We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel Apart From The Waterfall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Festive Season Special
Ranked #13 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Dubai
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Hotel Apart From The Waterfall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I stayed at the Sankara on business for three days and overall it was a very pleasant experience. Not too crowded with good facilities, it is also very well located and was ideal as a base for meetings around the city.

The room was spacious, well-equipped and clean and the housekeeping service was prompt and very professional; I liked the little stone animals they left in your room too.

They have a small but reasonably well-equipped gym on the top floor and a pool and terrace bar which is good although in the evenings it has a very limited menu. The breakfast buffet was good with plenty of choice.

Sadly, on the last night I was woken at 0430 by a steady dripping which turned into a waterfall as a pipe had burst in the room above mine. Maintenance were on the scene very quickly and I had to be moved to another room.

Overall this is a nice hotel and certainly a soft landing for anyone coming to Kenya for the first time.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    145
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
32
69
28
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I thought that the rooms and common areas were very well thought out and still looking in very good condition in spite of the hotel already having been open for a couple of years.

Bed was good and bathroom very well laid out with plenty of hot water.

Staff were very friendly and in general were exemplary. My only minor quibble is the guest services desk where they let themselves down a couple of times ... We booked a day's safari via them and had expected something organised and professional. We asked some quite specific questions when we booked (e.g can we pay on card) and had some awkward moments with the driver when we found he did not and we had to scuttle over to the ATM plus had to scape money together at the gate of the park. The bus we hired was quite grubby and worn out. Staff were not very receptive in trying to sort things out with the driver when things went a bit wrong. Had we booked independently I would have been less concerned but when you book with the concierge you expect more of a premium service.

We also asked them to enquire about a trip to giraffe manor. Concierge either did nothing to organise this or neglected to tell any of her colleagues which meant we repeated the whole conversation the following day - only to be told it was residents only.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here for an extended stay earlier this year. Great rooms, nice large bathroom, decent gym, nice rooftop pool/restaurant, service is top notch (thru give you fruit basket upon arrival, a new miniature animal each night upon turndown). Plenty of taxis available outside. Took about 30 minutes from airport. Plan upto 1.5 hrs in case of traffic.

Would recommend anytime!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Sankara is a new hotel and looks so good. Everything is new and glamorous. I had breakfast and lunch with a business partner and we really enjoyed the selection. Tables are well laid out and linen is perfect. The treatment by the staff made me feel like a queen. I will definitely go back to spoil myself.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I was invited to dinner in the restaurant by a friend and her daughter who had booked a table in advance. So we were a little taken aback when it appeared that the reservation had not been made, although the restaurant was luckily not full. We then ordered fresh drinks - variety of juice and vegetable mixes and these took quite a while after we had had to call a waiter to take our order. Then we had another wait as the food came- red clipper and two chicken dishes which were very well laid out and compensated for the wait. The dessert spread was an endless selection and so were the herbal teas soon after. Before we received our bill we heard the next table complaining about the time taken to take and bring orders so we were not alone.

It is a pity that the pace of service detracts customers from an otherwise very pleasantly decorated venue. We did have a word with our main waiter about the need to keep customers briefed on progress if there were going to be delays in service. He took it kindly. My friend's daughter summed up the evening by saying she had been there to eat on a number of occasions and also waited, the redeeming factor being that the food when it finally came was worth the wait.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Posh hotel! Stayed two nights with my fiance and loved it! Rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable. Room service was excellent. Loved the versatility of paying with either the US dollar or Kenya Shilling. The location is not bad at all and is not too far from JKIA. We walked to West Gate Mall for breakfast and later in the evening walked to Sarit Center for drinks and some music. Will definitely be returning next year for a longer period. Have to experience the spa, gym and the rooftop bar....

Room Tip: The higher the room/floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I often come to this hotel for business and each experience is great. This hotel is safe by providing gards at the entrance and in several floors. Rooms are quiet, very comfortable and absolutely clean. Equipment is perfect. Food (bkfst and dinner) is high quality and clean. Staff is friendly and have good knowledge of their hotel. The gym equipment is in a good condition because brand new. Swimming pool is small but but attracting. I read people had a bad experience at the pool bar but be aware that a part of the bar is a Champagne bar... This means that no beers on this part... That makes sense for me. Situation is overall good but expect more than 1h to drive from airport in case of traffic jam. That.s a good hotel for demanding people.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.