We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Festive Season Special
Ranked #13 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Bogota
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I stayed for one night and I don't have any bad thing to say about it, the room was comfortable, clean and well decorated, the staff (entrance, cleaning, restaurant, etc) is absolutely amiable. I had lunch and dinner and was very tasty, also the breakfast buffet is very very good. Highly recommended !!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    145
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
32
69
28
233
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

The hotel convinces with very good service, a modern set up and facilities that makes you feel like you are in a spa environment. The roof top bar with a swimming pool is a real plus. You can work out in a small, but well maintained gym. Bars and restaurants are in the neighbourhood.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

When we arrived we were welcomed with love especially my 18month old kids were warmly welcomed: We were only there to dine & just take a tour for personal future reasons! The service was great' I enjoyed the ambiance & I truly loved the cleanliness: Very polite & with ease we enjoyed our visit. Will be back again. Keep up the good job!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Sankara is the best place to stay in Nairobi. I've heard it many times until I tried... and this is very true. Accomodation, service, staff, atmosphere are simply outstanding. I spent an intense week in Nairobi and Sankara really helped me to rest after busy working days.
Highlights
- Roof bar and pool - excellent
- Room decoration - Great quality in African style
- Breakfast - good balanca of western and African cuisine

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accra
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

stayed here for a week, and its was not bad at all, the staff were extremly friendly John at the conceirge is a good man. Rachel at the guest relations desk was also awesome.

The hotel is set in the middle of the westland close to a good number of bars and hangouts.
The room was perfect and very modern and all amenities provided worked as expected.The hotel is clean and pristine.

the feature i loved most was the glass partition on the seven floor where you can see all the floors below :) as you walk across

The hotel has a pool bar on the seven floor which is quite kool but i never saw any guests use the pool i guess because you have no privacy if you want to, since its also a very busy functional hangout. The staff at the bar keep asking if you need a drink to a point you actually feel harassed.

The food was Ok but i absolutely loved the dessert bar that was awesome.

i would recommed this to business travellers who also love to have a good time at night there are lots of places close to this hotel within walking distance but please ask before you try walking not always safe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
203 helpful votes 203 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

First if you have never been to NBO before this may not be the place for you, however if you have been here before, are coming for business, or simply prefer modern Wyndham style accommodations then this is a great spot to consider. I say this simply because it is so modern that it does not have some of the old school quaintness (that a first-time visitor may want to experience) of some other more traditional "safari" hotels in NBO have.

As far as the hotel it is wonderfully located in Westlands, near (walking distance) to some of the best restaurants in NBO, and great shopping (Sarit Center,Triangle Market, Spinners Web). The downside of the location is that it is a big traffic bottleneck. This can be problematic if you are trying to get out of this area between 700-900am or 330-800pm (or anytime Friday nights). Good to keep in mind depending on your flight connections. Not a reason not to stay here just something to keep in mind when planning.

The hotel is well appointed with free WiFi, clean spacious rooms, complementary bottled water (2/room/day), rooftop pool and bar (also a Champagne bar), great buffet breakfast (included), decent buffet dinner (about US$35/person), ample parking, helpful / attentive staff, in room safe, day rooms available (1100 am to 700pm), spa, exercise room, and secure setting. I am a frequent visitor of Kenya and this is definitely a wonderful spot to stay and very comfortable especially given the proximity of many good restaurants.

One other nice detail was that the nightly turn down service delivers a small zawadi or gift, to your bedside. It is basically a small animal carving (see photos) about the size of a Zuni fetish. If you stay 7 nights you can collect the whole set.

Overall I would highly recommend a stay here if you are visiting Kenya.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Brand new, beautiful and modern rooms, nice decoration all over the hotel, wonderful breakfast, perfect espresso coffee, kind and polite staff,we have enjoyed the rooftop bar!!!Just perfect!!!Book now!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Venere, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.