We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accommodation, with animals and close to Nairobi” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swara Plains Acacia Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swara Plains Acacia Camp
Save
You added Swara Plains Acacia Camp to your Saves list
P.O. Box 47272 | Athi River, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable accommodation, with animals and close to Nairobi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We camped with our own stuff. The campsite was nice with water and a boiler for hot water. But we should have stayed in the bandas as they looked really lovely and since we had three meals at the lodge, were only about 1000KSH more!

The meals were very nice home cooked food and very plentiful.

The swara plains have a good range of plains game - giraffe, zebra, gazelles, hartebeest and lots of wildebeest. Cheetah are supposed to be here, but we werent lucky enough to see them. You can walk about because there are no dangerous predators, elephant of buffalo. Seeing the animals on foot is great.

The drive to the airport would be about 30 mins and it took us between 45-90 mins to drive into the centre of Nairobi.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    9
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
12
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014 via mobile

This beautiful quiet hideaway is within half an hours' drive from Nairobi, but has the feel of a remote bushcamp. Wildlife is abundant and the scenery is gorgeous.
The campsite is rustic, so no internet or electricity. But clean ablutions with hot water and lots of privacy.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauritius
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

If you want to beat the traffic and prepared to stay in a rustic setting, then this is a good choice. It is only 30 to 40 mins from the airport compared to 1 to 2 hours into town. This is a rustic setting, you are in game reserve, you get the feel of a bush camp and if you are looking for a bush camp setting then this is a good choice for you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Very basic camp. Dorms dark, in need of a bit of a pick me up. But for only $10 it's ok.
Very far out of the city, so not good for if you want to see Nairobi.
We only stayed here as it was before we left for a safari from here. There isn't much to do there apart from walk to the mall 10 mins up the road.
Food really cheap and tasty thought.

The night watchmen make a HUGE amount of noise outside the dorms all night long.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Wanting to ensure an easy trip to the airport the next morning, this is where I chose to spend my last night in Kenya, and I'm so glad I did. It's so very lovely and tranquil, snuggled in among the acacias and the lawns and gardens, the cottages are not fancy but they ARE clean, snug, cosy and contain everything you need. Staff and service are wonderfully friendly and the food is delicious.

Plains game (antelope, wildebeeste, zebra and more) are all around on the drive in from the Mombasa road, and often wander through the camp itself. If there is a draw back, it's the relative proximity of the cement factory on the Mombasa road, but I neither heard nor saw it - and didn't see its dust either.

Nairobi traffic jams are notorious and it can take hours (at any time of day or night) for the short trip to the airport. It took my taxi (organised by the lodge manageress) half an hour.
I heartily recommend this camp to anyone who wants to avoid staying in the capital city but needs to be able to get to the airport with ease - or to anyone living or working in Nairobi who simply wants to escape for a weekend.

Room Tip: I preferred a cottage reasonably close to the main dining area - simply because it wasn't so fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Acacia is set up a short drive approx 40 km from the city centre and capital Nairobi. Good fresh food by ala carte with prior arrangement and order. Good for at most one night out and not more. Electrical power goes off quite early so fathom a candle lit evening if you afe a late sleeper. Very customized to your liking. More fun if in a party otherwise may be boring. Dont expect much game on the game drive. Staff are fantastic and helpful. Price- very good.

Room Tip: Any room can be customised for the pax
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Decided to have one night out of Nairobi. Arrived after lunch and were greeted by very friendly staff who made sure we were settled. Before the end of the day there was time for a quick trek around the plains spotting a few animals on the way. Dinner was a wonderful surprise and tasted delicious! Patrick kept service fantastic and always with a smile. We retreated to a nice warm campfire at the end of the day.
Waking up early the next morning for another walk, we chanced across a few giraffe and eland before heading back for a taste and breakfast at the time of our choosing. Before lunch we decided to go on a game drive this time: we saw everything that I believe you could on the Swara plains! Head towards the polo ground if you get a chance - you won't be disappointed! We were so lucky that we even chanced across 2 cheetah! This is rare so we were very very lucky. All in all a fantastic trip with outstanding food and service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Swara Plains Acacia Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swara Plains Acacia Camp

Address: P.O. Box 47272 | Athi River, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acacia Camp - Swara Plains is situated on a 20,000 acre ranch, teaming with plains game - only 35 kms from Nairobi city centre, with very easy access to Jomo Kenyatta International airport. It'is a rustic camp, consisting of 13 wooden banda's and delicious food! Ideal for game walks/drives, bird watching, biking, fishing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swara Plains Acacia Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swara Plains Acacia Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.