We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avery perfect Budget hotel in Nairobi City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sandton Palace Hotel

Sandton Palace Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sandton Palace Hotel
Save
You added Sandton Palace Hotel to your Saves list
Taveta Road, off Accra Rd, Nairobi 00400, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #80 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Kampala-Uganda
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Avery perfect Budget hotel in Nairobi City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

On my visit this June in Nairobi, I stayed my 4 nights at Sandton Palace Hotel located in the main business hub of Nairobi City, a walkable distance to all major business amenities around Nairobi.

Their room service is perfect with Instant hot shower, Telephone, Lockable Safe, Colored TV connected to digital cable , Bottled water, their rooms are elegantly appointed with a living room

I loved staying here for all my night at Sandton Palace Hotel and will consider it as my budget preference always while in Nairobi

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AfricanPearlSafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandton155, Public Relations Manager at Sandton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2015
Thank you for your feedback and hope you have visited us again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Kisumu, Kenya
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I have been there twice before. The location is easy to access, though non-residents need to take caution along the street leading to it in terms of security, if on foot. Can be accessed by a cab though. I loved the receptionists, friendly, helpful.

Restaurant is great, great service, good food. Rooms are big enough, beds are huge and comfy for a single room.

Nice sliding windows.

Bathroom is clean and sizeable, with hot water throughout..Has a safe in the room, the entrance door has a safety chain.

Two lounge chairs in the single room is a plus and with a dressing table.

Just need to check the shower curtains, a bit too long, messes up the bathroom. Hotel rates are good.

I love it. Too bad I lost the photos.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StellaNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandton155, Public Relations Manager at Sandton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Stella,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

It is good that you have noted our convenient location like most of our customers, and the facilities in our rooms which make them 'above average'.

We have since dealt with the issue of the shower curtains and assure you of clean bathrooms.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind Regards,

Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Level Contributor
72 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

This is not the hotel for anyone desiring a luxury stay, but it is perfectly safe, the staff are nice, and the rooms have free wi-fi and a television, and the bedding is satisfactory. It is located on a somewhat ominous-looking street in the business section, so probably not the best choice for first time travelers to Nairobi unless you are a bit adventurous. But if you are not fussy and want a good price (I negotiated a $60 price), and you just want a bed and somewhere safe with wireless, this is a good choice. The restaurant downstairs is surprisingly good (though I was approached by a prostitute in the bar). I feel completely safe here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GOfifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandton155, Public Relations Manager at Sandton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We were charged $80 for the room and breakfast and this felt overpriced for what it was. The room was grubby (more than others in Nairobi in the same price range) and there was only a trickle of water coming out of the bathroom tap, and no water at all for the shower. Although I am sure that the bedding had been changed it looked as though it hadnt!
In our experience there were better hotels in Nairobi for a slightly lower price. However, on the plus side the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank terark99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandton155, Public Relations Manager at Sandton Palace Hotel, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay in our hotel.

Kindly be advised that we have since upgraded our rooms and all our rooms have running hot water. We have always changed the beddings daily and ensured that we exercise the highest hygiene standards.

We are glad that you enjoyed your breakfast and hope that you will visit us again.

Kind Regards,

Monica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nairobi hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Nairobi Central Business District
Decasa Hotel
Decasa Hotel
#85 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 19 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Marble Arch Hotel
Marble Arch Hotel
#51 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Kenya Comfort Hotel
#68 of 145 in Nairobi
3.0 of 5 stars 188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fairview Hotel
#13 of 145 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 1,055 reviews
Hotel Central Park Nairobi
#55 of 145 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Meridian Hotel
#19 of 145 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Palace Hotel

Address: Taveta Road, off Accra Rd, Nairobi 00400, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 155 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandton Palace Hotel is a 3 star hotel located in the city centre. The hotel is located in a very safe area and very quiet environment. The hotel has 105 en-suite rooms all connected with TV and Internet services. The hotel has 4 different conference halls which can accommodate a seating capacity of people between 100 to 240. The hotel has a gym with steam bath as well as sauna. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing