We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Place of peace in a crazy city” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gracehouse Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gracehouse Resort
Save Saved
You added Gracehouse Resort to your Saves list
Ring Road, next to Yaya Center | Kilimani, Nairobi 2010, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 158 Nairobi B&B and Inns
at sea
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Place of peace in a crazy city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

we were booked into this hotel by our volunteer services organization and at first we thought that we had been booked into something that was above their normal standards...but we realized that the value of Gracehouse is its staff. The room we had was very large, with an ensuite, TV and a unique mozzie net installation. In our case, breakfast and dinner were included and we found the menu to be typically african. After our 30 day stay there, we did get tired of the same choices, but the food was consistent, plentiful and good. One thing we did love was the 4pm afternoon tea and coffee available for guests free. We did not need air con, due to the wonderful highland climate of Nairobi.
The staff are the best asset this property has. Everyone from the porter to the chefs to the front staff, to the waiters etc wanted to work with a smile. The day we asked about swimming, we were sent just down the road to their other hotel and upon arrival, we were shown our chaise and towels all ready for a dip in the pool.....this is good value for money and the proximity of the ya ya shopping centre right next door makes it an ideal spot to use as a base while you explore the capital of Kenya.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back building to be away from the busy road out front...but all rooms are good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
1
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

But they sent me a little ways down the road to Gracia Guesthouse. It was a nice simple room, with a few options for tv, and an english breakfast included in the price. Nice for a quick trip to Nairobi either before a longer trip or for business.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Great value, superb staff and service - they really couldn't be any more welcoming and helpful, all set in really attractive gardens and with excellent patio areas/tables in the shade - this wee guest house/hotel is definitely worth a visit.

Room Tip: Lots of road works at the moment - try and get a room to the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antananarivo, Madagascar
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I was many times in this Guesthouse and always enjoyed my stay, due mainly to the friendly staff there. Their rooms are clean with private seating room in every floor. Wifi internet is working well and coffee break is always offered for free at 10:00 and 4:00, a relaxing time to conect with the other guest. Food is served in the open air restaurant in a very friendly feeling. The most of this Hotel is it proximity with the famous Yaya Center, you just exit on a special gate in the back and you are 3 minutes walking distance of the shopping mall. The only cons is that they do not have AC in rooms but you can still ask for a standing fun.

Room Tip: Rooms in Block B is more quiet than those in Block A.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

"Y go anywhere else?" is the marketing pitch for the YaYa Centre, the shopping mall next door to the Gracehouse Resort, but it could just as well apply to the Gracehouse itself. Forget the name - it has very few of the amenities that you would expect from a resort - but instead, enjoy it as representing the best value hotel accommodation in Nairobi. The staff are, without exception, friendly, hospitable and unfailingly helpful. The location is great.The breakfast is excellent. Rooms are comfortable. And it only costs 6,000 shillings per night. I always stay there - if I am lucky enough to find it less than fully booked.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I have been to many such guest houses in and around Kenya and for sure this guys do it differently.Their services delivery is what i find most appealing with a very professional not to mention kind staff some of whom i have come to know personally. I find that in other places the staff is uptight and withheld which is not so good for my taste. The food is great but if you prefer you can always rush to yaya center which is just next door.Free WiFi, great food, convenient location ,what else could you ask for.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have stayed at grace house now 7 times, with work and once with my family. They have a good variety of doubles, and even some triples at reasonable prices. Some of the rooms facing the main road (currently being widened) can be a little noisy on Friday and Saturdays (Hongs night spot opposite), but it is rarely excessive. On the plus side, there is free internet, complementary tea and coffee in the afternoons, a relaxed atmosphere, very helpful staff, its safe and clean. What more would you need. 100 metres to Yaya shopping centre makes life very easy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gracehouse Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gracehouse Resort

Address: Ring Road, next to Yaya Center | Kilimani, Nairobi 2010, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 158 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Gracehouse Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gracehouse Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.