We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for Business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 92 hotels in Nairobi
Miami
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for Business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

It is one of the best hotels in Nairobi for business, considering the facilities and location.

It only has two problems, the wifi conection is very poor in the rooms, and to walk around is not the safest place in the city.

Excelent Bar just 100 mts from the Hotel call Gipsy, very diverse, great music and food.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    185
    114
    18
    8
    8
See reviews for
24
58
21
175
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I stayed at Sankara several times and every time I go I am pleased with the quality of the rooms and the restaurant as well as the roof top bar.

The design of the hotel is exceptional with magnificent lighting and attention to detail on every decoration from the lobby to the bars to the parking lots.

However the pricing is rather high.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

We spent a night at Sankara which is in a very busy Westland area, next to the biggest mall in Nairobi. The rooms were very modern and well-furnished with all modern amenities. The bathroom had a glass partition, which could be shuttered for privacy. The security on entry was efficient and polite. The breakfast included was fantastic. Such a variety of hot and cold meats, cheeses, baked products, eggs on order, fruits and juices. Service was courteous and friendly. If you want to be in the centre (horrendous traffic snarls to get from place to place) within walking distance to the biggest mall Westlands, & restaurants, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All the 4 rooms we occupied were good. We asked for rooms near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on business and held a conference there too. The rooms were modern and spacious and the staff helpful. We dined here and the food was excellent and the service too. The bathrooms were lovely but lack hooks for towels which was a big strange.

Room Tip: As to overlook the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I recently had the opportunity to stay at Sankara on a stop over business trip.The hotel has taken great care to ensure security of its residents with cctv cameras everywhere and rigorous checks at the entrance even for known hotel guests which can sometimes be annoying.The rooftop bar has good service and so is the spa on the 7th floor. They must be having a great chef too on their restaurant on the 1st floor as the food is great. The cost of these services is however on the higher side on a comparative basis to similarly priced new hotels in the city.I found it surprising and pretty disappointing that they have different rates for different days and even for these rates these exclude breakfast for the weekdays. It was also pretty disappointing that even after checking in they did not disclose for me the full rates including taxes that I was expected to pay which amounted to a level of deception and totally unacceptable.Finally, I sought the intervention of the manager on an issue regarding my comfortable stay as a guest. His mien, and dismissive attitude and inability to resolve the issue, which ended up being resolved by someone way down the line after the same explanation left me deeply disappointed

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Blueflame73,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 7th May 2013 and for your positive compliments about our service and spa, specially our food.

We would like to extend our apologies for the inconvenience caused during check in. The hotel is normally oversubscribed from Sunday - Thursday inclusive therefore we have a different rates as opposed to weekend Friday & Saturday where we able to provide a slightly lower rate. We are sorry to hear that this was not explained to you when checking in.

One of our guiding principles is integrity and unfortunately this was not felt when you sought the Manager's intervention. We are nevertheless grateful one of our stars, was able solve the issue. We have furthermore raised this concern with our rooms division manager in order to ensure that a corrective plan is put in place to avoid a recurrence in future.

We trust that the isolated experience has not deterred you from a return visit and look forward to welcoming you back to restore your faith in our management.

With kind regards,


The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Coming from a Travel Agent who sees plenty of luxury hotels, this was by far one of the best I've stayed in. Room was fantastic - very modern and clean with uniquely African touches. Staff was phenomenal from check in to the waiters at the restaurant, very accommodating and pleasant.

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite which had a huge bathroom and plenty of space to spread out with luggage and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Good place, good food and nice location, if you want to stay in westlands, then its a good place.. traffic is very bad, so stay close to where you want to go. Coming back, the food is very good in the hotel and the service is also nice. The bed was too soft for my liking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi
Sankara Nairobi Hotel
Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.