We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass

Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass
Off Masai Lodge/Magadi Rd, nr. Ongata Rongai, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 722 523284
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 14 Shopping in Nairobi
Type: Shops, Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Kitengela Glass split into two separately owned glass companies 20 years ago. Anselm's glass blowing studio (with 25 years of expertise) in the planetarium dome makes blown & cast items, beads, lighting and architectural installations in an eco-friendly environment next to the Nairobi National Park. He also has a small cafe serving fresh sandwiches, coffee and juices. Alternatively Nani's company offers stained glass, rudimentary glass blowing, accommodation and animals. A visit to both companies is recommended, as they have very different ethos and products. Welcome!
Kampala
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Just got back from having an incredible weekend at Kitengala Glass - there's what seems to be a little known boutique-esque hotel on the premises with a beautiful pool and incredibe views. The accommodations are all as idiosyncratic as each of the kitengala glass pieces and incredibly styled. I can't say how amazing it was with simple but tasty food served by friendly staff. It's not a place to go if you prefer things to be chaos free - it's quiet, but there are dogs and birds, including a pet vulture, everywhere, and little nooks, crannies and paths to explore. But if you like somewhere with a little boho chic and with an easy going vibe, i couldn't recommend here strong enough. It's worth noting that there are two glass blowing places next door to each other - Kitengala Glass and Anselm's. It's at Kitengala Glass - also known as Nani's place, that the little hotel is.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    8
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kirkland, Washington
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Great little stop for an out of the way shopping trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Kitengela is a wonderful little oasis in Nairobi. It's a bit like falling down a rabbit hole, and entering a different dimension when you start wandering through the place. It just keeps going, and with interesting and odd sculptures placed everywhere. Spend some time wandering around.

The prices for glass products was quite reasonable as well. Very please we made the visit to Kitengela. We parked at one of the resorts just before Kitengela, crossed the swinging bridge, walked through a pasture or two, and found our way to Kitengela. It was more like an adventure than a shopping trip. Very fun way to visit.

There's a cute little sitting area that serves drinks and limited food. Lovely place to sip on a Stoney Tangaweza (Kenya's Ginger ale that is to die for)!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great outing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Friend visiting from the US and I took a trip out to visit these two side-by-side workshops. We thought we'd stay an hour or two but ended up staying about three. There are small and large pieces of art everywhere and you can't go the same way without noticing something new. If you like quirky and whimsical, you'll find a little slice of heaven here.

We loved watching the artisans churn out glassware in Anselm Hot Glass and we also enjoyed watching the people next door work on their different projects.

Getting there is straightforward with a good driver. Our driver has a sedan and we had no problems in May, but I could see that in April it could be difficult without a 4x4. Trip was about 45 min. from Kilimani in low traffic on a weekday.

You can get to Rolf's from there, but be sure you ask a couple of different people for directions as we set off down a track that led into the camel enclosure. Doh! The walk should take between 10 to 20 minutes.

Use the bathroom at Anselm, not the pit toilet next door.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An average attraction - expected more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

We took our 7-year-old son there to learn about glass blowing. As we came in, a lady took us to a store/shop, because the workers were having a short break. The shop had nothing special and many glass pieces were average. I guess the nicer glass items can only be seen in Nairobi shops. The lady left us there, went away and never came back for the so-called tour around the place. Well, no problem, because it was very easy to do the tour as there were only three small shops to see, close by each other, and the furnace, where the workers then came back to work. They were only making small thick glasses. Nothing happened, no guidance but we could guess what they were doing. We purchased an item and went away unnoticed by the staff.
Oh, by the way, yes, the road, like many people have said, is atrocious and the place is not well sign posted...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Dear Mrs Stork. I am very sorry you were abandoned on your trip here. If you come again, ask for Thomas, Anselm or Kiki, and we will give you the gilded guided tour, and show you some of the stuff you may have missed. The road has been recently repaired, and is in the best condition I've seen it in thirty years :-). Not sure what'll happen when it rains tho'... We have also opened a new cafeteria - a fresh orange juice on me if you brave it once more! Warm regards, and apologies again for your mediocre experience. Anselm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“love art & nature”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

when you are in nairobi, take a day off to go to kitengela glass. it is an overwhelming place, you dont know where to start or stop looking! mother and son or son and mother, two places two styles. the creative energy of nani croze is overwhelming. her love for glass, for colour and form just knocks you out. you feel like entering alice's wonderland, made by nani - and embedded in wild nature. overflowing green, where there was not a tree 40 years ago, and a menagerie of animals welcome and surround you. you like dogs? this is your place! there is 11 of them! geese, sheep, kamels, horses, ostriches.... and all in tailormade artistic homes. these are definitly the first animals I met that have the priviledge to live in artwork!

the studio and galery are like their own planet. you can watch them blow glass, put mosaics together, create metal work or build glass windows made to order. anything goes with glass in kitengela! we just love the juice and wine glasses, how did we drink before? :-) also the vases, bowls and all these little things like key rings etc are just devine. I dont know how this happens, but these things have that bit of soul in them that makes you feel good.

you can also stay over night if you like, each house is special, different and artistic in its own way. it is not hightech, it is high-character! after all these hilton and marriott experiences, this is certainly a stay you will not forget. the views are mind-blowing. we got woken up by a group of baboons, who jumped over the roof and sneaked into the window briefly! what a whow! hyraxes are more suttle, much around, and when you open your eyes you have the view across that gorge into the massai land! cross the bridge, check out the crocs, and enjoy the most special place around nairobi!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass also viewed

 

Been to Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.