We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Outstanding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sankara Nairobi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sankara Nairobi to your Saves list
Sankara Nairobi
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Festive Season Special
Ranked #13 of 111 Hotels in Nairobi
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Truly Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

a perfect oasis of pure luxury and outstanding service in Nairobi. Most certainly the best !

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    145
    26
    14
    10
See reviews for
32
69
28
231
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011 via mobile

Probably the most enjoyable stay of many in Nairobi. And if you judge a property as to how they cope with a problem - and we had one - then I thought they coped admirably.

I've never really liked any hotel in Nairobi a lot but I found the Sankara to be good and comfortable and I shall be back their next month. A very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

This is by far the most modern and best hotel. The service is great. Looked in a part of city where it is ok to walk you'll love staying here. Free WIFI and internet make it a great deal. The food isnt great but passable.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the complimentary water in the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Kenya
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

Sankara is one of several top-notch hotels in Nairobi. Given the horrible traffic in the city, choosing a hotel often comes down to the location that you need to be in. For the Westlands area, this hotel is perfect. It is centrally located in that area, it seems to have very good security, rooms are comfortable with all of the amenities you could want, breakfast is great, and there is a very nice Asian restaurant in the hotel. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the price is consistent with that of other top hotels in Nairobi. Overall a very pleasant stay, and I will return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

It was my first time in Kenya and I stayed there for 5 nights.
The staff are very good, food is nice and the club lounge is really relaxing.
It is a bit pricy, but I think this is the standard for 5-star properties in Kenya.

There is a 'Gipsy bar' next to it (1 minute walking distance). you cna watch a game and have a beer. Proximity is important for safety reasons.

Just one advise.. make sure you get your local currency with you and do not exchange currency at the receptionist. Better have your own.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Sankara on our wedding night. The reason for this is because of the location and reviews from other people. We had planned to stay for 3 nights, but we stayed for 4.

The first night we got there, we were in a room on the 3rd floor. It was about midnight, and we were both tired from the wedding. The staff had made a lovely arrangement on the bed with towels and rose petals all over the room. There was also a bottle of sparkling wine and lovely chocolate truffles along with a fruit basket.

I got into the shower, and 10 minutes later realised that the water wasn't draining properly. I got out and saw that the water had gone right to the front door and to the bedroom. We just placed towels all over the floor and didn't call room service as it was about 1am.

The next morning after breakfast we told the reception staff, and they managed to book us into a new room on the 4th floor. This room was similar, but with a larger bathroom.

The breakfast was good. A great selection of freshly baked breads and pastries. Cereals, pankakes, waffles, eggs any way you like and continental breakfast along with international selections.

During checkout, the hotel only charged us for 2 nights although we stayed for 4. We were impressed and thanked the staff for their service and comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed overnight on arrival from Europe and before departing for Tanzania. The location of the hotel was perfect; away from the hustle and bustle in Westlands suburb, near Wilson airport. It is a deluxe property - somewhat new - and the service matches it's high end market.

The rooms are large, for a city hotel and the style and design is modern and functions well. We had a great meal which we ordered from room service and the presentation and taste was lovely.

There is a full gym and pool, with the latests equipment and extremely clean and attractive looking.

I was concerned that we should have stayed at Tribe Hotel instead, but in the end I was very pleased with our choice and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sankara Nairobi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sankara Nairobi

Address: Woodvale Grove, Westlands, Nairobi 00606, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Nairobi
#8 Spa Hotel in Nairobi
#9 Family Hotel in Nairobi
#10 Romantic Hotel in Nairobi
#11 Luxury Hotel in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sankara Nairobi 5*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sankara Nairobi combines international five-star standards with personal service and the authentic flavour of the new Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sankara Nairobi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sankara Nairobi Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sankara Nairobi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.