We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must Do! By Far the Best Thing We Did in Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kibera Tours

Kibera Tours
Starts at Adamsarcade, Java house, Nairobi, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)
(0)7 23669218
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 103 Activities in Nairobi
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: info@kiberatours.com.
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Must Do! By Far the Best Thing We Did in Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Skip the elephant place (so crowded and contrived - see elephants in the wild instead) and the Giraffe center (total rip off) and go instead to see Kibera. It will change your life. Freddy and Martin are amazing - so warm, so passionate about being ambassadors for the place they have called home their whole lives. They will show you one of the largest slums in the world from an insider's point of view (they even welcomed us into one of their homes so we could see how people live - fascinating!) We saw several community projects - a school, power women collective for women with HIV who are selling crafts, biofuel from human waste, jewelry from bones rather than ivory. All so interesting and the people were incredible - so inspiring. Of course, we gave a donation and this is part of the point, but we were not pressured to do so at all. We bought some jewelry made by the power woman and bone workmen - inexpensive and really unique and I wear mine all the time. We also gave a donation to the school. But what Freddy and Martin are most interested in is changing the world's perception of the slum by showing people what it is really like. You will be remembering this place for a long time after your visit. The community spirit is infectious.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    7
    0
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“one of my highlights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had a informative , inspiring enjoyable time with our guides .
Phillip was very informative and took lots of pictures with my camera .
we walked alround the area meeting local businesses and people .

Phillip was awonderful young man pasionate about helping his community help them selves and fight poverty , ignorance and discrimmination .

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A different side to Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Having spent a few days in central Nairobi my friend and I had found the city a little unfriendly. We decided to do this tour and experienced a whole other side to the city. Phillip and Freddie were our guides and were great at answering a whole range of questions about kibera. Group numbers are limited to six so we felt that the visit was personalised and not intrusive. We visited a range of community based projects where people were happy to explain what they were doing and how it was helping to improve living conditions. Phillip himself was leading a number of community and youth schemes in the area and was happy to chat about these. Many of the projects are inspirational and it is heartening to talk to so many people who have little but are so welcoming. The trip ended with a visit to Freddie's mums house which was surprisingly cosy. Overall, this is an excellent way to speak to people about their lives and country.
I would advise anyone on his tour to wear good footwear as much of the slum has uneven and poor pathways between businesses and housing.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Kibera with Freddie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

A must go. Freddie was excellent, and at no time during the tour did we feel threatened. The people were very welcoming, and all were wearing big smiles. The tour makes you appreciate what you have.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Kibera tours with freddie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I visited with a family with three kids, , mainly from US, their first time in Africa. On day 2 we visited Kibera with Freddie. It was a humbling and amazing experience, we walked from our rendezvous with Freddie in Adam's arcade, through Toi market and into Kibera, visiting 4 community projects (an HIV women's group, a pre school and, best of all, a men's co-operative making jewellery out of bone). Having lived in Nbo for 6 months, and visited other slums and NGO projects, this felt genuine. FReddie is very knowledgeable and we spoke to several residents. In the words of one of the 11 year old visitors, 'it was a humbling experience, people seemed so cheerful in spite of their hardships'. So important to see how most Nairobeans live, and make sure you do this as well as all the other touristy experiences.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kibera Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kibera Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.