We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exactly what we were looking for!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 105 Hotels in Nairobi
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Exactly what we were looking for!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

We stayed at the Sankara for stopovers on our way to the Masaai Mara and beach. We were looking for a safe, boutique hotel with great service. Sankara delivered on this!

After arriving from our international flight, we were easily checked in and shown to our room. We stayed in a deluxe room which was modern, spacious, very comfortable beds and included any amenity we needed. We found the staff to be very professional and arranged all our airport transfers, taxis and visit to the elephant orphanage.

The rooftop bar is a nice introduction to Nairobi to take in the city and have a glass of wine. It was a great start to our holiday in Kenya!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 13, 2011
Dear Archana,

Thank you for your review dated December 10th, 2011 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a 5 star personalised service and comfort to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    225
    134
    23
    11
    10
See reviews for
31
65
25
217
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2011

The wow factor here was the rooms, very large always clean fitted with all essentials from showera to bath tabs desk area e.t.c our room was facing the sarit centre mall so we would just sit by the window at night with all the lights outside and have a romantic glass of wine.
The staff is always smiling and very helpful.

The food was great but a bit pricey so most nights we opted to eat out our favourite spot being havanna restaurant 5 minutes walk where they have amazing pork ribs i have ever eaten in the whole world they were soft and sinfully sweet we ate there everyday....i coul go on and on about my baby pork ribs
Sankara is amazing and the fact that it is in westlands makes it more interesting as night runners like us we had plenty of bars with good music a few minutes from restaurant.

I would reccomend this hotel to everyone

Room Tip: stayed in room 5307 very quiet and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear Ndinda,

Thank you for your review dated December 9th, 2011 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a 5 star personalised service and comfort to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

I loved this hotel. Gorgeous, gorgeous, gorgeous. From the rooms to the restaurants on the first floor to the rooftop pool to the spa. I wish all hotels were this amazing.

Rooms are large and fully fitted out with everything you can imagine. Power shower and separate bath, large king beds and cozy desk area. I really enjoyed the gym - the equipment faces out a window with a great view - you can watch traffic fly by while using the treadmill.

I actually wrote a comment card for a member of the front desk staff - and I rarely do this. But I had an issue with needing to find contact solution (not the easiest thing) and she fixed it instantly. Next morning she gave me a late checkout (just a few hours, I was desperate.) It's the little things that will get you, she topped off a great visit and I'm looking forward to coming back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 9, 2011
Dear Kkbirds,

Thank you for your review dated December 4th, 2011 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a personalised service and comfort to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We will pass your lovely comment to our Sankara Star at the reception and we will ensure that she gets a recognition.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2011

I had a great stay here on business. New hotel. Superb staff. Comfortable beds. Very spacious rooms. Good location close to Sarit shopping centre. Food in hotel good but can be a bit pricey. Nice Indian restaurant within safe walking distance.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, December 2, 2011
Dear Culturallattice,

Thank you for your review dated December 1st, 2011 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver a personalised service and comfort to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We recently stayed here-and absolutely loved it. It has a fresh modern feel with an African chic decor. It is about a 20 min ride from the international airport (without traffic) in the westlands area of nairobi. We got the deluxe room online and it was pretty spacious. The rooms are decorated really nice.Beds super comfortable, clean bathrooms. The hotel is 7 stories-the rooftop pool is a nice place to unwind and grab a drink. We were there over a weekend and many locals came in the evenings-as it turns into a lounge with a DJ. They do have free wifi. We ate a buffet breakfast which was so well worth it. Fresh breads , pastries, juices, fruits, eggs and crepes galore. The staff is very professional and attentive.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Dear Mastistyle,

Thank you for your review dated November 25th, 2011 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver the services and standards to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to monitor and improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

We had an excellent stay at the Nairobi Sankara Hotel.
The service and the support in the logistic of our workshop were perfect!
The staff provides impeccable service and the hotel is equipped with a gym and a swimming pool on its roof. The hotel got a large choice of dishes: international buffet, chinese restaurant, wine bar...
We really recommand you this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
28th November 2011.

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for your review dated November 25th, 2011 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver the services and standards to meet your expectations for the workshop. The Team at Sankara Nairobi appreciate your feedback in order for us to monitor and improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

I really enjoyed staying at this hotel. It was recommended by another frequent traveler to Nairobi and I'm so glad I took her advice! Everything is clean, new and modern and the rooms were quiet and spacious. I've stayed at several other hotels in downtown, and this location is much more relaxing. There's easy access to shopping and restaurants at the Westlands "mall" across the street. The spa was also lovely, with at least one great massage therapist! As a solo female traveler, I always felt safe and comfortable here. Highly recommended for both business or pleasure travel!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sankara N, Manager at Sankara Nairobi, responded to this review, November 26, 2011
Dear Rinnster,

Thank you for your review dated November 23rd, 2011 and taking the time to write this positive review.

We are always pleased to hear from our guests and delighted that we were able to deliver the services and standards to meet your expectations. The Team at Sankara appreciate your feedback in order for us to monitor and improve on the services that we offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back at Sankara Nairobi soon.

With Kind regards,


The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#6 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#13 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.