We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option for business trips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 100 hotels in Nairobi
Geneva, Switzerland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great option for business trips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Best location in town, particularly if you have meetings both downtown, U of Nairobi, and the UN compound. Design is clean, almost Nordic, but with a clear African flavour. Service is impeccable. Personalised, attentive, anticipating needs and, on top, a model of Kenyan hospitality and warmth. Food at Thai is of high quality, even if pricey. But restaurant is rather tight and awkward in shape. Breakfast is a treat, varied, with great fresh produce, European and worldly selections and service at restaurants maches rest of the hotel. Disappointment is with bar and swiming pool at terrace. They are well-intended and, again, very finely serviced by very competent barren and women, but space is uncomfortable, small, and unattractive. Swiming pool is not inviting, and exercise rooms and sauna, small for a hotel of this category. Proce is, as with all hotels in Nairobi these days, at par with similar category hotels in main European or American cities. Overall a great place to stay, renovations would hopefully add a garden and a better swiming pool.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    216
    131
    23
    11
    9
See reviews for
30
63
25
209
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

As a Kenyan, I have visited many hotels in Nairobi, but none comes any close to Sankara. The staff are extremely friendly and courteous, the place is clean and super beautiful, the food is to die for, their cocktails are the best, and just about everything about it is amazing!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

I have stayed at the Sankara on business. Locality I can't really comment as it was perfect for Westgate Mall where we were based. The service of the staff was impeccable and they could not help enough. The Asian restaurant on site was lovely, really tasty and cheaper than the others strangely! The roof top champagne bar by the pool was very relaxing and again the service was top notch. The turn down service included little complimentary animal figurines that were a really nice touch and we were upset that we only got 4 and not the whole 7 as they were great keepsakes.
The only very minor negative comment is the wifi is awful! I had to stand next to my kettle to get a sliver of a signal and I know other rooms suffered the same. Funnily the ipads seemed by ok but the smart phones just couldn't keep reception. That really is the smallest of points, in every other way this was a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny Sidcup
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

I had the pleasure of a one week stay at the Sankara on a recent business trip. I stay in many hotels both for pleasure and business but this is easily my best on all counts - staff, food, facilities, everything!
The staff were always warm, friendly and chatty, nothing was too much trouble. The bedroom and bathroom were wonderful, I never normally sleep well when I'm away from home but this time I slept like a baby and struggled to get out of my cosy bed each morning. The food was delicious, whether for breakfast, dinner or snacks and the Thai restaurant in the hotel was my favourite. A lovely roof top pool but, although very enticing, I didn't try it out as it is surrounded by people having drinks or food and so I wasn't brave enough to take a dip. It was a shame my family weren't with me as that was the only thing that would have made it perfect but I hope to return with them on holiday in the future. I will be returning to Nairobi on business again and will most certainly stay there again. Thanks to the amazing staff!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The rooms were excellent, the breakfast was amazing! The rooftop bar/pool area is very upscale. Overall, was an excellent hotel. Very modern, and the rooms had all the amenities you can ask for. Did not eat dinner there, but have a nice couple restaurants nearby. Would be considered a nice higher-end hotel in the United States easily...

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
166 reviews 166 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

The exterior and location of the hotel is not the most attractive. There is some construction work going on an the front of the hotel is surrounded by yellow corrugated iron. However, don't let this put you off it improves significantly. My stay at the Sankara was my first having tried many others and being a regular at the Nairobi Serena. There is a good level of security on entering the hotel both by car and on foot. The lobby is spacious, bright and airy. I checked in late at night and perhaps this wasn't the best time as there was only one receptionist on the front desk dealing with multiple issues. This could improve. 

The rooms are of reasonable size modern and spotless far more than I was expecting. Large full size picture window although the view from the room was not much to shout about. Decent sized flat screen tv on the wall and a DVD player available. There is a work desk in the corner with multiple power sockets capable of supporting a range of UK and continental plugs. Internet cables are provided but there is also wi-fi in the rooms, and best of all it's free and reasonably stable although applications such as Skype drop out now and then. Good sized bed which was surprisingly comfortable. Turndown service available and free bottled water is well catered for. A pleasant touch is a small gift of a soap stone animal which makes a change from the useless nighttime chocolate. The bathroom was very good compact but not cramped. Separate walk-in shower and bath tub. There is also a good provision of amenities in the bathroom. There's a decent size wardrobe with a good sized safe box. The air con can be quite noisy at night if it's on full which is a nuisance.

There is a roof top pool with good seating area around it with a bar and separate champagne bar. Prices at the bar were reasonable. Didn't try the champagne so can't comment. Unfortunately the place appears to be a fashionable watering hole for noisy youngsters which gets a little irritating. There is a small but modern gym with decent equipment. There is also a spa with a variety of treatments available.

There is a selection of restaurants catering for most tastes and prices were reasonable, however, I thought the buffet breakfast was expensive.

Staff were very helpful and courteous throughout and Eric in the restaurant does a fine job!

The Sankara is well worth a try and I thoroughly enjoyed my stay there. I would definitely stay there again and recommend the hotel to others. 

Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at the Sankara Nairobi in August, 2012, as a launching point for a safari vacation. Given that we traveled to/from Nairobi from San Francisco to say that we were exhausted upon our arrival would be an understatement. The Sankara was truly an oasis, and we loved our stay there. The hotel is modern and very comfortable - the rooms are very well appointed and the shower helped revive us. We got massages at the excellent spa and that completed our recovery from the long journey. Security is very present and you always feel comfortable at the Sankara. The rooftop pool and bar are very cool - I only wish we had more time to enjoy them. We enjoyed several of the dining options and all were excellent - the buffets are loaded with way too many options (this is a good thing!) - and you can get fresh items (fish, steak, eggs, etc.) made to order as well. We also tried the pan-Asian restaurant, and it was as good or better than the Thai restaurants we enjoy here at home. A special mention for Johnson in the restaurant who took extra special care of us.

I would definitely recommend a stay at the Sankara. If we are lucky enough to travel to Kenya again, we will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#5 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#7 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#12 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Family Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.