We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting but not worth the long and rough road” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass

Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass
Off Masai Lodge/Magadi Rd, nr. Ongata Rongai, Nairobi, Kenya
+254 722 523284
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 14 Shopping in Nairobi
Type: Shops
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Kitengela Glass split into two separately owned glass companies 20 years ago. Anselm's glass blowing studio (with 25 years of expertise) in the planetarium dome makes blown & cast items, beads, lighting and architectural installations in an eco-friendly environment next to the Nairobi National Park. He also has a small cafe serving fresh sandwiches, coffee and juices. Alternatively Nani's company offers stained glass, rudimentary glass blowing, accommodation and animals. A visit to both companies is recommended, as they have very different ethos and products. Welcome!
Arusha, Tanzania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Interesting but not worth the long and rough road”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great if you are interested in learning about glass blowing. The furnace and workshop is open for a tour and demonstrations.
However, the trip to get there is long, rough and dusty. Not sure if the area is in a very safe location as quite off the beaten track.
We visited with our children and not a good idea as breakable glass products everywhere, combined with the long drive made for a very stressful day out.
The products are lovely though and handmade. I would suggest to visit their shops instead to buy these, bear in mind they are fragile so not the best souvenirs!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitengelaglass, Owner at Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thanks for your visit and kind comments.
The last 3.5km of the trip is indeed bumpy and dusty, but we are aware of a contract issued to repair it within the next year, at least to good smooth dirt status. We have daily community police vehicle patrols, a local police post and administration police in our neighbouring village.
We are also revamping our toilet facilities (finally) to a deluxe level, and have recently completed a picnic/seating area.
With regard to children, we regularly host school trips without any mishaps (so far!).
By the way - the window glass we use to make our products is surprisingly strong, and we've successfully shipped all over the world. We'll be happy to 'export pack' whatever you like. Even the largest and most ornate chandeliers and tables can be dismantled for transport.
Warm regards, Anselm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    5
    2
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“So much more than I had expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This was my 6th trip to Kenya and I had never really thought about visiting the glass centre, I do not know what I had been waiting for. Here is a perfect day- lunch at Rolf's which over looks Nairobi National park- incredible views, great food and then you can walk over to the Glass factory, it is great walk (have your car meet you at the glass factory).

There is so much creativity in this place! Much more interesting than I would have thought!

We followed this with a trip to the ostrich centre for some ostrich riding :)

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Kitengela Glass”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

WOW!! Getting to the factory is a mini safari, the "road" has to be one of the worst I have ever driven on so be prepared. You are rewarded with a visit that can only be described as like being inside an artists imagination. A workshop and shop where children are actively encouranged to get up to the first floor by climbing a rope, everything is made of glass and pottery, strange shapes and colours are everywhere, it was great. If you think of the trip as part of the adventure you will have a really fun trip.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HA NOI
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Dream in Day light and fantastic views !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

We didn't know what to expect as this fantastic place doesn't figure in any "travel guide" about Nairobi day trips. It is really words by mouth, but we definitively would like to thank the friend who had oriented us to this Day Dream... Eyes wide open, we projected ourselves in this marvelous place where ART BRUT is IN side every one of us. Thanks to Nani Croze, the founder of the place, the artist who captures us in the veil of universal dreams. Thank You Nani for your genereous art and You talent to reveal the Art in our dreams... it is now a reality.
Beside this spontaneous Art, you also perceive the ecological mind of the very friendly artist community in Kitengela. I would love also staying there for a few days in the arty lodges. But our guide doesn't know much about the possibilities and the prices of the guest houses, he told us to look at the website... but the website is not updating infos about the cottages...
It such a pity that the website and the communication on this wonderful place is not that efficient... so that we can plan ahead our trip, wheteher it is for the day or longer time.
May be the intention is to let the place stay a HIDDEN GEM :-) and for You to take the pleasure of discovery !

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle WA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Inspiring and Unique”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011 via mobile

Kitengela Glass is one of the coolest art compounds I have ever seen... And I have seen many. It is also very nice to see Kenyans with such great glass blowing talents. I highly recommend going.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass also viewed

 

Been to Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anselm Kitengela Hot Glass, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.