We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Posh Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Posh Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Posh hotel! Stayed two nights with my fiance and loved it! Rooms were clean, quiet and comfortable. Room service was excellent. Loved the versatility of paying with either the US dollar or Kenya Shilling. The location is not bad at all and is not too far from JKIA. We walked to West Gate Mall for breakfast and later in the evening walked to Sarit Center for drinks and some music. Will definitely be returning next year for a longer period. Have to experience the spa, gym and the rooftop bar....

Room Tip: The higher the room/floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    134
    23
    11
    10
See reviews for
31
65
25
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

I often come to this hotel for business and each experience is great. This hotel is safe by providing gards at the entrance and in several floors. Rooms are quiet, very comfortable and absolutely clean. Equipment is perfect. Food (bkfst and dinner) is high quality and clean. Staff is friendly and have good knowledge of their hotel. The gym equipment is in a good condition because brand new. Swimming pool is small but but attracting. I read people had a bad experience at the pool bar but be aware that a part of the bar is a Champagne bar... This means that no beers on this part... That makes sense for me. Situation is overall good but expect more than 1h to drive from airport in case of traffic jam. That.s a good hotel for demanding people.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Wow what a difference after the Hiton debacle (see my review on that place for comparison). The Sankara is located in Westlands which was perfect for work. The location is reasonably central near Sarit center which makes is pretty convenient for everyday essentials.

The whole experience was excellent from start to end. Other have already commented on the rooms and I can confirm that they are finished to a very high standard so no complaints there. I booked a transfer from the Airport and it was brilliant. They picked my up in a nice big car ;-) but to my surprise the check in was actually in my room! I have travelled all over the world and this is my first experience of room check in and is definitely something I could get used to!

The restaurants are great and serve good quality food. The place is well secured and the staff were all excellent. There is well equipped gym on the top floor and well worth visiting as Nairobi is pretty high altitude so you'll get a decent work out without too much effort!

I would not hesitate to stay here again and hope other large chains follow it's lead and provide good value for money which is more than can be said for others.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

This is a newer hotel, comfortably swanky and well appointed.
It isn't too far from JKIA, so if you have a long layover & want to relax, this is my pick!

I went with my Sweetheart, and we had a lovely time. It is a beautiful hotel, spa services, restaurants and my very favorite- the rooftop bar with a lap pool in the middle. At night, people also gather there to watch soccer games on a large screen. Even when it's warm, you get a nice breeze.

There are little touches I love around the hotel, like the lucite floors where you can see straight down many levels below.

There is a champagne bar, and a Thai restaurant. Rooms are airy and bright, and you could have just about any meeting there. If you are in Nairobi for a while, try one of their events which they host on big Holidays.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Excellent place for a business meeting, in the heart of Westlands where you find almost anything you need without coming to the CBD. Great food, The roof top bar Rocks ! In summary, a Top notch restaurant !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

The Sankara is a modern, comfortable hotel with good service overall. Check-in was smooth and the staff was very friendly and professional. I had a room on the 6th floor that was well appointed with a working desk, comfortable bed, great bathroom with shower and nice amenities. There is wi-fi in the rooms and common areas and a really good fitness center. I went up to the bar on the 7th floor which was really nice. It's open-air with a pretty good menu. Breakfast was very good; they have a full buffet with a good amount of choices. The one thing they can improve on is the check-out. (It took forever) I'd recommend the Sankara. It felt very safe and had everything that a business traveler would want.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Certainly the best that I have stayed at in Africa, at any rate. Rooms are comfortable, staff are helpful, food is great, and the rooftop terrace is stunning. Nothing was too much trouble, and I really appreciated the little animal carvings which appeared in the room each day, they were lovely souvenirs of the trip.

I can't fault it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.