We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great weekend getaway from Nairobi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Swara Plains Acacia Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Swara Plains Acacia Camp
P.O. Box 47272 | Athi River, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 90 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great weekend getaway from Nairobi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here one night to get away from Nairobi and it was absolutely fantastic!!! I can't wait to go back. We went for several walks and saw gazelles, giraffes, ostriches, and all different types of birds. The staff were really great- friendly, relaxed and not over-attentive. The little huts/ rooms were great. The food was delicious and they catered well to vegetarians. The only trouble we had was that they didn't have any rooms with a double bed available- despite the fact it seemed we were the only couple there.
If you want to get out of Nairobi, or if you have a night or two to kill in Nairobi, come to this place. It's a perfect place to relax and enjoy nature. It's also very reasonably priced with full-board, especially compared to so many over-priced, not that great places in Kenya.
When travelling down Mombasa road, the turnoff is at "Kahama hotel".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    7
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
10
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My girlfriend and I were looking for a place to stay not in Nairobi itself but a shortish drive form Nairobi and chanced upon this absolute gem of a camp. It's perfect for a few days away from the madness of Nairobi or if you are looking for comfort and convenience within easy access of the airport but still in the wilds so to speak.

We were greeted by the extremely friendly and attentive staff on the first day and taken to our lovely cottage. The food was simple but really tasty and, frankly, by far and away the best food we had whilst in Africa beating all the four and five star hotels we had stayed in. Nothing fancy but everything perfectly cooked - three gorgeous meals a day with the beef an outstanding example of how to cook meat to perfection. The snapper fish was delicate, yet powerful on the palate and cooked how fish is supposed to be cooked. How strange we thought that this camp did the best food we had on our entire trip to Africa - and hungry we never were with a large buffet meal every night. Indeed we bumped into people who come to the Camp at weekends specifically for the food - it is that good and tasty.

The camp was lovely and peaceful at night and the owner has two dogs which are playful and docile - and enjoy chasing the monkeys! We went on a walk around the large private ranch which the camp is based on our second day by ourselves and found ostrich and Wildebeest, baboons and secretary birds. We also saw a Giraffe. We have read in another review that the dogs bark at night - this is not our experience at all.

There is snug too with a TV and the bar is run by a very friendly and pleasant man called Michael who like the rest of the staff is genuinely happy to help guests. The camp also arranged a sensible and safe driver to take us to the airport on our last night.

We are sad in a way to write this review - we feel like we are giving away our little secret(!) but Acacia Camp was the very nicest place we stayed at whilst we were in Africa. Family run, cosy, friendly, value for money and great for a little independent safari on the back of a long trip we will be back.

Julian Hunt

Barrister

London

June 2012

Room Tip: We had the family bungalow which was huge with doors opening onto the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

friendly welcome, although a slight mix up with the rooms to start off with. if you are after a basic, no frills accommodation then perhaps this one is for you. Prices have gone up ( then I guess they have everywhere in Kenya over the past year) and I'm not sure that I would still call it value for money.
There is a definite charm about it (after you recover from driving on the Mombasa road) and I would rather stay somewhere like this if I wanted to say somewhere convenient to the airport.
Read some older reviews which complained about the owners dogs, yes they were here there and every where but they were fine. +no barking through out the night as others have reported.

Other guests I spoke to where every enthusiastic, so this will appeal to some.

If you want luxury go some where else, but if it's basic frills then perhaps this is your sort of place.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2012

This place needs to be known better. The food is superb! The staff, friendly and responsive. The setting is very relaxed and beautiful. The value for money is top.

Room Tip: I've never stayed here. Only eaten here many times (close to our home). They have 12 bungalows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2011

We were looking to stay outside Nairobi but within easy reach of the airport for the final few days of our Kenya trip. We found this camp on the internet and despite the fact that none of our friends in Nairobi had heard of it,we decided to give it a go.
Once we got off the main road between Nairobi and Mombasa, we passed a huge cement work on our way to the Swara main gate. This was not the best of starts. However, when we arrived in the camp we were greeted by Patrick with a warm welcome. We were directed to the largest of the 13 little cottages right at the end of the row. As it turned out we were the only guests and had therefore been given the family cottage. Large windows looked out into the bush. The cottage was spacious and had everything you need. It was all very basic but clean and quiet. For lunch we were served three courses where the first one would have been enough. The chef, Anton, cooked us delicious food meal after meal. My boyfriend is vegetarian and Anton delivered a different, tasty option for him every time. After only one lunch and one dinner, we realised we would be leaving weighing twice as much as we did on arrival. Excellent food!
It is possible to go on game drives here as well but because we had done this for the previous two weeks, we were happy to just read, sleep, eat and go for walks. This is something you do not normally get to do in safari camps. However, Swara is on a cattle ranch and since they do not have large carnivores, we were allowed to walk around by ourselves. This way we got to see things you don't normally stop for on a game drive. Amazing insects, little birds, burrows of porcupines, warthogs and others. We found skulls and whole skeletons, but also a tree with 15 vultures. We did manage to get within 20 metres of a group of giraffe.
Back at the camp the two lovely dogs of the manageress kept us company most of the time. A water hole at the end of the garden attracts wildlife in and is a great place to view. Unfortunately, the two dogs very often took great pleasure in running up to the wildlife and barking loudly. This was amusing but also slightly annoying. During the first night the dogs decided to lie outside our cottage (as their owner was away, the dogs staied in the camp overnight). We first became aware of this when they sarted barking at some creatures they could hear or see in the woods. This carried on all night and we were woken again and again, every time close to a heart attack as the dogs were literally metres away from our bed.

The whole place could do with a bit ot TLC and a lot more attention to detail. For us it did exactly what we needed it to do, but the place has potential to be a lot better. The staff are fantastic. They are knowledgeable, helpful, fun and always happy to do anything you ask for. Thank you Patric and Anton in particular.
On our last evening we were picked up at 20.30 , arrived at the airport 30 minutes later and went on our late night flight home. Even if you are just looking for a first or last night hotel this is much better than any airport hotel could be.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011 via mobile

The staff are excellent. Rooms though basic are nice, clean and rustic. Great value.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

If you are looking for somewhere to stay near Nairobi and want to avoid a characterless hotel, then Swara Plains Acacia Camp is well worth it. Raine, who manages the place, is very helpful and the staff are extremely friendly. My late night pickup from the airport (a bit expensive at 40$, but it's hard for taxis to find this place) went without a hitch. The small thatched houses are basic but comfortable and the only noise that may keep you awake are the bushbabies calling in the trees. Meals are served on a covered terrace wih a lovely view of the gardens. Food is excellent. I am vegetarian and they were happy to cook specially for me. The two dogs are happy to keep you company while you eat and only leave your side to chase off the monkeys that tease them from the roof. The main attraction is the wildlife and the fact that you can experience it on foot (unlike in most national parks). A short walk from the camp I saw giraffes grazing, a little further on zebra, wildebeest, gazelles, eland, impala, ostrich and warthog. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Swara Plains Acacia Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Swara Plains Acacia Camp

Address: P.O. Box 47272 | Athi River, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 90 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Acacia Camp - Swara Plains is situated on a 20,000 acre ranch, teaming with plains game - only 35 kms from Nairobi city centre, with very easy access to Jomo Kenyatta International airport. It'is a rustic camp, consisting of 13 wooden banda's and delicious food! Ideal for game walks/drives, bird watching, biking, fishing. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Swara Plains Acacia Camp Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Swara Plains Acacia Camp, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Swara Plains Acacia Camp to your Saves list