fast and efficient. Bellboys were on standby for luggage. Rooms were modern and well equipped(for a standard room), beds were super comfortable, pillows were the best I ever had in a hotel. They form any shape you want them to. We each got a basket of fruit in our rooms. Room service was fast. Food was delicious. Check out was fast after a delicious breakfast as early as 6am in the restaurant which had an open plan kitchen. Very modern and clean hotel. Worth every shilling!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jumsie06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#12 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
DusitD2 Nairobi
#10 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#8 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing