We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fails to impress on any front” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Palace Hotel

Sandton Palace Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandton Palace Hotel
Save
You added Sandton Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Taveta Rd, off Accra Rd | off Accra Road, Nairobi 00400, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Nairobi
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fails to impress on any front”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed at Sandton Palace for 3 nights in early August. As with many Nairobi hotels I have stayed in, the room itself was quite small with a very basic show/toilet en-suite and the furnishings very bland and basic. For a business traveller, this might be adequate purely for accommodation but I don't think it makes the grade for a tourist hotel. The location is quite close to the city centre but hidden in a street just off Tom Mboya street which, at all times from dawn until very late at night, is heaving with matatus and local buses and crowds of waiting passengers - making it something of an ordeal to navigate the poorly maintained sidewalks.
The TV offers about 10-15 channels of watchable fare, including some DSTV sports channels but I found the advertised wireless internet connection was completely inadequate and was unable to load up Yahoo's homepage, let alone read or send emails.
The hotel has a single, slow elevator to serve all of its floors, so you can find yourself waiting several minutes to finally get up to your room.
I later moved across to another hotel in Nairobi.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kampala-Uganda
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

On my visit this June in Nairobi, I stayed my 4 nights at Sandton Palace Hotel located in the main business hub of Nairobi City, a walkable distance to all major business amenities around Nairobi.

Their room service is perfect with Instant hot shower, Telephone, Lockable Safe, Colored TV connected to digital cable , Bottled water, their rooms are elegantly appointed with a living room

I loved staying here for all my night at Sandton Palace Hotel and will consider it as my budget preference always while in Nairobi

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Kenya
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I have been there twice before. The location is easy to access, though non-residents need to take caution along the street leading to it in terms of security, if on foot. Can be accessed by a cab though. I loved the receptionists, friendly, helpful.

Restaurant is great, great service, good food. Rooms are big enough, beds are huge and comfy for a single room.

Nice sliding windows.

Bathroom is clean and sizeable, with hot water throughout..Has a safe in the room, the entrance door has a safety chain.

Two lounge chairs in the single room is a plus and with a dressing table.

Just need to check the shower curtains, a bit too long, messes up the bathroom. Hotel rates are good.

I love it. Too bad I lost the photos.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

This is not the hotel for anyone desiring a luxury stay, but it is perfectly safe, the staff are nice, and the rooms have free wi-fi and a television, and the bedding is satisfactory. It is located on a somewhat ominous-looking street in the business section, so probably not the best choice for first time travelers to Nairobi unless you are a bit adventurous. But if you are not fussy and want a good price (I negotiated a $60 price), and you just want a bed and somewhere safe with wireless, this is a good choice. The restaurant downstairs is surprisingly good (though I was approached by a prostitute in the bar). I feel completely safe here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were charged $80 for the room and breakfast and this felt overpriced for what it was. The room was grubby (more than others in Nairobi in the same price range) and there was only a trickle of water coming out of the bathroom tap, and no water at all for the shower. Although I am sure that the bedding had been changed it looked as though it hadnt!
In our experience there were better hotels in Nairobi for a slightly lower price. However, on the plus side the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sandton Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Palace Hotel

Address: Taveta Rd, off Accra Rd | off Accra Road, Nairobi 00400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 99 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandton Palace Hotel is a 3 star hotel located in the city centre. The hotel is located in a very safe area and very quiet environment. The hotel has 105 en-suite rooms all connected with TV and Internet services. The hotel has 4 different conference halls which can accommodate a seating capacity of people between 100 to 240. The hotel has a gym with steam bath as well as sauna. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sandton Palace Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.