We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Coming from a Travel Agent who sees plenty of luxury hotels, this was by far one of the best I've stayed in. Room was fantastic - very modern and clean with uniquely African touches. Staff was phenomenal from check in to the waiters at the restaurant, very accommodating and pleasant.

Room Tip: We had a Junior Suite which had a huge bathroom and plenty of space to spread out with luggage and e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    198
    124
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
28
60
24
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Good place, good food and nice location, if you want to stay in westlands, then its a good place.. traffic is very bad, so stay close to where you want to go. Coming back, the food is very good in the hotel and the service is also nice. The bed was too soft for my liking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This review is only for the rooftop lounge and cocktails at the Sankara.

The rooftop offers the most excellent views of Nairobi while lounging by the pool on the top. Cocktails are excellent. My Tanqueray dirty martini was perfectly prepared, although it cost me close to $15 (wait, am I back in Chicago?). Come here for the views, stay for the cocktails.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Booked in by my business partner from Nairobi. I spend two nights in the great place. Truly a 5* hotel, fantastic spar.very central. Hotel is full with Americans from American embassy and UN headquarter...
Breakfast is big , but you have to wait forever for the toast that you have to do yourself, does not suit a 5* place.
The rooms are very comfortably and have a great desk to work on....
Staff is more than friendly. Will defiantly be back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice. Reasonable gym and nice roof top pool. Location seems to be not great. We were warned by staff not to go out on foot at night as it can be dangerous in the area. We did not eat dinner in the hotel but breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foshan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Of all the hotels in Nairobi, Sankara is the only modern world class business hotel in town, other hotels are quite outdated, the bed is quite good and soft, but I prefer a bit harder, rooms are clean, but bathroom is see through, for couples is good but for friends not that good. Service is near perfect, only sometimes the staff respond a bit late.

Location is good near two large shopping malls, due to the mixed location, walking out at night is not that safe.

Overall experience is quite good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Arriving for the first time in Nairobi can be a shock. After a tiring eight hour, overnight flight from London all one wants to do is get to a comfortable, air-conditioned hotel. So sitting in traffic chaos for nearly an hour as one inches away from the international airport in suffocating heat can temper one's enthusiasm.

Even when our cab arrived we had one more delay, which was an airport style security check in meaning that off, again, came the belt, watch and out with the laptop. At last I was checked in.

My room was just what I had hoped for. Up on the sixth floor it was spacious, had lots of storage, a big, soft comfortable king-sized bed and both a deep bath and a large shower. I was told that if I wanted to I could even use the executive breakfast room, although quite why I should only want to watch executives eat breakfast whilst their mobile phones trill every 20 seconds I cannot imagine. The breakfast room downstairs serves a very fine buffet breakfast and seemed entirely executive free which was great as far as I was concerned.

So far all very, very good. So it must be time for a couple of quibbles and, indeed it is. First off, there is a splendid bar up on the roof where one can sit and chill near a pool and where cocktails, champagnes and a huge selection of wines and spirits are available. It is chic and expensive, but my colleague thought that we deserved a few gin and tonics in order to unwind after our long trip.

When it came time to settle our bill we found that we had been served doubles so that our three gin and tonics each weighed in at around £75 ex service, which had a sobering effect on our otherwise delightful hour up on the roof. I would have liked to have been asked if I had wanted singles or doubles and should have been.

Secondly the buffet dinner is as poor as the breakfast is excellent. Stone cold plates, luke warm roasts and sorry, stone cold vegetables make dinner a meal that one would not wish to repeat. There is, mercifully, an entire room devoted to a sumptuous dessert selection which is as delicious as the starters and main courses are poor.

The Sankara should be an undisputed five star hotel. Its staff are all helpful and friendly and the accommodation is first class even if the location feels a bit on the fringe of city life. But the feeling that I had been overcharged deliberately and a cold meal means that I can only give it four.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.