We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The spa is great!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Nairobi
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“The spa is great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Went to the spa with a Family member, spent 2,5 hours indulging myself into the good and healthy in a massage and a facial. Booked by phone and was very well received. Apprecited the service, the competent staff, the ambiance. Recomend. Thanks for your great hospitality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    199
    125
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
28
61
24
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel. Great rooms, great staff and good food. I would not hesitate to recommend it for business travel. A world class business hotel.
The staff were extremely proactive. My airport transfer was slightly delayed and there was numerous apologies by many folk for the inconvenience, which was really minor.
The room is spacious, a proper good desk to work at, free broadband and quick room service.
The bar and pool on the top floor is a very chic modern space.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

I spent a night there 2 days ago on Saturday 20/7/13 en route for Lagos the next morning. Check in was fast and efficient. Bellboys were on standby for luggage. Rooms were modern and well equipped(for a standard room), beds were super comfortable, pillows were the best I ever had in a hotel. They form any shape you want them to. We each got a basket of fruit in our rooms. Room service was fast. Food was delicious. Check out was fast after a delicious breakfast as early as 6am in the restaurant which had an open plan kitchen. Very modern and clean hotel. Worth every shilling!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kabul
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

This hotel was recommended to me by a friend, and I was extremely happy. The hotel is located in a great neighborhood and is easy to get to (traffic in Nairobi is horrible, but you can't blame the hotel). As an international traveler, the Sankara lived up to my standards for a first class hotel. The bed was extremely comfortable and the staff were extremely helpful. I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bourgoin Jallieu, France
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed two times in Sankara. Very nice hotel. Personnel is friendly and always willing to assist you. Room are well designed even is the surface is a little bit under what should be for this category of hotel.
Breakfast buffet is awesome with very good products.
Only two points of complain:
1) When I was there AC in the gym room was not working and it was more a sauna than a gym.
2) Internet problem due to strange security certificates.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Fabrice A,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 15th July 2013 and for your positive compliments about our service, staff, breakfast and our spacious rooms.

We're sorry to hear that your experience with our internet service was not to your expectation. However, sometimes some of the settings of network cards configured by company's system administrator could also block some sites.

Furthermore, we have taken note of your comments and are happy to let you know that we have now reduced some of the security restrictions that could possibly block some sites.

We have also noted that our AC in the gym was not working during your stay with us, we are happy to let you know that the problem has been rectified and the AC is fully functional.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind Regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Weather you are on business or on an exploratory leisure stay, this hotel is a inland of service and luxury in the city.

Attention to detail is there, staff are friendly, capable and in the know.
Rooms are spacious with as good views as you can get in this city (although the hotel is only 7 floors there are no tall building around obstructing the view).

Bathroom deserve a special thumbs up, as it is large and combined with the wardrobe space which increases its functionality. Rooftop pool bar is ok, although quite scarce in space. Executive club is great with nice views.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the higher for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Food is out of this world - separate room for desserts! Service is so prompt they attend to you before you ask. Brought me a complimentary cake to my room on the eve of my birthday. Truely top of the list for luxury and decadence.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.