We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cracking hotel, thoroughly recommended for business” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Festive Season Special
Ranked #13 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
London
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Cracking hotel, thoroughly recommended for business”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Very comfortable, new and modern hotel.
Perfect for business. Excellent food there as well.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    145
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
32
69
28
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hounslow, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

Very perfectly located in heart of Nairobi. So close to Sarit Centre and all Indian restaurants.
Rooms and service is good.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

I have just returned from my 5th stay at the Sankara. This hotel is extremely convenient if you're doing business in Westlands. The service at the Sakara is excellent without being stuffy. The staff make me feel welcomed and at home every time I stay.

The modern rooms are extremely comfortable and meet all of the requirements of the business traveller.

The pool area is particularly lovely, although the drinks are rather pricy as is the breakfast buffet.

I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Dear BMJ9,

Thank you for your review dated February 19th, 2012.

The Team at Sankara appreciate your positive feedback in order for us to further improve on the services that we offer and deliver.

We are delighted to note that Sankara Nairobi is a home away from home and look forward to welcoming you back soon at your second home, Sankara Nairobi.

With Kind regards,


The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel three times when I visited Nairobi. The staff are wonderful and very helpful. Rooms are spacious and have full amenities. Breakfast buffet is top quality. You feel very safe and comfortable here. Only real issues are the temporary power outages which is not the hotel's problem (they have generators), and the spotty wireless internet. Also, they could have a wider choice of satellite TV channels. But overall a great experience.!

Room Tip: Don't stay on a room below the roof top bar. Can get noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, February 25, 2012
Dear HospitalityMaven,

Thank you for your review dated February 16th, 2012.

The Team at Sankara appreciate your constructive feedback in order for us to further improve on the services that we offer and deliver.

Thank you for your kind words about our staff, amenities, breakfast and rooms. We have tried as much as possible to combine five-star international standards with personal service.

We are sorry to hear that our internet connectivity did not meet upto your expectations. However, we are delighted to advise you that we had recently upgraded our bandwidth for Internet to 10MB and now in the process of reviewing the connectivity with our internet Service providers.

Please accept our most sincere apologies for the shortfalls in the internet service experienced.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012 via mobile

I have not stayed at the hotel (so ignore my room rating) but I had a chance to have some drinks and snacks at the Sarabi pool bar with a friend earlier this evening.
The menu offerings are well thought out with sufficient variety to unwind. The service was fast but we found the waiters quite unfriendly and disengaged from the whole process of service..No smiles, no drink or snack recommendations. I hope that they can consider adding some personality to the pool waitering service and engage a little bit more with clients.
However, on our way out of the pool bar, there was this happy gentleman who really took his time to tell us more about the hotel including taking us round the various restaurants in the hotel. Now that was the highlight of the evening..great service.
Overall, it is a beautiful hotel with great ambience, very nice African art and fantastic interiors. Big up to the interior designer.. really cool. I hope to try out,the various resturants very soon.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear Mrfiugs,

Thank you for your review dated February 10th, 2012.

The Team at Sankara appreciate your constructive feedback in order for us to further improve on the services that we offer and deliver.

Thank you for your lovely compliments about our menu offerings, ambiance and service. We have tried as much as possible to combine five-star international standards with personal service and authentic flavour of the new Africa.

We are sorry to hear that our services did not meet your expectations at Sarabi Pool bar. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the shortfalls in the service experienced. The matter is being addressed by our Food & Beverage department to implement corrective measures to improve the service delivery.

Sankara's Sarabi Pool & Supper Club is the premium place to meet,eat and enjoy cocktails or an evening Sundowner drink.

We have noted that you have never stayed at Sankara Nairobi, we do hope that you will afford us an early opportunity to host you at Sankara Nairobi soon whether it either be for accommodation or dining.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

I love staying at the Sankara! I stayed there for two weeks in October and another two weeks in December while on business travel. The hotel is modern and not too large. Rooms are well appointed with many extras. The staff members are incredibly friendly, helpful and knowledgeable and will do their best to help you with anything you need. Food is fabulous, from the breakfast buffet and room service from Artisan to the asian flavors of Muhibbah. If you stay at the Sankara, be sure to also checkout the rooftop bar and restaurant one evening so you can enjoy Nairobi's evening weather while you dine/meet with friends. And, if you need to take your coffee from breakfast to go, pick up a cup at the coffee shop or ask your server. The staff really is wonderful and they contribute to making the hotel a great place to come home to after a long day at work.

Other notes:
- The spa provides good service and gives a discount Monday-Thursday before 5pm.
- Sankara offers free wireless in the rooms and free access to computers at the business center which is better than many hotels.
- The Sankara is conveniently located across the street from Sarit Center, a large mall with ATMs, a grocery store, other restaurants, movie theater, shops, etc.

Room Tip: I personally like the superior rooms that have a glass wall between the bedroom and the bathroom- to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear Ishamblin,

Thank you for your review dated February 10th, 2012 and taking the time to write this positive review and lovely comments.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a 5 star personalised service and comfort to meet and exceed your expectations.

Thank you for your kind compliments about our ambiance, design, Angsana Spa and last but not least about our five star culinary hot spots; Artisan, Muhibbah and Gallery.

The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

In Nairobi, I've stayed at the Sankara, the Ole Sereni, the Intercontinental, and the Tribe. Leaving travel times (i.e., traffic to other parts of the city) out of the equation, I'll book return visits at the Sankara. (Tribe is a close second, Ole Sereni only for trips centered around the airport, and probably never again at the Intercontinental.) The room was well-appointed, the bed was comfy, room service was good, check-in was fast and correct, and the gym was nice. A few power outages, but that's fairly standard around the city.

Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear Gopheliad,

Thank you for your review dated February 1st, 2012 and taking the time to write this positive review and lovely comments.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a 5 star personalised service and comfort to meet your expectations.

The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Best Value Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.