We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great services at a great burgain” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gracehouse Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Gracehouse Resort
Save Saved
You added Gracehouse Resort to your Saves list
Ring Road, next to Yaya Center | Kilimani, Nairobi 2010, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 157 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Nairobi
1 review
“Great services at a great burgain”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

I have been to many such guest houses in and around Kenya and for sure this guys do it differently.Their services delivery is what i find most appealing with a very professional not to mention kind staff some of whom i have come to know personally. I find that in other places the staff is uptight and withheld which is not so good for my taste. The food is great but if you prefer you can always rush to yaya center which is just next door.Free WiFi, great food, convenient location ,what else could you ask for.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    18
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
1
4
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, UK
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

I have stayed at grace house now 7 times, with work and once with my family. They have a good variety of doubles, and even some triples at reasonable prices. Some of the rooms facing the main road (currently being widened) can be a little noisy on Friday and Saturdays (Hongs night spot opposite), but it is rarely excessive. On the plus side, there is free internet, complementary tea and coffee in the afternoons, a relaxed atmosphere, very helpful staff, its safe and clean. What more would you need. 100 metres to Yaya shopping centre makes life very easy.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

My family has been going to grace house since 2005. The beauty is grace house is evident in the facility, the food, the wonderful trees and outdoor seating. However, the most beautiful thing at grace house is the staff. The manager, Margaret, has become a friend and is so good at hiring top quality staff. You will always have a clean room that has been kept tidy and you never need worry about your personal items. If you have valuables, there are safes at the front desk that the staff are more than happy to assign to you. This leads me to the amazing customer service. On this last trip we brought our 4 yr old son and each staff person treated him like their own. It was a joy to watch him interact with our good friends at Gracehouse.

Typically when we travel to Gracehouse in Nairobi we are with a group from A university in Texas of approximately 100 students. The staff not only has the ability to accomodate and feed them all with quality food and drink, but each participant on our trip feels just as cared for as I have expressed here.

If you are looking for a quality hotel with a caring staff that will not try to overcharge you, you should visit the Gracehouse. It also doesn't hurt that a large mall is walking distance next door to the hotel for any needs you may have. (by the way, I needed a scratch card for phone on two separate occasions during the night and one of the security guards went outside the facility and purchased them for me). Again, customer service is the key here. You will love Fred who is a chief over the staff, Ben, the head chef, and especially Margaret, the manager and owner.

I cannot wait to go back for my next visit!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The Gracehouse Resort is a clean and safe hotel that is great for a family or group travelling together. If you are expecting 'resort' to mean what it does in the west then you will be disappointed as it doesn't have a swimming pool there or less any of the other features you may be imagining. In their place it has a number of things really going for it:
1. It serves great buffet meals that have a variety of meats, salads and vegetables dishes as well as fruits and some dessert options. In the mornings your omelettes are individually made along with pancakes and waffles.
2. Easy access to a large shopping centre including money exchange (good rate at upstairs Forex),supermarket and nice coffee shop area with breads and cakes.
3. Rooms are clean though as others have mentioned the showers are a little difficult to deal with - just ask for help as they staff are really obliging.
4. Free wi fi available throughout the hotel including the bedrooms which makes it easy to access internet etc from your room without having to go to a central area.
Aside from this, there is access to small individual safes downstairs for safekeeping of items and the place feels very secure with a night reception and guards. If you are traveling to or from the airport then the hotel can assist with a set price of 2000 Kenyan shillings (about US$25).

Room Tip: Only stayed once so not relevant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I've stayed at Gracehouse twice now, 5 years apart. I was impressed my first stay by the wonderful and gracious hospitality of the staff, which was just as wonderful during my most recent stay. They have since done some remodeling to the dining room (a very pleasant open air covered room) and added free wifi throughout the facility, a nice bonus (and not a guarantee everywhere in Nairobi). I was pleasantly surprised to even encounter some of the same staff this time around that were there 5 years ago, so I think that says something positive about the way it is managed. The rooms are comfortable, with spacious common areas on each floor, and are thoroughly cleaned everyday by courteous and helpful staff. The bathrooms are simply adequate, but better than many/most in other parts of Africa (unless you're staying at a 5 star resort and paying a lot more). The food served in the dining room is delicious, but you can't beat the convenience of being next door to the Yaya Center Mall with great restaurants as well as just about everything else you might need - groceries, hardware, clothing, banks, and many specialty shops. And the Sunday souvenir market in the Yaya parking lot is awesome. Mostly I love sitting in the shade of the Gracehouse garden having tea or a soda and chatting up the wonderful staff. I would definitely stay here again next time I'm in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the busy street as there can be some noise from businesses across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed at the Gracehouse Resort in Feb 2012. The facilities are adequate but I would encourage the management to look at the showers. Not the best.
We were very happy with the meals and the service. Overall impression was good and the ability to walk to the Yaya centre was an added bonus.
The rooms are clean and this makes an ideal stop over prior to embarking or returning from a safari.
When we returned to Nairobi, Gracehouse was over booked so we were relocated to the Annexe. Too be honest I found this even better as we required just a one night stop prior to departing from Nairobi.

Room Tip: Good Value and having Yaya next door is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

The Gracehouse company has sites in three locations: I stayed at the Gracehouse ANNEXE, a little out of town, but a quiet haven in the chaos of Nairobi...

I was in Kenya for work, and spent a couple of weeks at this place. Its at the end of a quiet road, about 20 minutes (without traffic jams) away from the main Gracehouse Resort. Its a smallish building, with friendly staff and rooms in reasonable condition, backing onto a garden.

There are a few things to bear in mind. As of December 2011, there is a lot of building work on surrounding land, which can be VERY noisy most days. Internet failure and power cuts were regular (at least once a day), though I suspect this is a Kenyan problem, rather than with this particular hotel.

Also, the location is fine (peaceful), though requires a taxi to get ANYWHERE (the hotel will arrange this for you), and cost to downtown Nairobi will be around 1000KES one-way (around 11USD). I'd advise asking your driver to wait, or come back at a prearranged time (take the driver's cell phone number too!).

I'd stay here again - though once they did run out of beer...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gracehouse Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gracehouse Resort

Address: Ring Road, next to Yaya Center | Kilimani, Nairobi 2010, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 45
Also Known As:
Gracehouse Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gracehouse Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;