We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury & Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 134 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Luxury & Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the beautiful Sankara in December before and after our safari. It was a wonderful start and finish to our journey. The rooms are spacious, comfy beds and massive washrooms (with great bath products which are handy to take along on safari). The service was fantastic we had a small issue with our wake up call not working which delayed us for our flight outbound to safari but the Sankara made up for it when we returned as they upgraded us to a suite. The restaurants are very good. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet every morning which had everything you could want! Good veggie options, fruits, waffles, eggs, cold cuts and cheese, fresh pastries, hot food dishes. We also dined twice at the Thai restaurant which was delicious. There's a nice cafe in the hotel and amazing pool bar on the roof top. The location is ideal. In the middle of the westlands within walking distance to the Sarit Centre (shopping) and Westgate Mall. If you're looking for crafts and souvenirs venture into the shops across Sankara on the street. It looks a little shady but it's a cool experience and you are guaranteed to find good deals on carvings. Just be cautious with your wallet and purse and mind your surroundings...as you would anywhere. There are a number of restaurants and bars close by. We tried Open House (indian) which is literally 3 min from the hotel. The food was amazing! Also nairobi is not the safest city which you probably already know if you're planning a trip there. So don't be alarmed as the Sankara will scan all vehicles before entering the premises and check your bags every time you enter the hotel. Annoying at times but reassuring for guests. Overall I would highly recommend Sankara if you're looking to get a little spoiled and enjoy luxury and comfort in Nairobi.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    175
    32
    17
    11
See reviews for
38
81
36
283
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

After 2 weeks camping in Kenya & Uganda, we decided on a night of luxury at Sankara and what a good move!

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly; the decor is great, especially the amazing paintings all over the place; the room was huge and equipped with everything you can think of + more you probably wouldnt (eg. velvet lined snacks draw; slippers); the bed was super comfy; the rooftop pool bar is fantastic and the food was first class. Security was really good too.

It didn't feel much like Kenya but if you want to be able to relax and enjoy when you get out of the bustle and traffic, Sankara is the place! It was also not much more expensive than another distinctly average place in the same area we stayed at the start of our trip (Boulevard)... a different world here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I loved this hotel. I was only there overnight but i was treated like a queen and the room i booked came with a complimentary breakfast which was really good. The room was more that spacious and very clean. In fact everything looked new (probably because the hotel opened in the last 28mnths). I was very impressed with the rooftop bar and wished i had booked in for longer and in summer. The bar as with most 5 star hotels is very pricey so more of a treat than a place to have several drinks.

The breakfast was amazing , it had cereals, fresh fruit and juices and a whole buffet of hot feasts complete with an egg chef. They also serve this really nice ginger tea which was a treat. And in the morning they leave a newpaper outside your room complimentary. I would definately go here again and would recommend all to do the same.

Room Tip: I dont think many rooms have breathtaking views but the hotel is so amazing you wouldnt notice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Sankara three times in December, between trips to the East Coast and Maasai Mara. Although it was on the opposite side of the city center from the airport traffic was not an issue because our flights were either on Sunday or very early in the morning. When we first arrived late, hungry, and tired the staff at Artisan restaurant were very gracious and accommodating. It was nearly closing time but they accompanied us around the sumptuous buffet making suggestions. When they found out our son was picky about food they offered to cook something for him. But it wasn't necessary, their buffet spread is 5-star. On a couple of other occasions I find that they are also very accommodating with other requests: when I wanted gingerbread cookies on Christmas eve and a complete set of their soapstone animals.
My only complaint had to do with the centralized AC. We stayed in three different rooms and each time we changed the AC settings to cooler temperature it remained at 23-24 C all night, that we had to sleep without the duvet. It would have been nice if there was a blanket sheet at least. We finally informed the hotel and the AC technician promptly showed up.
The other things we like the hotel and why we'd recommend it to friends: the rooftop pool, outlets for our laptop and iPad, comfortably soft bed, shower and tub, proximity to shopping centers (Sarit Center, Westland Mall, Nakumatt), and restaurants that we could simply walk to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel staff was very helpful and courteous. Food was good but at times we had to wait for our waffles/eggs at breakfast. We had a trouble with our hotel rates and the staff at front desk was most patient to understand our problem and help us sort it out.

Taxis near the hotel can charge you excess (but thats with any other hotel as well). The location is far from the city. Nice restaurants, pubs close by.

I would not mind visiting Sankara again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We visited the roof top bar in the evening for drinks and shisha, the view is amazing
and i love the glass bridge!
Great place to go with a group of friends and the crowd was 25+.
I heard the spa is amazing and will book there next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I travel extensively for work and pleasure and I enjoy the creature comforts, for me excellent food can overcome almost any other shortcoming a hotel might have.

If your tummy is full and happy, the noisy neighbor is less of a problem.

Sankara is excellent in all respects, the food is amazing, decor and service excellent, and the gym has a fantastic view if the entire neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 429 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#7 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
DusitD2 Nairobi
#11 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
House of Waine
#1 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#12 of 134 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.