We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect birthday weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect birthday weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

My husband took me to stay at Sankara for two nights for my birthday. We live in Nairobi so it was easy to find and we already knew about the local clubs and restaurants. Several times before we had been to the pool bar for drinks and appetizers.

This was the first time we actually stayed overnight. The room was clean, modern, and very nice. The two things that stand out the most to me were:

1. The Bed! It was so soft. The sheets and pillows were exceptional quality. I could have spent the whole two days in bed.

2. The Water Pressure! I probably took six showers. Anyone who lives in Nairobi has probably experienced a lack of water pressure, especially in the older houses like one one we live in. To me, this was a real treat!

We ordered room service. I had the beef fillet and a salad. It was delicious and cooked how I wanted it. We ate and had drinks at the pool. Also very nice. And we had dinner one night at the Thai restaurant. Breakfast was included for both of us with the cost of the room. It was a diverse and substantial buffet offering everything I could want.

We had a lovely stay and would definitely go back. The location is perfect if you want to go out to local clubs and bars. I recommend Sankara for business and for couples.

Final and cute touch were the little painted creatures on your bedside table. These were set out during the turndown service. Collect all seven!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Afine32889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

624 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cali, Colombia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed in this hotel with my husband while he was in business in Nairobi. I do not have anything but good comments about this place.
Starting with the room: It is very roomy, clean, the bathroom is modern and provides anything you may have at home: a scale, a magnifying mirror, etc, the bed is very comfortable and there is a working space just in case you need to work from your room.
Internet is free and available, with no limits all over the hotel.
Talking about the food... the hotel has an excellent selection. You can choose international cuisine, buffet, thai food.. and everything is delicious.
You can dine in any of the three restaurants or on the rooftop, which also has a nice Champaign bar with life music.
The service is excellent. All the waiters want to make the best of your stay and welcome you with a nice and big smile all the times.
Last but not least.... the hotel has a dessert bar that is the best! It is impossible to ignore it and every day the have the most appealing and exquisite selection. It seems that there is a very well trained patissier somewhere in the kitchen that is doing an excellent job!


Definetly I recommend this place, and will love to come back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuliRodriguez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I stayed at the Sankara on business for three days and overall it was a very pleasant experience. Not too crowded with good facilities, it is also very well located and was ideal as a base for meetings around the city.

The room was spacious, well-equipped and clean and the housekeeping service was prompt and very professional; I liked the little stone animals they left in your room too.

They have a small but reasonably well-equipped gym on the top floor and a pool and terrace bar which is good although in the evenings it has a very limited menu. The breakfast buffet was good with plenty of choice.

Sadly, on the last night I was woken at 0430 by a steady dripping which turned into a waterfall as a pipe had burst in the room above mine. Maintenance were on the scene very quickly and I had to be moved to another room.

Overall this is a nice hotel and certainly a soft landing for anyone coming to Kenya for the first time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I thought that the rooms and common areas were very well thought out and still looking in very good condition in spite of the hotel already having been open for a couple of years.

Bed was good and bathroom very well laid out with plenty of hot water.

Staff were very friendly and in general were exemplary. My only minor quibble is the guest services desk where they let themselves down a couple of times ... We booked a day's safari via them and had expected something organised and professional. We asked some quite specific questions when we booked (e.g can we pay on card) and had some awkward moments with the driver when we found he did not and we had to scuttle over to the ATM plus had to scape money together at the gate of the park. The bus we hired was quite grubby and worn out. Staff were not very receptive in trying to sort things out with the driver when things went a bit wrong. Had we booked independently I would have been less concerned but when you book with the concierge you expect more of a premium service.

We also asked them to enquire about a trip to giraffe manor. Concierge either did nothing to organise this or neglected to tell any of her colleagues which meant we repeated the whole conversation the following day - only to be told it was residents only.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_JM_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for an extended stay earlier this year. Great rooms, nice large bathroom, decent gym, nice rooftop pool/restaurant, service is top notch (thru give you fruit basket upon arrival, a new miniature animal each night upon turndown). Plenty of taxis available outside. Took about 30 minutes from airport. Plan upto 1.5 hrs in case of traffic.

Would recommend anytime!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DXB87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Sankara is a new hotel and looks so good. Everything is new and glamorous. I had breakfast and lunch with a business partner and we really enjoyed the selection. Tables are well laid out and linen is perfect. The treatment by the staff made me feel like a queen. I will definitely go back to spoil myself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hjkenya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
125 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I was invited to dinner in the restaurant by a friend and her daughter who had booked a table in advance. So we were a little taken aback when it appeared that the reservation had not been made, although the restaurant was luckily not full. We then ordered fresh drinks - variety of juice and vegetable mixes and these took quite a while after we had had to call a waiter to take our order. Then we had another wait as the food came- red clipper and two chicken dishes which were very well laid out and compensated for the wait. The dessert spread was an endless selection and so were the herbal teas soon after. Before we received our bill we heard the next table complaining about the time taken to take and bring orders so we were not alone.

It is a pity that the pace of service detracts customers from an otherwise very pleasantly decorated venue. We did have a word with our main waiter about the need to keep customers briefed on progress if there were going to be delays in service. He took it kindly. My friend's daughter summed up the evening by saying she had been there to eat on a number of occasions and also waited, the redeeming factor being that the food when it finally came was worth the wait.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kufunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#12 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 591 reviews
DusitD2 Nairobi
#9 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#8 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing