We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There are better places” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Gracehouse Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gracehouse Resort
Save
You added Gracehouse Resort to your Saves list
Ring Road, next to Yaya Center | Kilimani, Nairobi 2010, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 182 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“There are better places”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the hotels where, the moment you are shown to your room by an unfriendly reception. you think, "Oh gosh, I want to get out of here", but then you are too tired to make a fuss or look for altrrnative.

My room was old, dark and damp, mosquito net didn't close properly, and it was too far away to get internet connection.

Aside from the unfriendly reception, other staff are nice and helpful, and that's one of the two things I can say positively about this place in addition to the location being close to Yaya shopping center.

It's a well located dump, but a dump nonetheless. I think you can find a better place nearby.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    21
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
1
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Khartoum
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Not a fancy hotel -- but the staff was helpful, the breakfast was comparable to the fancier hotels -- and needing to do some shopping at YaYa Center -- the location could not have been better. There is a nice little sitting area outside the sets of rooms -- which provides extra space if sharing a room.

Room Tip: Without an elevator and just a one night stay -- it was good to have a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

As an american professional who travels a lot internationally I have stayed in a lot of guest houses and hotels - and am pleased to say Gracehouse has the nicest staff out of anywhere I have EVER stayed. The reception and restaurant staff are incredibly kind and attentive - making me feel very much at home. There is a great breakfast buffet, clean rooms and fast internet. Its also right next door to the Yaya center with all the shops, grocery store and restaurants you could want. I will definitely stay here again and look forward to it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 days from 15th April 2013. The hotel is serene. Cool. Plenty of plants and flowers all over. The rooms are extra spacious and very comfortable and equipped with hot showers, free fast wifi connection and TVs among other things. The entire staff is friendly and very welcoming and you really feel at home. I assumed the hotel does not sell alcohol as I didn't see any bar within the compound, though I was so occupied to even bother asking. I greatly enjoyed my stay here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
at sea
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

we were booked into this hotel by our volunteer services organization and at first we thought that we had been booked into something that was above their normal standards...but we realized that the value of Gracehouse is its staff. The room we had was very large, with an ensuite, TV and a unique mozzie net installation. In our case, breakfast and dinner were included and we found the menu to be typically african. After our 30 day stay there, we did get tired of the same choices, but the food was consistent, plentiful and good. One thing we did love was the 4pm afternoon tea and coffee available for guests free. We did not need air con, due to the wonderful highland climate of Nairobi.
The staff are the best asset this property has. Everyone from the porter to the chefs to the front staff, to the waiters etc wanted to work with a smile. The day we asked about swimming, we were sent just down the road to their other hotel and upon arrival, we were shown our chaise and towels all ready for a dip in the pool.....this is good value for money and the proximity of the ya ya shopping centre right next door makes it an ideal spot to use as a base while you explore the capital of Kenya.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back building to be away from the busy road out front...but all rooms are good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

But they sent me a little ways down the road to Gracia Guesthouse. It was a nice simple room, with a few options for tv, and an english breakfast included in the price. Nice for a quick trip to Nairobi either before a longer trip or for business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great value, superb staff and service - they really couldn't be any more welcoming and helpful, all set in really attractive gardens and with excellent patio areas/tables in the shade - this wee guest house/hotel is definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Lots of road works at the moment - try and get a room to the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
The Ndemi Place
#26 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Nairobi
Upper Hill Estate
Meltonia Luxury Suites
Meltonia Luxury Suites
#32 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Yaya Hotel & Apartments
#72 of 129 in Nairobi
3.5 of 5 stars 2 reviews
Upper Hill Estate
The Monarch Hotel
The Monarch Hotel
#31 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 15 reviews
Hibiscus Guest House
#19 of 182 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gracehouse Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gracehouse Resort

Address: Ring Road, next to Yaya Center | Kilimani, Nairobi 2010, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Gracehouse Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gracehouse Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.