We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Business Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Nairobi
Nungwi, Tanzania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Business Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I recently enjoyed a three night stay at this terrific city property. The rooms are modern, comfortable and very clean. The breakfast buffet is amazing and the staff throughout are exceptional! They are attentive without being intrusive, kind without being "smarmy" and absolutely nothing was too much trouble.

The room was quiet, the internet service was free, easy to connect and surprisingly fast. The bed was very comfortable, I'm only sorry that I didn't take the time to try out the "Pillow Menu" which included some very exotic choices!

We were attending a function at the Sarit Center and the location next door could not be more convenient. Unfortunately the current construction meant that you had to walk around the block, but once that is done, the location for this purpose will be terrific.

The boutique is terrific, carrying some unusual items and everything locally crafted. I was impressed that the woman on duty knew the source of so many of their products and was proud to discuss them with me. They carry a number of items made by the less fortunate with the proceeds going back to the group. Not only great products, but excellent community involvement!

My only disappointment was with the room service dinner. The bread on the bottom of the club sandwich was wet and the creme brulee unfortunately awful. I think that my disappointment was compounded by the fact that breakfast had been so wonderful, I expected a fantastic dinner and it really wasn't.

Even with the room service problem, I would happily stay at the Sankara again. The hotel is lovely, but the exceptional service from the staff is what makes it really special.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    133
    23
    11
    9
See reviews for
31
64
25
215
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

This is a great hotel, spacious room and excellent facilities. The restaurant prepares some awesome food and breakfast offers a wide variaty. I would recommend the hotel to any traveller. Friendly and very helpfull staff. Sankara would see me again when i travel to Kenya.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Wow. Was I blown away after entering the hotel. There is still some construction work going on outside but the inside is fantastic. Spent a few nights and enjoyed the experience. Great service, lovely food, very clean and comfortable rooms. Wifi available and ash to log in. Great staff, always willing to help. The breakfast selection was very nice and well cooked and tasty. The mushrooms are to die for.

Room Tip: Nice and airy room on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

This hotel pays attention to detail; free wifi in the rooms, classy interior design, great service, great restaurants, good location, and a nice rooftop bar/lounge/pool area.

Weekend rates are excellent value for money. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a great new hotel in Nairobi if you are staying for more than 1 night...The hotel was clean and modern and had great facilities. Very comfortable bed and room and quiet. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices. Staff very warm and welcoming and very helpful.

If you are only in Nairobi for a stop over of 1 night then please beware that traffic is so bad in Nairobi and between the airport and this hotel are 5 major roundabouts (one more roundabout than some other city hotels) which during peak-hour traffic can mean a trip between the hotel and the airport can take over 1.5 hours instead of 20 minutes in non-peak time. Other than the location from airport, I would thoroughly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gujarat
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the Sankara Hotel for 2 nights.The rooms were modern and very good.The rooftop bar/pool area is very enjoyable. The breakfast are very generous and good. Restaurants superb.
Overall, was an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here only one night before safari and one night after but my kids loved it! Rooms are so beautiful and comfortable, and staff very friendly..my only suggestion would be to have some children channels on tv....you had to buy movies because they have nothing for my kids to watch...
Love it! (Also so close to shopping malls in case you need something)
They also have a terrace bar by the pool on the 7 th floor, so nice at night

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.