We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 145 Hotels in Nairobi
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
114 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Truly Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

a perfect oasis of pure luxury and outstanding service in Nairobi. Most certainly the best !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moshe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Probably the most enjoyable stay of many in Nairobi. And if you judge a property as to how they cope with a problem - and we had one - then I thought they coped admirably.

I've never really liked any hotel in Nairobi a lot but I found the Sankara to be good and comfortable and I shall be back their next month. A very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brumtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is by far the most modern and best hotel. The service is great. Looked in a part of city where it is ok to walk you'll love staying here. Free WIFI and internet make it a great deal. The food isnt great but passable.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the complimentary water in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderingDiplomat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Sankara is one of several top-notch hotels in Nairobi. Given the horrible traffic in the city, choosing a hotel often comes down to the location that you need to be in. For the Westlands area, this hotel is perfect. It is centrally located in that area, it seems to have very good security, rooms are comfortable with all of the amenities you could want, breakfast is great, and there is a very nice Asian restaurant in the hotel. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the price is consistent with that of other top hotels in Nairobi. Overall a very pleasant stay, and I will return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Verdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

It was my first time in Kenya and I stayed there for 5 nights.
The staff are very good, food is nice and the club lounge is really relaxing.
It is a bit pricy, but I think this is the standard for 5-star properties in Kenya.

There is a 'Gipsy bar' next to it (1 minute walking distance). you cna watch a game and have a beer. Proximity is important for safety reasons.

Just one advise.. make sure you get your local currency with you and do not exchange currency at the receptionist. Better have your own.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shadz1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Sankara on our wedding night. The reason for this is because of the location and reviews from other people. We had planned to stay for 3 nights, but we stayed for 4.

The first night we got there, we were in a room on the 3rd floor. It was about midnight, and we were both tired from the wedding. The staff had made a lovely arrangement on the bed with towels and rose petals all over the room. There was also a bottle of sparkling wine and lovely chocolate truffles along with a fruit basket.

I got into the shower, and 10 minutes later realised that the water wasn't draining properly. I got out and saw that the water had gone right to the front door and to the bedroom. We just placed towels all over the floor and didn't call room service as it was about 1am.

The next morning after breakfast we told the reception staff, and they managed to book us into a new room on the 4th floor. This room was similar, but with a larger bathroom.

The breakfast was good. A great selection of freshly baked breads and pastries. Cereals, pankakes, waffles, eggs any way you like and continental breakfast along with international selections.

During checkout, the hotel only charged us for 2 nights although we stayed for 4. We were impressed and thanked the staff for their service and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perthsafarilover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed overnight on arrival from Europe and before departing for Tanzania. The location of the hotel was perfect; away from the hustle and bustle in Westlands suburb, near Wilson airport. It is a deluxe property - somewhat new - and the service matches it's high end market.

The rooms are large, for a city hotel and the style and design is modern and functions well. We had a great meal which we ordered from room service and the presentation and taste was lovely.

There is a full gym and pool, with the latests equipment and extremely clean and attractive looking.

I was concerned that we should have stayed at Tribe Hotel instead, but in the end I was very pleased with our choice and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank longtimetraveller16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Highridge
Tribe Hotel
Tribe Hotel
#12 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 594 reviews
DusitD2 Nairobi
#10 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boma Nairobi
#7 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 481 reviews
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#8 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#15 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Booking.com so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing