We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Artisan Restaurant at Sankara Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 129 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Visit Artisan Restaurant at Sankara Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

I stayed at the Tribe Hotel during a conference and joined my friends for dinner on a Zairean night. The service and food was excellent in contrast to Tribe Hotel and restaurant. The Sankara Hotel has a choice of restaurants which area all excellent. We went to the Artisan Restaurant. I had the Lamb shank with couscous and it was heavenly. Our waiter expertly assisted my blind friend and found a proper chair for my friend using a walker. Superior service from the receptionist, to the server, to the chef.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    296
    172
    31
    17
    11
See reviews for
37
80
35
280
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Our second visit. Excellent club lounge and rooms. Very friendly and efficient staff throughout the hotel. I very much liked the free and v efficient wireless. I've stayed in many hotels in Nairobi and for as long as the standards are maintained this will be our hotel of choice.

The menu is a bit up it's own bottom and needs to be a little more sympathetic and accessible.

But all in all a really good place!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

A hidden gem of a hotel in Nairobi.We stayed here for a couple of nights to get over our jet lag and chill out before flying off on Safari.It was fantastic.Not too big,excellent staff,fab rooftop pool and very good food

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but the higher up and/or executive club slightly better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

I visit Nairobi often, but this was the first time I've stayed at the Sankara. My review may well be influenced by the fact that i was upgraded to a suite, but the room was outstanding, the service was excellent and the bar on top of the building was a great place to be on a warm Nairobi evening.

The only downside is the cost - there are certainly cheaper options in the city, but it's a great place to indulge

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Lovely hotel in Nairobi, completely new and in a great location, right from the pickup from the airport with a Mercedes upto the check out all very very good.

Would recommend it to anyone who comes to Nairobi. would definately stay here whenever in Nairobi.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greatexpectationss
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Good if pricey, well located.

Beds overly soft - loved by some, hated by others.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

So, we didn't actually stay here. My girlfriend/long lost cousin and I took the kids out for breakfast after church (we are ex-pats living in Nairobi) and got to restaurant at 11:15, 15 mins after they stopped serving breakfast. The staff were cordial but rigid that we couldn't order anything but would have to wait 45 minutes for brunch. The prospect wasn't all together appealing so we asked to see the manager . After a short discussion. he set us up in the coffee area, assigned the charming, Michael to wait on us and 15 minutes later we were tucking into well made beautifully presented dishes. The kids cleared their plate (always a good sign) and I ate most of my muesli served in a huge red wine glass with what tasted like home made yogurt. Michael was very attentive and the manager returned once to find out how we were getting on. There was a slight lapse in service between courses but on the whole the staff were warm and efficient. I questioned them closely about the muesli mix and they must have thought I was potty. However for those of us with sensitive stomachs it's important to know what's in a dish. Alas I have suffered all day from IBS and I can blame it squarely on the muesli. However as a goodwill gesture they had not charged us for it, so I won't deduct a star either for my stomach ache! It was a nice outing although being Sankara, rather pricey.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
0.8 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
4.8 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 409 reviews
1.9 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#9 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
DusitD2 Nairobi
DusitD2 Nairobi
#5 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 142 reviews
8.6 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
2.1 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#7 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#14 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.