We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Peppers Restaurant Ltd.

Peppers Restaurant Ltd.
Parklands Road | Opposite Southern Sun Hotel Westlands, Nairobi, Kenya
+254722201880
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 341 Restaurants in Nairobi
Price range: $10 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Multi-Cuisine Restaurant with a children's concept and ideal for big groups for corporates and families. specializing in Indian, Chinese, Continental,seafood, Barbeque, Steaks and other Grilled Dishes.A big variety of Non-Vegetarian and vegetarian dishes.Come Experience Fine Dining at its best. Takeaway deliveries on motorbike and outside catering facilities available.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

Very nice atmosphere. And is great if you have a small child as they have a nice play area and give you a free baby sitter which is excellent. They seem to try to "specialise" in too many cuisines though and hence the food is ok only. Despite that Im still a regular due to my two year old

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    15
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“disappointing...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

We are always looking for new places to eat out at on sunday afternoons so when someone suggested peppers, a place we hadnt been for a while, we were excited to try it out.
when we first got there everything seemed fine, the management was accomodating and we got a table for quite a number of people rather fast. The restaurant was a little bit dark but it seemed nice.
we were all starving but once we looked at the menu we were just overwhelmed with indian, chinese, continental cuisine options. there were pages and pages of items we did not even know where to start. luckily the management was able to suggest some items at least for the starters.
the starters were oily and tasteless, apart from the mutton lamb chops which were tender and had a nice flavour.
for our mains we had a mix of chinese, indian and continental dishes which we waited ONE AND A HALF hours before it even arrived. there was little apology from the management and when the owner was told there was still a dish missing she replied 'i dont think so" ??? we ordered it we knew it was missing
the main course was terrible and expensive. upon mentioning this outing to a friend they said the head chef who was once there had left which would explain the poor quality in a place i had heard was once good.
on the bright side there is a nice outside play area for children and the minders do a good job.
the management gave us complimentary dessert but what a horrible afternoon. we will not be going there again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oms663, Manager at Peppers Restaurant Ltd., responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your time to review of our restaurant. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant meal with us at Peppers. We at Peppers Restaurant Ltd always endeavor that all our customers are delivered with exceptional service, Food & standards. We Would like to apologize for the misunderstanding. Please do give us another chance to make you feel ay home. We look forward to see you again at the restaurant. Many thanks Omar Ikram & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Nice outdoor play area but service and management are disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

When we first arrived in Nairobi, we frequented Peppers regularly. The restaurant has an indoor and outdoor section. The outdoor section frames a huge sandpit which is hit with small kids. They have 2 attendants who watch and play the kids and ensure no one throws sand at each other!

The food is very average and the kids options are uninteresting and all deep fried. The service is slow but bearable.

Our first main issue happened during one rainy Saturday afternoon around 2pm, when we went for lunch with our kids. Besides the outdoor area, there is an indoor play room that is off limits and hardly unlocked. As it was raining outside, we decided to sit indoors for once, so that they kids could play inside. We were then advised that kids aren't allowed in the playroom, except during dinner service. Given that our kids were set on playing, we decided to go to another kid friendly restaurant around the corner.

We returned another day for dinner around 6pm, ready for our kids to enjoy the playroom and were shocked to be told that yet again the room could not be opened as it was still light enough outside! The manager/owner further explained that they prefer to not have kids inside as there is no minder. This was not an issue for us, as either my husband or myself was quite happy to stay with them but this was again not allowed.

I'm not sure what the issue is but there was a very apparent lack of prioritizing the customer! If you plan on visiting, go during a nice sunny day.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oms663, Manager at Peppers Restaurant Ltd., responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your time to review of our restaurant. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant meal with us at Peppers. We at Peppers Restaurant Ltd always endeavor that all our customers are delivered with exceptional service, Food & standards. I would like to apologize what happened. Please do give us another chance to make you have a memorable time with us. We look forward to see you again at the restaurant. Many thanks Omar Ikram & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
“Peppers restaurant : The best restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

It was just amazing , Us coloradan's love good food and delicacies, kenya has it all and peppers is the best restaurant i have ever visited ...

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oms663, Manager at Peppers Restaurant Ltd., responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your time to review of our restaurant. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant meal with us at Peppers. We at Peppers Restaurant Ltd always endeavor that all our customers are delivered with exceptional service, Food & standards. We look forward to see you again at the restaurant. Many thanks Omar Ikram & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Great food, great service, great play area, love it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We live and Nairobi and go here regularly, just with out family and with friends. It has become one of our favorite places. The food is good, wide variety, the drinks are good, the service is great and the best part is that the play area is just right for our little ones, and kids a bit older, but the cherry on the cake is the wonderful woman/women who watch the kids while we eat and chat. The restaurant "gets" kids, they know not to bring the strawberry milkshake out at the same time as the fish fingers, they will catch your kid if they try torun out of the room (with you hot on their tails) they, are very welcoming to my noisy bunch, and that means alot.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oms663, Manager at Peppers Restaurant Ltd., responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your time to review of our restaurant. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant meal with us at Peppers. We at Peppers Restaurant Ltd always endeavor that all our customers are delivered with exceptional service, Food & standards. We look forward to see you again at the restaurant. Many thanks Omar Ikram & team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Peppers Restaurant Ltd. also viewed

 

Been to Peppers Restaurant Ltd.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Peppers Restaurant Ltd., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.