We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT Value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Paris Hotel

Save Saved
You added Paris Hotel to your Saves list
Paris Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Paris Hotel
3.5 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Mfangano Street, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 157 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Charleston, South Carolina
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“GREAT Value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Compared to the other hotel where I stay in Nairobi, I LOVE this hotel. The bathroom is the BEST. The shower is better than other places, as well as the toilet and sink areas. And this hotel is only a few dollars more than the other place. Each room has mosquito nets and a safe. However, BOTH times I've stayed here in August 2011 and September 2012 the first room I was given did not have a working safe. So I had to switch rooms. The breakfast is good but does not have the variety that others have.

Room Tip: I prefer the backside away from the street because there is less noise, but my travel companions lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    4
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, Hants.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

Having been told to avoid this hotel, we came to look at it after spending one expensive night elsewhere. We were pleasantly surprised and spent the rest of the week there. No air conditioning, but a fan arrived immediately and the room was clean, spacious and comfortable ... which is just as well, since there is not very much of interest for tourists in Nairobi. The hotel restaurant was pleasant and the food was good, cooked to order and good value. Service was a little slow, but it wasn't a problem. The staff were very helpful and very friendly, though they struggled a bit with English. My wife is Kenyan, so that wasn't a problem. If you need somewhere to stay in the heart of Nairobi and don't want to be ripped off at ridiculous London prices, we'd recommend the Paris Hotel. We'd certainly go there again ...

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Spent a night there with a friend and it was totally awesome from the food to the room, hot shower and very comfortable bed only thing i'd like them to add pair of slippers for the traveller....

Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

travelled with my fiancee for xmas vacation. The staff were extremely friendly and are always willing to help. You have people like Lilian who are really committed to the job. Everyone was friendly, from the cleaners, security to kitchen staff
. We are definitely coming back again soon.
the only thing is they do not have variety of foods to choose from so i suggest they expand the menu .My lady was complaining about the food but I really did not mind because i can eat just about anything.

The location is also okay because it is in the city centre and the place is safe. The rooms were very clean and impressive. we had free wifi and dstv channels
It was quite an experience and the hotel is amazing.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oklahoma city
Top Contributor
282 reviews 282 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2010

first of all, we were stupid for booking a hotel with one of the tourist trappers just outside of nairobi airport. as soon as you step foot outside of the airport, you will be bombarded by tourist trappers. if you book with them, be sure that you will be charged at least double what you should pay. my recommendation is to use them for their information, nothing more, and even then, take it with a grain of salt. but DO NOT BOOK WITH THEM, DO NOT GIVE THEM MONEY. they are nothing more than salesmen of the worst kind. "oh yeah, this is a better hotel than the one you found in the guide book which is much more expensive than you think anyway. i'm just looking out for your safety." blah blah blah.

he quoted us $80/night. i admit we were stupid for booking with him, but i didn't realize how badly we were cheated. i knew we were stupid and that we overpaid, but i was determined to find out how badly we got cheated. when we got there, before telling them i was the person that just booked over the phone, i pretended to be a customer just off the street. she quoted me $40/night. and then i told her that we already booked for twice the price. she claimed to have made a mistake, of course. the next day, i walked into the reception office where a man had just booked a room. i heard him say he got it for $18 (we paid $80). i asked the receptionist (the same one who lied to us when we first arrived) if she just booked the man for that cheap. she said yes. mid-sentence, she stopped herself and said, "oh, no, he's just staying for a few hours." what a horrible liar.

first thing we noticed even before walking in was the environment. a VERY busy street. very noisy as well. lots of congested traffic, lots of people, and street drumming. our toilet didn't flush. it was at least clean. i would've stayed there for $20. however, after we left, on our way out of the neighborhood, we heard gunshots and saw people fleeing. our taxi driver said it was the police fighting with the locals. yeah, safe.

the restaurant is small. when you walk in, you pass the kitchen, a tiny little room. they only had 1 bottle of water in the whole restaurant. our chicken was not cooked all the way through, and it took almost an hour and a half.

we were promised internet from our room. it only worked in the restaurant. and it's not exactly free. they give you vouchers that only work for at most 24 hours. she wouldn't give us more than 1, so i played the "we both know you cheated us, so just give it to me" card. that worked.

moral of the story: do not book with the tourist trappers outside the airport. their job is to see how much they can cheat you. and for a hotel of this caliber, it's easy to get 3-4 times as much as it should cost. lesson learned.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paris Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paris Hotel

Address: Mfangano Street, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Paris Hotel 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Paris Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paris Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.