We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best you need for Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 101 hotels in Nairobi
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best you need for Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Weather you are on business or on an exploratory leisure stay, this hotel is a inland of service and luxury in the city.

Attention to detail is there, staff are friendly, capable and in the know.
Rooms are spacious with as good views as you can get in this city (although the hotel is only 7 floors there are no tall building around obstructing the view).

Bathroom deserve a special thumbs up, as it is large and combined with the wardrobe space which increases its functionality. Rooftop pool bar is ok, although quite scarce in space. Executive club is great with nice views.

Room Tip: try to get a room on the higher for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    130
    23
    11
    9
See reviews for
28
63
25
206
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Food is out of this world - separate room for desserts! Service is so prompt they attend to you before you ask. Brought me a complimentary cake to my room on the eve of my birthday. Truely top of the list for luxury and decadence.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Was not staying there and once again ate at the restaurant with three guests. Was put to shame by the speed of the service which marred an otherwise very good selection on the menu. One of my guests was served with the wrong food and got no apology from the manager. We spent over two and a half hours, most of it waiting and each one of us had only ordered a two course meal and two of us had vegetarian dishes. We had to find the waiter to settle the bill.
This was not even a busy night.

For those with better luck- order food the minute you sit down and expect a long wait.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Kufunda,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 2nd July 2013.

We're sorry to hear that your experience was not to expectation at our Artisan restaurant and we did not deliver the standards we are accustomed to. Please accept our sincere apologies for the laps in standards.

We have furthermore raised this concern with our food & beverage manager in order to ensure that a corrective plan is put in place to avoid a recurrence in future.

We do hope that afford us an early opportunity to restore your faith in the Sankara Nairobi soon. To this end please do not hesitate to contact us so that we can take care of all your requirements personally.

With kind regards,


The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Spent a few nights here and loved everything about this hotel. The rooms are chic and comfortable. Staff is amazingly helpful. Wifi is free. You are within walking distance to shops and restaurants and the hotel feels overall safe. There is a business centre if you need to do work, as well as a restaurant on the 1st floor. The rooftop bar/pool is a great place to relax at the end of the day.

The small touches (as other reviewers have mentioned) are what make the stay extra special. You will get Kenyan animals made of soapstone every night - a very special touch.

Java House (in the Sarit center) is great for coffee and food. The Sarit center also has an ATM and grocery store - all very cheap.

Definitely would recommend this place!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The hotel is very nice and peaceful. The room was very comfortable and large. The staff was efficient and courteous. I left my Kindle in the room, and the hotel kept it for me .... it was returned safely to me while on Safari in the Mara. The restaurants serve delicious food. I picked up a few good souvenirs from the in house boutique.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Stylish well equipped and designed rooms. Good service. Good food.good security. Great place to stay on business and travel. I enjoyed the gear dud buffet breakfast and especially the beds... Could steal that bed and linen and take it all home with me.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I stayed at the Sankara Hotel over a long-weekend escape and checked into one of their junior suites. Although the suite's aren't really that big, I must confess that the small touches everywhere in the room really did make it worthwhile for me. The bathroom alone was in itself probably worth the extra money. The service was incredibly warm, attentive, friendly and staff seemed to anticipate your needs and were ready with suggestions or advice when needed. The club lounge staff were particularly impressive and helpful in assisting with various requests.The rooftop bar and pool has a very funky atmosphere and seems to attract quite a few of Nairobi's young and vibey after work crowd for a pretty good selection of cocktails. From the rooftop bar you can then head to one of the hotel's restaurants. Personally I enjoyed the Artisan Restaurant and sitting on its terrace enjoying the incredible Kenyan lamb dish.

The hotel is also perfectly situated being close to some great restaurants, bars and clubs and quick access to several shopping centres. My only word of caution in terms of its location would be to allow sufficient time to get to and from the airport as the Nairobi traffic is incredibly bad.

I'll definitely be returning there on my next trip to Nairobi.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.