We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Masai Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Masai Lodge
Magadi Road | P.O Box 43998, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 90 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were hosted for an international giraffe conference and the staff was very good in most things except helping with phone issues, cold water in rooms and some billing issues. Food was great, staff were great and we were made to feel very welcome and appreciated.

Room Tip: Guards and other staff were not very proactive in quieting down very late arrivals or partyers but r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    9
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
2
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi Area, Kenya
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Masai Lodge has a potential to grow. They seem to be sitting on their opportunity because it felt like they are not putting in enough effort to make the place a must-go.

It seems to be a popular place for conferences. Yeah, you caught me red handed because I, too, was attending a conference there :-)

Anyway the food is bland and a tad bit boring. Not tasty at all but palatable and fresh. The rooms are pretty decent and I liked them. The attendants are friendly but again they seemed to be absorbed in their own thoughts most of the time. A wee bit unkempt they looked.

Being out of the hustle and bustle of busy Nairobi, it is a very good hide-away spot. The backyard is the Nairobi National Park so I felt that this is indeed a plus

Room Tip: Two room types exist, those whose windows face the park and those that don't. Am sure you will m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

My wife and I just came back to the country. Initially we wanted to go away from the city, perhaps to the coast, but with the few days remaining, we would spend so much time traveling. A friend recommended Masaai lodge and we decided to try it out.
The receptionist was so welcoming (contrary to another lodge one on the way there) within a few minutes we were on our way to our room. Food is great. We loved the simplicity of the rooms.
The only nightmare was when one day we came back to find the parking lot full of cars. The corporate world had descended. The quiet haven that we were used to was gone. All the attention was on them. The music was loud and those corporate people do not know how to behave, i guess coz they do not have to pay. All other guests become inferior.

Room Tip: Rooms far away are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011

I love Masai Lodge, had been there often but never stayed over. This time i did. Was great. I called and booked, the receptionist was warm and welcoming, food was great though in my perspective they were too busy attending to larger corporate group so the service was poor. Accomodation wise rooms are super, like the simplicity and the furniture is all bush african-ish. I loved the privacy and security was super.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

My daughter just celebrated her birthday wiht 25 friends and family from US, England and France. Guests were warned that accommodation is simple, but in a marvelous location. And everyone agreed that their experience totally exceeded all expectations.

We went during the week so had the lodge to ourselves. We were blown away by the activiites and food. We had an Africa Night party that was incredibly good fun. Pick-ups from airport were faultless. The river hike and local visits (including a morning in Nairobi Park) were perfect. The staff were fun and helpful and made every event special. There were no unpleasant surprises regarding inclusions or price. In fact, we got a lot of extras that I never expected. The lodge is very crowded on weekends but is a fantastic venue for special events during the week. i cannot rave enough about what an outstanding job everyone did..

Room Tip: Very popular on weekends with people from Nairobi.. great during the week.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

My friends and I decided to get away for a weekend, initially we wanted to do Masai Mara Tsavo but one of our friends couldnt make it on the intend date of travel so we couldnt go far.

Someone suggested Masai Lodge just 20mins( if no traffic) from city center and so why not? we decided Masai Lodge it is.
An hour later we were pulling at the gates of the lodge nestled in the mddle of the National park so amazing considering we were still in Nairobi.

Check in was quick and with no more than a few minutes we were being escorted to our rooms. The rooms are small but clean and with no TV there isnt much to do( i guess the point of the getaway is to relax and not spend hours glued to the set)

We decided to have a drink at the pool as it was alreadyu evening as we waited for dinner, The staff was friendly but could do better with their Customer service, apart from one lady at the reception a bit light she was amazing and always smiling asking if there was somehting we needed.

Dinner was buffet, just normal food nothing to write home about. The lodger can provide transport if you want to go clubbing in the near Karen and that is exactly what we did.

All in all its a good place to spend a night or two if you just want to get away from Nairobi but still be in Nairobi.

Room Tip: The rooms far away from the lodge are more private with no many people walking by the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

All of us, from time to time, need a plunge into freedom and novelty, after which routine discipline will seem delightful by contrast. yeah? If you are looking for solitude and tranquillity, the type you can hear a pin drop, Masai lodge would grant you that wish. As a couple we actually had a great time back in September when we visited this place. Its like an oasis in the middle of the desert, you will quickly notice this once you break from the main road, its one of those places you would passionately describe as the best kept secret in Nairobi. I for one loved the Masai manyatta concept that run through majority of their buildings, from the reception to the rooms, and speaking about their rooms . . . the word that comes to mind is space . . . (we stayed in room number 1, I believe that that was a double) the finish was remarkable, I actually felt like I wanted to have a bathroom as simple as that . . . they actually had a small lounge that opened to a balcony and the view in my opinion was spectacular especially just before sunset.

There actually is a river that flows through this place . . . am not sure about its name but it adds a touch of finesse to the place - The little things that make me come back to a place. over and over again. Oh the food as much as it came late . . . it was worth the wait try the chicken . . . it comes when its still sizzling! but all in all i loved the personalised service, the little bit of heaven they added on earth. Oh and special thanks to Transwest Events and tours organisers for making this beautiful experience happen.

Room Tip: book early and try room number one . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Masai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masai Lodge

Address: Magadi Road | P.O Box 43998, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 90 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Also Known As:
Masai Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masai Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Masai Lodge to your Saves list