We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could do better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Masai Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Masai Lodge
Save
You added Masai Lodge to your Saves list
Magadi Road | P.O Box 43998, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Could do better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

My friends and I decided to get away for a weekend, initially we wanted to do Masai Mara Tsavo but one of our friends couldnt make it on the intend date of travel so we couldnt go far.

Someone suggested Masai Lodge just 20mins( if no traffic) from city center and so why not? we decided Masai Lodge it is.
An hour later we were pulling at the gates of the lodge nestled in the mddle of the National park so amazing considering we were still in Nairobi.

Check in was quick and with no more than a few minutes we were being escorted to our rooms. The rooms are small but clean and with no TV there isnt much to do( i guess the point of the getaway is to relax and not spend hours glued to the set)

We decided to have a drink at the pool as it was alreadyu evening as we waited for dinner, The staff was friendly but could do better with their Customer service, apart from one lady at the reception a bit light she was amazing and always smiling asking if there was somehting we needed.

Dinner was buffet, just normal food nothing to write home about. The lodger can provide transport if you want to go clubbing in the near Karen and that is exactly what we did.

All in all its a good place to spend a night or two if you just want to get away from Nairobi but still be in Nairobi.

Room Tip: The rooms far away from the lodge are more private with no many people walking by the room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
3
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

All of us, from time to time, need a plunge into freedom and novelty, after which routine discipline will seem delightful by contrast. yeah? If you are looking for solitude and tranquillity, the type you can hear a pin drop, Masai lodge would grant you that wish. As a couple we actually had a great time back in September when we visited this place. Its like an oasis in the middle of the desert, you will quickly notice this once you break from the main road, its one of those places you would passionately describe as the best kept secret in Nairobi. I for one loved the Masai manyatta concept that run through majority of their buildings, from the reception to the rooms, and speaking about their rooms . . . the word that comes to mind is space . . . (we stayed in room number 1, I believe that that was a double) the finish was remarkable, I actually felt like I wanted to have a bathroom as simple as that . . . they actually had a small lounge that opened to a balcony and the view in my opinion was spectacular especially just before sunset.

There actually is a river that flows through this place . . . am not sure about its name but it adds a touch of finesse to the place - The little things that make me come back to a place. over and over again. Oh the food as much as it came late . . . it was worth the wait try the chicken . . . it comes when its still sizzling! but all in all i loved the personalised service, the little bit of heaven they added on earth. Oh and special thanks to Transwest Events and tours organisers for making this beautiful experience happen.

Room Tip: book early and try room number one . . .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancaster, pa
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

We stayed at this lodge two days before our safari. The rooms were spacious and the views spectacular. The gounds are wonderful, you can see the animals across the river that live in the park. But beware, just because you have reservations DOES NOT MEAN YOU HAVE A PLACE TO STAY!! We were to come back to the lodge after safari, and friends went to check us in. They said they were overbooked and we had no rooms. Luckily for us, our friends are in the know and found us another place, not near as nice, but none the less we had a place to stay. I don't know what we would have done, if we were alone. The manager did not offer any explanations, no apologies, nothing, but "no rooms"
I would not book there again, as you cannot be sure of lodging and in Kenya, it is not easy to get around and find other lodging.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

Re: Our Stay At the Masai Lodge.

Sorry to say - It had been our worst experience at the Maasai lodge ever from many holidays we have had. To start with practically we had no room allocation at all. We had booked 4 room and all was confirmed. We had also made 50% deposit payment.
We were to check in any time after 10.30 am and we would be allocated rooms at latest 12 noon. We arrived at 11 am and we asked for the rooms and were told to wait for half hour. Our children were very keen on swimming and since 12 noon we had no allocation of rooms we got them changed in the car and got them to go to the pool area for a swim. At 1.30 pm after a lot of haggles we were just given one room asthey had still not cleaned the other rooms or kept them ready since the guests had checked out late!! This is indicative of no management of check out time and no managment of considering those who may check in!!! Worst of all up it was not up to 6pm when we had the other 3 rooms allocated having followed on these rooms at 3 pm, 4pm ,etc and after a lot of struggle when the rooms were finally given they were actually half done (hardly clean, one of the rooms had no power, the other had no cold water as the lob was broken, bedding were used etc etc).

By this time you can imagine how tired and hungry all of us would have been, not to forget we had kids on us. At around 8.00pm leaving the rest to freshen up two of us went to the dinning hall to feed the kids - the worst - there was no food for us nor were the staff ready for us. Practically there was nothing for us when we had specified we were Vegetarians and had sent the menu of vegetian dishes that they could consider making and which the reservation person named Julie whom we had booked all with had confirmed. Our rooms allocated were all to be near each other as per our confirmed booking but when the receptionist at the lodge allocated us the rooms , one of them was away from each other and since it was 6pm we had to accept hence you can imagine how we felt as had to do with whatever we got when there!.

This meant the Lodge was not aware of our stay there. This is not what we paid for.

The receptionist on our complain was so confused, and the only alternative give to us was we were to settle with pizza's (which was basically tomato puree and chesses spread on sweet bread like bake that too after waiting for another one and a half hours.........) whihc we were served at 9.30pm - Our kids could have not waited for meal at this time hence they just had soup, some salad and whatever pasta was there as there was no vegetarian in the main food and this is indicative that they could not even care to make anything fast for the kids nor were they prepared. It seemed the lodge was not prepared for the guests or any special requests having confirmed all!

This means we were not at all on half board as per the booking on "THE PRICE WE PAID". Not only this but what the hotel website shows as self contained cottages and the pcitures are far from what it is and is very poorly maintained lodge and facilities and the staff have no clue, are not trained and do not know what reservations or bookings are and what is to be provided.
The place is a more of a walk in joint for anyone passing by who wishes with no cover charge at all, can use the place and stay if they wish too - one of those places which really should not be advertised on this as well as one whihc is certainly not a holiday place!!!!!!
A lot could be done with the place as their location is good but we are wondering whether any one of the management staff has ever given a surprise visit to the place???

Sad to say - To get the bookings, at the time we were booking we were promised the world but on delivery it was not even half of what was discussed.!

We were very disappointed and I await to hear from you on the above.

Room Tip: Please do not go to this lodge!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2010

The road to the lodge from Ongata Rongai, past the Nazarene University, is part-tarmaced but ends quite early then is rough all the way. It's really not a problem, there are plenty of worse roads, and it gives you the feel that you are on safari and not still within Nairobi!

Rooms are quite comfortable, individual buildings through the grounds, based on the design of a Masai hut - but solid! The bedroom area was quite roomy and comfortable, the bathroom was fine but had seen better days but it was kept very clean. Try and get one that faces Nairobi NP, you can't see too much but it's nice to look over the park. There is a gorge in front with the river running through so you have the sound of the gushing water too (maybe not so during the dry seasons). There are other rooms set back further so the views are of the gardens. The room I had came with a balcony, nice to sit out with a book and just chill.

The food was very good indeed. Breakfast, I would say, was fairly average with the usual bits and pieces, not exactly a feast. But the main meals that we had were excellent and I'd thoroughly recommend the tilapia fillet - delicious! All the food was quite reasonably priced and the menu was had quite a selection, vegetarian and Indian too. Lunch was off the main menu and, unless you had one of the 3 sandwiches on offer (I think they came with chips), there was nothing what I’d call light. Just opt for the B&B and pay for any other meals as you go. You could choose half or full board but you'd end up paying a lot more than you would spend on just taking the a la carte. Drink was quite reasonably priced, 150 for a Tusker, 50 for a soda, around 2-300 for a double G&T.

My only reservation was that it gets really busy on a weekend. We arrived on Saturday and it was fully booked, I would imagine that most of the guests would have come from the city for the Saturday night alone. Also, being a weekend, there were quite a few ‘parties' going on which did restrict your movements within the hotel, for example, you wouldn't have been able to use the pool as there were functions going on, also in the bar area, etc. No problem during the week, I would think, certainly when we were there on the Monday the place was virtually empty except for a seminar that was taking place.

The grounds of the lodge are very well maintained and attractive. It’s situated at the edge of the Silole Sanctuary, we did see a few warthogs in the low area beside the river but nothing else. It’s not the place to come if you have any mobility issues, there are steps aplenty. My quibble with the hotel was with use of the swimming pool. As I mentioned, access is limited at the weekend so we decided to take a day off on the Monday and sit round the pool. We’d been there for about an hour when we were asked to move while they treated the pool. This was at about 11am, and the pool couldn’t be used for another 5-6 hours after that. Why they weren’t able to treat it the previous evening so it could be used the following day, like all other hotels do, I don’t know.

It is a really nice place, I'd certainly go back if I didn't want to go any great distance while in Kenya. As I was only in the country for a flying visit of 5 nights it was ideal.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Masai Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Masai Lodge

Address: Magadi Road | P.O Box 43998, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 100 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 31
Also Known As:
Masai Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masai Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.