We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel we've ever stayed in, anywhere!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel we've ever stayed in, anywhere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

After 2 weeks camping in Kenya & Uganda, we decided on a night of luxury at Sankara and what a good move!

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly; the decor is great, especially the amazing paintings all over the place; the room was huge and equipped with everything you can think of + more you probably wouldnt (eg. velvet lined snacks draw; slippers); the bed was super comfy; the rooftop pool bar is fantastic and the food was first class. Security was really good too.

It didn't feel much like Kenya but if you want to be able to relax and enjoy when you get out of the bustle and traffic, Sankara is the place! It was also not much more expensive than another distinctly average place in the same area we stayed at the start of our trip (Boulevard)... a different world here!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

373 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    206
    126
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
28
62
24
200
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

I loved this hotel. I was only there overnight but i was treated like a queen and the room i booked came with a complimentary breakfast which was really good. The room was more that spacious and very clean. In fact everything looked new (probably because the hotel opened in the last 28mnths). I was very impressed with the rooftop bar and wished i had booked in for longer and in summer. The bar as with most 5 star hotels is very pricey so more of a treat than a place to have several drinks.

The breakfast was amazing , it had cereals, fresh fruit and juices and a whole buffet of hot feasts complete with an egg chef. They also serve this really nice ginger tea which was a treat. And in the morning they leave a newpaper outside your room complimentary. I would definately go here again and would recommend all to do the same.

Room Tip: I dont think many rooms have breathtaking views but the hotel is so amazing you wouldnt notice
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed at Sankara three times in December, between trips to the East Coast and Maasai Mara. Although it was on the opposite side of the city center from the airport traffic was not an issue because our flights were either on Sunday or very early in the morning. When we first arrived late, hungry, and tired the staff at Artisan restaurant were very gracious and accommodating. It was nearly closing time but they accompanied us around the sumptuous buffet making suggestions. When they found out our son was picky about food they offered to cook something for him. But it wasn't necessary, their buffet spread is 5-star. On a couple of other occasions I find that they are also very accommodating with other requests: when I wanted gingerbread cookies on Christmas eve and a complete set of their soapstone animals.
My only complaint had to do with the centralized AC. We stayed in three different rooms and each time we changed the AC settings to cooler temperature it remained at 23-24 C all night, that we had to sleep without the duvet. It would have been nice if there was a blanket sheet at least. We finally informed the hotel and the AC technician promptly showed up.
The other things we like the hotel and why we'd recommend it to friends: the rooftop pool, outlets for our laptop and iPad, comfortably soft bed, shower and tub, proximity to shopping centers (Sarit Center, Westland Mall, Nakumatt), and restaurants that we could simply walk to.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

The hotel staff was very helpful and courteous. Food was good but at times we had to wait for our waffles/eggs at breakfast. We had a trouble with our hotel rates and the staff at front desk was most patient to understand our problem and help us sort it out.

Taxis near the hotel can charge you excess (but thats with any other hotel as well). The location is far from the city. Nice restaurants, pubs close by.

I would not mind visiting Sankara again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We visited the roof top bar in the evening for drinks and shisha, the view is amazing
and i love the glass bridge!
Great place to go with a group of friends and the crowd was 25+.
I heard the spa is amazing and will book there next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I travel extensively for work and pleasure and I enjoy the creature comforts, for me excellent food can overcome almost any other shortcoming a hotel might have.

If your tummy is full and happy, the noisy neighbor is less of a problem.

Sankara is excellent in all respects, the food is amazing, decor and service excellent, and the gym has a fantastic view if the entire neighborhood.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Received an email with the offer for New Year for Sankara. Was very excited and speedily made our way to the hotel to make the necessary booking. This is where he epic saga begins. At reception we were requested to make the booking on the first floor. Got in the lift and went to first floor. On first floor informed they were only taking reservations for the restaurant and not the rooftop. Requested to go to the seventh floor to make the rooftop booking. Back on the lift and up to seventh floor. At seventh floor told all we could do was choose a table and go back to reception to make the payment. Further on making the payment on seventh floor the supervisor advised that we come back to seventh floor with the receipt as proof of payment. Confused? More like totally flabbergasted at this point.

So picked a table, Kes 15,000 per couple (Kes 30,000 for two couples) back inthe lift to reception to make the payment. At reception told to go to first floor (deja vu). When we refused the person from first floor came to reception and asked us to accompany her to seventh floor to make the payment. At this point it was clear the staff had not received the 'memo' regarding the new year arrangements. Did I forget to mention that the 'manager' from first floor informed us that it was Kes 15,000 per person?

Anyway, totally confused we decided to go to the bar to sort out the facts. Got a couple of drinks and decided to ask the waiter if we could reserve a place at the bar for new year. She gladly said yes. Stayed a little while longer in the knowledge our plans were now back on track. Upon paying the bill, we requested to make the reservation, at which point the same waiter calmly informs us that we cannot make a reservation at the bar.

Clearly Sankara is not in need of our money or our patronage. So, plan B kicked in which, surprise, surprise, does not include Sankara in any shape or form.

What a disaster considering what good service we have previously received from this establishment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear Mr.Turgoik,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review dated 30th December 2012.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. Every festive season, we ensure that we have a desk at the reception who expedites on enquiries,payments and bookings.

We have furthermore raised this concern with our food & beverage manager in order to ensure that a corrective plan is put in place to avoid a recurrence in future.

We would be grateful if you could contact Justin Simpson, our food & beverage manager on justin.simpson@sankara.com so that you afford us an early opportunity to restore your faith in our services and facilities.

With Kind Regards,


The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.