We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business hotel... we always stay here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Festive Season Special
Ranked #13 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
New Delhi, India
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Business hotel... we always stay here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Good place, good food and nice location, if you want to stay in westlands, then its a good place.. traffic is very bad, so stay close to where you want to go. Coming back, the food is very good in the hotel and the service is also nice. The bed was too soft for my liking.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    145
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
31
69
28
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This review is only for the rooftop lounge and cocktails at the Sankara.

The rooftop offers the most excellent views of Nairobi while lounging by the pool on the top. Cocktails are excellent. My Tanqueray dirty martini was perfectly prepared, although it cost me close to $15 (wait, am I back in Chicago?). Come here for the views, stay for the cocktails.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, South Africa
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Booked in by my business partner from Nairobi. I spend two nights in the great place. Truly a 5* hotel, fantastic spar.very central. Hotel is full with Americans from American embassy and UN headquarter...
Breakfast is big , but you have to wait forever for the toast that you have to do yourself, does not suit a 5* place.
The rooms are very comfortably and have a great desk to work on....
Staff is more than friendly. Will defiantly be back.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is very nice. Reasonable gym and nice roof top pool. Location seems to be not great. We were warned by staff not to go out on foot at night as it can be dangerous in the area. We did not eat dinner in the hotel but breakfast was very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foshan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Of all the hotels in Nairobi, Sankara is the only modern world class business hotel in town, other hotels are quite outdated, the bed is quite good and soft, but I prefer a bit harder, rooms are clean, but bathroom is see through, for couples is good but for friends not that good. Service is near perfect, only sometimes the staff respond a bit late.

Location is good near two large shopping malls, due to the mixed location, walking out at night is not that safe.

Overall experience is quite good.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Arriving for the first time in Nairobi can be a shock. After a tiring eight hour, overnight flight from London all one wants to do is get to a comfortable, air-conditioned hotel. So sitting in traffic chaos for nearly an hour as one inches away from the international airport in suffocating heat can temper one's enthusiasm.

Even when our cab arrived we had one more delay, which was an airport style security check in meaning that off, again, came the belt, watch and out with the laptop. At last I was checked in.

My room was just what I had hoped for. Up on the sixth floor it was spacious, had lots of storage, a big, soft comfortable king-sized bed and both a deep bath and a large shower. I was told that if I wanted to I could even use the executive breakfast room, although quite why I should only want to watch executives eat breakfast whilst their mobile phones trill every 20 seconds I cannot imagine. The breakfast room downstairs serves a very fine buffet breakfast and seemed entirely executive free which was great as far as I was concerned.

So far all very, very good. So it must be time for a couple of quibbles and, indeed it is. First off, there is a splendid bar up on the roof where one can sit and chill near a pool and where cocktails, champagnes and a huge selection of wines and spirits are available. It is chic and expensive, but my colleague thought that we deserved a few gin and tonics in order to unwind after our long trip.

When it came time to settle our bill we found that we had been served doubles so that our three gin and tonics each weighed in at around £75 ex service, which had a sobering effect on our otherwise delightful hour up on the roof. I would have liked to have been asked if I had wanted singles or doubles and should have been.

Secondly the buffet dinner is as poor as the breakfast is excellent. Stone cold plates, luke warm roasts and sorry, stone cold vegetables make dinner a meal that one would not wish to repeat. There is, mercifully, an entire room devoted to a sumptuous dessert selection which is as delicious as the starters and main courses are poor.

The Sankara should be an undisputed five star hotel. Its staff are all helpful and friendly and the accommodation is first class even if the location feels a bit on the fringe of city life. But the feeling that I had been overcharged deliberately and a cold meal means that I can only give it four.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My first trip to Nairobi made all the more enjoyable thanks to the Sankara. Very friendly staff, excellent, comfy rooms. Service in the bar / cafe a little hit and miss at times and it would have been nice to have got to taste some Kenyan rather than international food in the hotel's various eateries but overall Sankara is a great hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.