We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Art Environment Experience Not To Be Missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass

Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass
Off Masai Lodge/Magadi Rd, nr. Ongata Rongai, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 722 523284
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 17 Shopping in Nairobi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kitengela Glass split into two separately owned glass companies 20 years ago. Anselm's glass blowing studio (with 25 years of expertise) in the planetarium dome makes blown & cast items, beads, lighting and architectural installations in an eco-friendly environment next to the Nairobi National Park. He also has a small cafe serving fresh sandwiches, coffee and juices. Alternatively Nani's company offers stained glass, rudimentary glass blowing, accommodation and animals. A visit to both companies is recommended, as they have very different ethos and products. Welcome!
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“An Art Environment Experience Not To Be Missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Of 22 countries and 49 US states travelled, this is easily in my top five favorite places. It won't be easy to get to, but when you get close you will know it. Rising out of the forest canopy is a dome, a castle, various unusual structures that are all part of an art mosaic concrete environment complete with a suspended footbridge leading across a steep canyon to the National Park.

You can purchase locally made glassware, sip coffee, and wander the grounds. If you love art, unusual getaways or are a fan of art environments, this is without a doubt the place to go in Kenya.

I know I sound like a shill, but I've been to dozens of places like this, and this one is tops.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    10
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice afternoon out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014 via mobile

We visited Kitengela glass and Anselm hot glass during an afternoon. We've have made visits to Kitengela glass many times before and every time we see new developments. Unfortunately the 2 properties are separated nowadays and you have to walk outside the gate to the next gate. We were received by friendly staff from Kitengela glass. They showed us everything from the showroom to the area where they make the glass in lead and where they blow the glass. They also showed us the amazing pool that you can also use, even when you're not staying in their cottages, and they showed us the pigs. The kids were all excited about this. After our tour we went to Anselm hot glass where they did a demonstration of glassblowing. This was really amazing. The person who did the demonstration also gave us a small tour of the different areas. We had a great time, but it is a pity that the companies are not connected anymore.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely, if you're artistic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

Loved all the glass work in the cottages, and the feel of nature right at your door. The kids loved the pool and enjoyed the glass blowing demonstration. Kibe, KG staff, was great and helped get us anything we needed.
The Glass House, while lovely, had musty (damp?) bedding :-(
Would go back.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
31 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Kitengela Glass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We've been visiting here with a normal car. We slept the night at Silole cottage (which we approached from the Rongata Ongai side) and than walked over the hanging bridge to reach Kitengela glaas. Unfortunately the oven where the blow the glass was closed due to X-mas holidays. But in the premises of Nani Cruz son, nextdoor, we had a very nice organic salad and bought a few very nie things. W also met Mr. Dudu, who is e recycling artists and makes beuatiful things. From caps and hat's out of beer cans to Dudu's from waste material.
Certainly worth a visit !

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your review. For clarification purposes, Anselm's Kitengela Hot Glass studios have no connection with the hanging bridge. The bridge goes directly to Nani Croze's studio on an adjacent plot. Many thanks, Anselm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bring your 4x4”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We were all excited to visit Kitengela today but despite the fact that it has been dry for the last few days the road conditions were too bad to get there. After bottoming out a few times on the roads leading to the store we finally got to within 1km when we reached a point where I was sure that I would either get stuck or severely damage my car. At that point we turned around and stopped in to ask some people at a nearby establishment if there was any other way to get there. There was not so we didn't get to make it over. It would have been very helpful if they had warned us about the awful road conditions on the website.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this review, February 23, 2014
Thank you for your review and we are sorry for the road horror. Unknown to us, a neighbour had organized for a truck load of unbroken rocks to be dumped in the road. We have since rectified the situation as much as possible and the road is now passable. Many thanks, Anselm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass also viewed

 

Been to Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.