We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable convenient and reliable lodging” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gracehouse Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gracehouse Resort
Ring Road, next to Yaya Center | Kilimani, Nairobi 2010, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Affordable convenient and reliable lodging”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Our group has used Gracehouse for many years and have always been treated well. Rooms are ample and attached to public sitting rooms. Breakfast is fine. Front desk service is thoughtful and caring. Nairobi is expensive lodging so singles are 80USD but growing YaYa center is 3 minutes walk with decent eateries (oddly clumped into Ya Ya Center reviews by TA), good book and grocery stores and DHL if you need to send/receive. Don't hesitate, its where I took refuge after Sunstar!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
1
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Djibouti, Djibouti
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Wow!!!! This is the best hotel I can say under the budget. The hotel is very accommodative, very well secure, very friendly reception, prompt action by staff, good breakfast, free evening tea and snacks. In addition al the above, a minute walk to a shopping mall which is Yaya Center just behind the hotel. What more you want?

Room Tip: Just be friendly with everyone. A smile that communicates a lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

It has a very homely feeling. A sitting area for every 3-4 rooms. Offer good snacks throughout the day. Being a Jain I was specially offered eggless vegetarian food. The rooms were also clean and spacious. The washrooms were small but smartly built. Overall I would definitely recommend this!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

I stayed at Gracehouse Resort during my most recent stay in Nairobi. It was a good place to be.

At first glance, it's not much to look at. It's certainly not fancy. The room was quite basic and the taps didn't all work in the bathroom, but that's not what was most important : the people. Mary, who was the "maid" introduced herself the first day, and made a point to thank me for coming to stay. She was always extremely nice - and very efficient at cleaning up the room.

The YaYa Shopping Center is next door - literally - and I was able to get a quick bite to eat there on nights when my business colleagues were busy. There's a short cut that makes it very convenient.

It was also very close to the place I was holding my meetings - 5 minutes by car (barring traffic which was horrid one day and nonexistent the next)

Room Tip: There is no lift, so if you are handicapped be sure to tell the staff before they give you a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the hotels where, the moment you are shown to your room by an unfriendly reception. you think, "Oh gosh, I want to get out of here", but then you are too tired to make a fuss or look for altrrnative.

My room was old, dark and damp, mosquito net didn't close properly, and it was too far away to get internet connection.

Aside from the unfriendly reception, other staff are nice and helpful, and that's one of the two things I can say positively about this place in addition to the location being close to Yaya shopping center.

It's a well located dump, but a dump nonetheless. I think you can find a better place nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Not a fancy hotel -- but the staff was helpful, the breakfast was comparable to the fancier hotels -- and needing to do some shopping at YaYa Center -- the location could not have been better. There is a nice little sitting area outside the sets of rooms -- which provides extra space if sharing a room.

Room Tip: Without an elevator and just a one night stay -- it was good to have a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

As an american professional who travels a lot internationally I have stayed in a lot of guest houses and hotels - and am pleased to say Gracehouse has the nicest staff out of anywhere I have EVER stayed. The reception and restaurant staff are incredibly kind and attentive - making me feel very much at home. There is a great breakfast buffet, clean rooms and fast internet. Its also right next door to the Yaya center with all the shops, grocery store and restaurants you could want. I will definitely stay here again and look forward to it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gracehouse Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gracehouse Resort

Address: Ring Road, next to Yaya Center | Kilimani, Nairobi 2010, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Also Known As:
Gracehouse Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gracehouse Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gracehouse Resort to your Saves list