We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hotel if not the best of Nairobi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 130 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Bourgoin Jallieu, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“One of the best hotel if not the best of Nairobi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stayed two times in Sankara. Very nice hotel. Personnel is friendly and always willing to assist you. Room are well designed even is the surface is a little bit under what should be for this category of hotel.
Breakfast buffet is awesome with very good products.
Only two points of complain:
1) When I was there AC in the gym room was not working and it was more a sauna than a gym.
2) Internet problem due to strange security certificates.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Fabrice A,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 15th July 2013 and for your positive compliments about our service, staff, breakfast and our spacious rooms.

We're sorry to hear that your experience with our internet service was not to your expectation. However, sometimes some of the settings of network cards configured by company's system administrator could also block some sites.

Furthermore, we have taken note of your comments and are happy to let you know that we have now reduced some of the security restrictions that could possibly block some sites.

We have also noted that our AC in the gym was not working during your stay with us, we are happy to let you know that the problem has been rectified and the AC is fully functional.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind Regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    173
    32
    17
    11
See reviews for
38
81
36
282
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Weather you are on business or on an exploratory leisure stay, this hotel is a inland of service and luxury in the city.

Attention to detail is there, staff are friendly, capable and in the know.
Rooms are spacious with as good views as you can get in this city (although the hotel is only 7 floors there are no tall building around obstructing the view).

Bathroom deserve a special thumbs up, as it is large and combined with the wardrobe space which increases its functionality. Rooftop pool bar is ok, although quite scarce in space. Executive club is great with nice views.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the higher for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Food is out of this world - separate room for desserts! Service is so prompt they attend to you before you ask. Brought me a complimentary cake to my room on the eve of my birthday. Truely top of the list for luxury and decadence.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
108 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Was not staying there and once again ate at the restaurant with three guests. Was put to shame by the speed of the service which marred an otherwise very good selection on the menu. One of my guests was served with the wrong food and got no apology from the manager. We spent over two and a half hours, most of it waiting and each one of us had only ordered a two course meal and two of us had vegetarian dishes. We had to find the waiter to settle the bill.
This was not even a busy night.

For those with better luck- order food the minute you sit down and expect a long wait.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Kufunda,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 2nd July 2013.

We're sorry to hear that your experience was not to expectation at our Artisan restaurant and we did not deliver the standards we are accustomed to. Please accept our sincere apologies for the laps in standards.

We have furthermore raised this concern with our food & beverage manager in order to ensure that a corrective plan is put in place to avoid a recurrence in future.

We do hope that afford us an early opportunity to restore your faith in the Sankara Nairobi soon. To this end please do not hesitate to contact us so that we can take care of all your requirements personally.

With kind regards,


The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
160 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Spent a few nights here and loved everything about this hotel. The rooms are chic and comfortable. Staff is amazingly helpful. Wifi is free. You are within walking distance to shops and restaurants and the hotel feels overall safe. There is a business centre if you need to do work, as well as a restaurant on the 1st floor. The rooftop bar/pool is a great place to relax at the end of the day.

The small touches (as other reviewers have mentioned) are what make the stay extra special. You will get Kenyan animals made of soapstone every night - a very special touch.

Java House (in the Sarit center) is great for coffee and food. The Sarit center also has an ATM and grocery store - all very cheap.

Definitely would recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is very nice and peaceful. The room was very comfortable and large. The staff was efficient and courteous. I left my Kindle in the room, and the hotel kept it for me .... it was returned safely to me while on Safari in the Mara. The restaurants serve delicious food. I picked up a few good souvenirs from the in house boutique.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Stylish well equipped and designed rooms. Good service. Good food.good security. Great place to stay on business and travel. I enjoyed the gear dud buffet breakfast and especially the beds... Could steal that bed and linen and take it all home with me.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.8 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
4.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 425 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#11 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
8.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#8 of 130 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.