We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very extended stay at Sankara” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Festive Season Special
Ranked #13 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A very extended stay at Sankara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2011

Excellent breakfast, clean rooms. Most staff are professional. Many thanks to Krishna. The fitness instructor is the best.

Room Tip: Rooms pretty clean and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Thank you for your review dated December 30th, 2011.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver the personalised service and comfort to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your positive feedback in order for us to further improve on the services that we offer.

Krishna,our Sankara Star, will be delighted and proud with the comments you have shared on your review.

Sankara management and Team wishes you a Happy New Year and all the best in 2012.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    145
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
32
69
28
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Ok it's obvious, it's a five star hotel, but sometimes you can be very disappointed by five stars hotels. Not here.

I asked for a transfer from the airport, the driver was waiting for me there and was friendly, he drove an almost new mercedes and brought me to the hotel in no time (ok, it was midnight, so no traffic jam at that time).= charge 55USD (easier than begin to negociate with the airport taxi drivers)

The staff at check-in is friendly and helpful (and working fast)

The rooms are not that big, but are big enough, but the king-size bed is really good !

The rooms are quiet as the hotel is situated in a small side street.

The airco is working very good and is silent, but ok in december it was not really needed.

The bar is ok, i read that the bar earned the award of "best wine bar" of Nairobi (or something approaching), the wine list is indeed impressive, but very expensive !!

The "Sarabi restaurant" (east Asia) is serving very good food, but is a bit isolated from the lobby. I preferred the buffet which is very nice (30USD) or the "à la carte menu" from the "Artisan" restaurant of the lobby. But for all tree restaurants, the staff is very friendly.

I tried the pool, which is impressive being at the 7th floor and having glass bottom so you can see the street 7 levels down !! But don't expect to swim a lot, the pool is small, also there are only about 10 deck chairs, but the environment is there great.

Internet is free and is working good in the whole hotel, restaurant, pool, rooms...

To summarize, i'm very satisfied, i used to stay in another hotel downtown, from now i will stay in the Sankara.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, January 12, 2012
Dear Hjeang,

Thank you for your positive review dated 27th December 2011.

First and foremost, Sankara Team wishes you a prosperous New Year and all the best in 2012.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a 5 star personalised service and comfort to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your positive feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

Thank you for your kind compliments about our Culinary delivery of food, ambience and design. We have tried as much as possible to combine five-star international standards with personal service and authentic flavour of the new Africa!!

Sankara's Sarabi Pool & Supper Club is the premium place to meet,eat, sundowner and enjoy cocktails. As the night falls Sarabi Supper Club creates an ambiance of chic relaxation.

We are committed and always striving to meet high international standards as recognised by the awards received in 2011 for Conde Nast Traveller Hot List 2011,the Wine Spectator Award for Excellence for The Gallery’s renowned wine collection, a first within the region and the recently awarded Best Hotel Construction and Design at the International Property Awards.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, ny
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

The Sankara was such a treat after a week long camping adventure. The rooms are on the small side, but well done and comfortable. The fitness center is one of the best I have ever seen at a hotel and even has a complimentary personal trainer. The rooftop pool was also quite enjoyable and the service was top notch. As for the area, I never felt unsafe walking around and it only took about 10 minutes to get to the city center via taxi. I highly recommend staying at the Sankara.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear Kris,

Thank you for your review dated December 20th, 2011 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a 5 star personalised service and comfort to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

Sankara Team wishes you Festive Felicitations and all the best in the new year.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

I had a very pleasant stay here. Very courteous, almost too courteous. :) The room was really comfortable with the lighting and the mirrors. The bed was comfy but the bath tub didn't work. The plug was spoiled and i couldn't run a bath. Housekeeping was very timely and did a great job too.

You should stay here and oh, ask for Monicah at the Front desk. The nicest lady ever.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear AhAdAd,

Thank you for your review dated December 20th, 2011.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver the personalised service and comfort to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your positive feedback in order for us to further improve on the services that we offer.

Please accept our apologies for the faulty drainage on the bathtub/plug, however, we are delighted to note that our Housekeeping team were very efficient in solving the issue.

Monica,our Sankara Star, at the reception will be delighted and proud with the comments you have shared on her service delivery and we will ensure that she gets the deserved recognition.

Sankara management and Team wishes you a Happy New Year and all the best in 2012.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011 via mobile

A very good and clean hotel to stay in Nairobi. I recommend

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

The Sankara is a great hotel in the Westlands section of Nairobi. It's not as opulent as a 5 star hotel, but still is an excellent property. The grounds aren't much to speak of (no gardens, small rooftop pool and deck) but the guest rooms are very modern (bordering on futuristic) and quite large, especially the bathrooms. The gym is pretty small, it has two bikes, two treadmills, and two elliptical machines for cardio, some dumbbells, and then a few universal machines. Fortunately, it was never very crowded while I was there. My room was one of the few that had a balcony but it had poor drainage and was full of rainwater. The staff is attentive and will make up your room within moments of you requesting it. The restaurant is good (not amazing) and is quite overpriced for the buffet. Order off the menu and you'll save about 50%. Also be sure to get the inclusive bed and breakfast room rate because there is no breakfast a la carte menu. Try the fresh passion fruit and then have them every day for the duration of your stay; they're delicious.

Most importantly, beware the WiFi network. I signed in and my computer contracted a virus or a trojan that rendered it completely useless. I had to format my hard drive once I got home. I was relegated to using my phone for internet the remainder of the week which was frustrating. Be sure to have your virus scan up and running at all times and update your definitions before heading there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Windowseater,

Thank you for your review dated December 15th, 2011. We highly appreciate you taking the time to write this review.

First and foremost I would like to thank you for your wonderful compliments you have mentioned about our Team and the hotel.

We are sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations with the Drainage and extend our apologies for the occurrence. The matter is being addressed with our Engineering team and will also ensure that appropriate drainage systems are put into place prevent a similar occurrence.

We would like to assure you that Sankara Nairobi's hotel internet network is behind an industry-strength corporate CheckPoint© firewall configured to prevent & protect information and computer equipment from any malicious and targeted attacks. This applies to both our wired and wireless networks.

However, we regret to note that the computer suffered a virus and/or Trojan infection that rendered the machine inoperable, it is very possible that this infection could have occurred outside our network, and we would interested in getting more details of the incident if possible for further investigation. Rest assured that we are always ready to assist wherever possible.

Sankara Nairobi's ICT Department always encourages guests to always have the latest antivirus protection enabled on their equipment at all times to prevent these attacks.

Sankara management and Team wishes you Festive Felicitations and all the best in the new year.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Doberan, Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Always a pleasure to stay at Sankara Nairobi. Very good staff, great rooms, perfect location!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Dear Bougainvillas,

Thank you for your review dated December 12th, 2011 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a 5 star personalised service and comfort to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.