We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful/Wonderful service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 115 Hotels in Nairobi
Sacramento, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful/Wonderful service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I had a great experience at the Sankara hotel where I stayed on and off over my three weeks in Kenya. Great for business and families alike. The breakfast was out of this world and the Thai food was, wonderful, and unexpected! The location is also good if you are going to be working in Westlands. I highly recommend the Sankara.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    147
    26
    14
    11
See reviews for
34
70
29
239
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Stayed in the Sankara for 1 night before my honeymoon in Zanzibar. Was an Excellent atmosphere and checking was quick and efficient, Staff where friendly and polite. even though it was at 10:00pm. Having liven in Nairobi until i was 16 moved to the UK after, this was an new kind of experience in Nairobi for me . A Modern chic hotel. Rooms where amazing and the bathroom was excellent, had a view of the next door hotel so really did not feel like we where in a city. All in all have no complaints on this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Stayed there several times, and exerience and service has consistently been good. Check-in was swift and friendly. Rooms are spacious, beds a very good, and the bathroom is excellent. Breakfast buffet is excellent, though gets dreary when staying a week or longer, as always the same. Agree with some reviewers that --whilst a nice setting-- the 7th floor bar is a bit over the top.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Razzmatazz0,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 3rd February 2013 and for your positive compliments about our service and rooms, specially our spacious beds.

We have noted your views on our pool bar on the 7th floor. The design of the bar was done for the area to be versatile, unique and modern style so that one can relax and enjoy our wide selection of healthy fruit juices, cocktails and light poolside cuisine by day. At night Sarabi has become Nairobi’s premier place to relax in an alfresco setting, indulge in canapés sundowners and watch the world go by.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind Regards,


The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

All very modern and 'bling' but watch out for some ridiculous rules. We tried to have a beer on the 7th floor pool terrace, it was full so we were put in the 'Champagne Bar' (menu comes on iPads - bit cheesy, and you cannot deviate from the menu e.g. don't try ordering a gin martini..the menu say vodka martini and that is what you will have). In the Champagne Bar you cannot have a beer, even though we pointed out that they put us in there. Manager would not even contemplate it...bit childish and very unfriendly. That said their carpark is very nice....

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Jonathan,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 1st February 2013.

We would like to extend our apologies for the inconvenience caused at our Sarabi Pool & Supper club.

The bars were designed as two very separate venues/outlets whereby one can enjoy the open air atmosphere. Each offers a different distinctive experience with a unique theme for each outlet where we offer a specific menus suited to the style of the bar in both food and beverage.

The Champagne Bar has a carefully selected beverage list that is comprised of champagnes, champagne cocktails and an extensive array of the finest single malt whiskies integrated on IPADS; with a sommelier application for our guests to be able to learn more about the drinks on offer, tasting notes, food pairings and about the background of the brand of champagnes and Whiskeys. This rounded experience is unique in Nairobi and something our discerning clientele have found educational in the expanding thirst for knowledge of the food and wine culture in Nairobi.

We would like to apologise if this was not explained to you when seated. We look forward to welcoming you back at the Sarabi Pool & Supper club and our Champagne bar.

With Kind Regards,


The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Sankara is very good!! its lovely! i like it. its very luxurious!

its well located in Westilands, Nairobi. It has git customer focused staff.

i like the pool situated right on top of the hotel and the view is good from the poolside.

The food is lovely.

Sankara Hotel keep it up!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have easy access to the pool and hence the great poolside view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I travel to Kenya for business and stayed at the Intercontinental for my first trip and the Sankara for my second and third trips to Nairobi. While both are safe and well-run establishments, I will continue booking at the Sankara because of the quality of the hotel, the cost, and the amenities. I would say it's definitely on par with a modern business hotel in the States.

As a woman arriving at the airport alone, the car service could not have been easier to book, the staff were efficient and polite, and the hotel itself is very well-appointed and comfortable. While it's located in a very busy and noisy part of the city, my rooms were always quiet and I felt completely safe while on the property.

The food is really what stood out for me in comparison to the Intercontinental. I am extremely cautious and follow a limited diet when I am in Africa but the variety of food at the Sankara was incredible and delicious, especially the Thai restaurant.

All in all, great hotel and I highly recommend it for anyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas USA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Staff very attuned to customer needs, and very helpful. Business Center staff went out of the way to call an airline when online check-in was not functioning properly. Relaxing bars and very good breakfast spread. Prompt airport pick-up and drop-off, at a decent price. When I had to travel to Burundi and Tanzania for a couple of days, hotel cheerfully held one of my luggage pieces, saving me excess baggage charges. Walking distance to Sarit Centre and Westgate where the Arts Cafe and Nakumatt can be found. A good place to stay in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Stay closer to the elevators to get a better WiFi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.