We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel if you in Nairobi for more than 1 night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great hotel if you in Nairobi for more than 1 night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is a great new hotel in Nairobi if you are staying for more than 1 night...The hotel was clean and modern and had great facilities. Very comfortable bed and room and quiet. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choices. Staff very warm and welcoming and very helpful.

If you are only in Nairobi for a stop over of 1 night then please beware that traffic is so bad in Nairobi and between the airport and this hotel are 5 major roundabouts (one more roundabout than some other city hotels) which during peak-hour traffic can mean a trip between the hotel and the airport can take over 1.5 hours instead of 20 minutes in non-peak time. Other than the location from airport, I would thoroughly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    125
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
28
61
24
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gujarat
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

We stayed at the Sankara Hotel for 2 nights.The rooms were modern and very good.The rooftop bar/pool area is very enjoyable. The breakfast are very generous and good. Restaurants superb.
Overall, was an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayed here only one night before safari and one night after but my kids loved it! Rooms are so beautiful and comfortable, and staff very friendly..my only suggestion would be to have some children channels on tv....you had to buy movies because they have nothing for my kids to watch...
Love it! (Also so close to shopping malls in case you need something)
They also have a terrace bar by the pool on the 7 th floor, so nice at night

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

After a long drive from the airport in chaotic traffic, and having got into the lobby having gone through airport style security it was relaxing to be in a safe and comfortable hotel. Check in was efficient and it was a few minutes before I was in my room. The bed was large and inviting. The bathroom layout was unusual but excellent with both shower and bath. The room was quiet and secure. Bed, duvet and pillows super comfortable. Roof top bar was a great place to relax after work. Tapas snacks were perfect. I would recommend the coffee bar on the first floor for excellent Kenyan coffee in a cafetiere. Great pastries too. Only complaint was the carpet in my room was dirty. Top tip? Go for the highest floor, the views are amazing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

What really sold me on the place was the little soapstone animals in lieu of chocolates with the turndown service. Too cute!

Good little gym; quiet air conditioning fully guest-controlled (just as well, since it's often not really necessary in Nairobi); fast service when my room safe needed its battery replaced; an easy walk to local malls; attentive concierge and porter service with links to a reliable limousine taxi service as well; excellent security (for example, room key required to access the elevators); comfortable bed, lighting and bathroom.

Breakfast buffet was lavish, but also lavishly priced -- after I realized it was $25, went elsewhere. Would not really have wanted to use the glass-bottomed pool on the top floor though no doubt there are people who like that kind of thing, and who also want to perform their laps in front of the cocktail crowd.

A very good hotel in Nairobi if the company is paying for your room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

I have been in Kenya almost 3 times and i have been having my accommodations either at stanley hotel or fair view hotel; after having searched carefully through the internet i came across the sankara Hotel , i did drop an e mail to Big Time Holidays limited who is my local operator asking more about this hotel (sankara) the response from them was very positive towards the sankara hotel. I was booked there for two nights and we found it very comfortable with great staff who were always willing to help at no fee. I have to give the sankara a credit because i left my money belt in my room unknowingly as we were leaving for a trip for maasai mara which we did book through Big time Holidays ltd and when i phoned the reception after almost an hour i was informed that it is safe and it is under lock and key with the hotel. thank you very much sankara. i recommend this hotel and Big Time Holidays ltd to all.
Balcels.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice over the last 2 weeks. Once when we arrived in Nairobi for the start of our honeymoon and then again before we left Kenya on the flight to Zurich.

On our first stay we booked the honeymoon special and had an absolutely marvelous suite with a gigantic bathroom. We loved the free standing tub!

The staff is super attentive and nice - you feel immediately welcome here!

One mistake we made was to have the breakfast on our first stay at the Club Lounge. Yes, it's more private and quiet, but the food selection at the Artisan restaurant is better. Depending on your needs you might be better of just using the regular restaurant.

On our second stay we've spent only one night before flying back home so we booked just a regular room, which also turned out to be spacious with an impressive bathroom.

On Saturday the restaurants of the Sankara feature a brunch with the widest selection of food I've seen in a long time. Absolutely amazing and delicious. If you are not staying at the hotel, at least drive over there on a Saturday for the Brunch!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.