We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Pleasant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 96 hotels in Nairobi
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
“Very Pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

I had a very pleasant stay here. Very courteous, almost too courteous. :) The room was really comfortable with the lighting and the mirrors. The bed was comfy but the bath tub didn't work. The plug was spoiled and i couldn't run a bath. Housekeeping was very timely and did a great job too.

You should stay here and oh, ask for Monicah at the Front desk. The nicest lady ever.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, January 3, 2012
Dear AhAdAd,

Thank you for your review dated December 20th, 2011.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver the personalised service and comfort to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your positive feedback in order for us to further improve on the services that we offer.

Please accept our apologies for the faulty drainage on the bathtub/plug, however, we are delighted to note that our Housekeeping team were very efficient in solving the issue.

Monica,our Sankara Star, at the reception will be delighted and proud with the comments you have shared on her service delivery and we will ensure that she gets the deserved recognition.

Sankara management and Team wishes you a Happy New Year and all the best in 2012.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    201
    125
    21
    11
    9
See reviews for
28
61
24
196
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011 via mobile

A very good and clean hotel to stay in Nairobi. I recommend

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2011

The Sankara is a great hotel in the Westlands section of Nairobi. It's not as opulent as a 5 star hotel, but still is an excellent property. The grounds aren't much to speak of (no gardens, small rooftop pool and deck) but the guest rooms are very modern (bordering on futuristic) and quite large, especially the bathrooms. The gym is pretty small, it has two bikes, two treadmills, and two elliptical machines for cardio, some dumbbells, and then a few universal machines. Fortunately, it was never very crowded while I was there. My room was one of the few that had a balcony but it had poor drainage and was full of rainwater. The staff is attentive and will make up your room within moments of you requesting it. The restaurant is good (not amazing) and is quite overpriced for the buffet. Order off the menu and you'll save about 50%. Also be sure to get the inclusive bed and breakfast room rate because there is no breakfast a la carte menu. Try the fresh passion fruit and then have them every day for the duration of your stay; they're delicious.

Most importantly, beware the WiFi network. I signed in and my computer contracted a virus or a trojan that rendered it completely useless. I had to format my hard drive once I got home. I was relegated to using my phone for internet the remainder of the week which was frustrating. Be sure to have your virus scan up and running at all times and update your definitions before heading there.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 27, 2011
Dear Windowseater,

Thank you for your review dated December 15th, 2011. We highly appreciate you taking the time to write this review.

First and foremost I would like to thank you for your wonderful compliments you have mentioned about our Team and the hotel.

We are sorry to hear that we did not live up to your expectations with the Drainage and extend our apologies for the occurrence. The matter is being addressed with our Engineering team and will also ensure that appropriate drainage systems are put into place prevent a similar occurrence.

We would like to assure you that Sankara Nairobi's hotel internet network is behind an industry-strength corporate CheckPoint© firewall configured to prevent & protect information and computer equipment from any malicious and targeted attacks. This applies to both our wired and wireless networks.

However, we regret to note that the computer suffered a virus and/or Trojan infection that rendered the machine inoperable, it is very possible that this infection could have occurred outside our network, and we would interested in getting more details of the incident if possible for further investigation. Rest assured that we are always ready to assist wherever possible.

Sankara Nairobi's ICT Department always encourages guests to always have the latest antivirus protection enabled on their equipment at all times to prevent these attacks.

Sankara management and Team wishes you Festive Felicitations and all the best in the new year.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Doberan, Germany
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2011

Always a pleasure to stay at Sankara Nairobi. Very good staff, great rooms, perfect location!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Dear Bougainvillas,

Thank you for your review dated December 12th, 2011 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a 5 star personalised service and comfort to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed at the Sankara for stopovers on our way to the Masaai Mara and beach. We were looking for a safe, boutique hotel with great service. Sankara delivered on this!

After arriving from our international flight, we were easily checked in and shown to our room. We stayed in a deluxe room which was modern, spacious, very comfortable beds and included any amenity we needed. We found the staff to be very professional and arranged all our airport transfers, taxis and visit to the elephant orphanage.

The rooftop bar is a nice introduction to Nairobi to take in the city and have a glass of wine. It was a great start to our holiday in Kenya!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Dear Archana,

Thank you for your review dated December 10th, 2011 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a 5 star personalised service and comfort to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

The wow factor here was the rooms, very large always clean fitted with all essentials from showera to bath tabs desk area e.t.c our room was facing the sarit centre mall so we would just sit by the window at night with all the lights outside and have a romantic glass of wine.
The staff is always smiling and very helpful.

The food was great but a bit pricey so most nights we opted to eat out our favourite spot being havanna restaurant 5 minutes walk where they have amazing pork ribs i have ever eaten in the whole world they were soft and sinfully sweet we ate there everyday....i coul go on and on about my baby pork ribs
Sankara is amazing and the fact that it is in westlands makes it more interesting as night runners like us we had plenty of bars with good music a few minutes from restaurant.

I would reccomend this hotel to everyone

Room Tip: stayed in room 5307 very quiet and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear Ndinda,

Thank you for your review dated December 9th, 2011 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a 5 star personalised service and comfort to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I loved this hotel. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. From the rooms to the restaurants on the first floor to the rooftop pool to the spa. I wish all hotels were this amazing.

Rooms are large and fully fitted out with everything you can imagine. Power shower and separate bath, large king beds and cozy desk area. I really enjoyed the gym - the equipment faces out a window with a great view - you can watch traffic fly by while using the treadmill.

I actually wrote a comment card for a member of the front desk staff - and I rarely do this. But I had an issue with needing to find contact solution (not the easiest thing) and she fixed it instantly. Next morning she gave me a late checkout (just a few hours, I was desperate.) It's the little things that will get you, she topped off a great visit and I'm looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Dear Kkbirds,

Thank you for your review dated December 4th, 2011 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a personalised service and comfort to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We will pass your lovely comment to our Sankara Star at the reception and we will ensure that she gets a recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Venere so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.