We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Low key hotel that offers a lot of benefits” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gracehouse Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gracehouse Resort
Ring Road, next to Yaya Center | Kilimani, Nairobi 2010, Kenya (Nairobi Central Business District)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 154 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Perth
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Low key hotel that offers a lot of benefits”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

The Gracehouse Resort is a clean and safe hotel that is great for a family or group travelling together. If you are expecting 'resort' to mean what it does in the west then you will be disappointed as it doesn't have a swimming pool there or less any of the other features you may be imagining. In their place it has a number of things really going for it:
1. It serves great buffet meals that have a variety of meats, salads and vegetables dishes as well as fruits and some dessert options. In the mornings your omelettes are individually made along with pancakes and waffles.
2. Easy access to a large shopping centre including money exchange (good rate at upstairs Forex),supermarket and nice coffee shop area with breads and cakes.
3. Rooms are clean though as others have mentioned the showers are a little difficult to deal with - just ask for help as they staff are really obliging.
4. Free wi fi available throughout the hotel including the bedrooms which makes it easy to access internet etc from your room without having to go to a central area.
Aside from this, there is access to small individual safes downstairs for safekeeping of items and the place feels very secure with a night reception and guards. If you are traveling to or from the airport then the hotel can assist with a set price of 2000 Kenyan shillings (about US$25).

Room Tip: Only stayed once so not relevant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    17
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
1
2
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
seattle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

I've stayed at Gracehouse twice now, 5 years apart. I was impressed my first stay by the wonderful and gracious hospitality of the staff, which was just as wonderful during my most recent stay. They have since done some remodeling to the dining room (a very pleasant open air covered room) and added free wifi throughout the facility, a nice bonus (and not a guarantee everywhere in Nairobi). I was pleasantly surprised to even encounter some of the same staff this time around that were there 5 years ago, so I think that says something positive about the way it is managed. The rooms are comfortable, with spacious common areas on each floor, and are thoroughly cleaned everyday by courteous and helpful staff. The bathrooms are simply adequate, but better than many/most in other parts of Africa (unless you're staying at a 5 star resort and paying a lot more). The food served in the dining room is delicious, but you can't beat the convenience of being next door to the Yaya Center Mall with great restaurants as well as just about everything else you might need - groceries, hardware, clothing, banks, and many specialty shops. And the Sunday souvenir market in the Yaya parking lot is awesome. Mostly I love sitting in the shade of the Gracehouse garden having tea or a soda and chatting up the wonderful staff. I would definitely stay here again next time I'm in Nairobi.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not facing the busy street as there can be some noise from businesses across...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stayed at the Gracehouse Resort in Feb 2012. The facilities are adequate but I would encourage the management to look at the showers. Not the best.
We were very happy with the meals and the service. Overall impression was good and the ability to walk to the Yaya centre was an added bonus.
The rooms are clean and this makes an ideal stop over prior to embarking or returning from a safari.
When we returned to Nairobi, Gracehouse was over booked so we were relocated to the Annexe. Too be honest I found this even better as we required just a one night stop prior to departing from Nairobi.

Room Tip: Good Value and having Yaya next door is a bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

The Gracehouse company has sites in three locations: I stayed at the Gracehouse ANNEXE, a little out of town, but a quiet haven in the chaos of Nairobi...

I was in Kenya for work, and spent a couple of weeks at this place. Its at the end of a quiet road, about 20 minutes (without traffic jams) away from the main Gracehouse Resort. Its a smallish building, with friendly staff and rooms in reasonable condition, backing onto a garden.

There are a few things to bear in mind. As of December 2011, there is a lot of building work on surrounding land, which can be VERY noisy most days. Internet failure and power cuts were regular (at least once a day), though I suspect this is a Kenyan problem, rather than with this particular hotel.

Also, the location is fine (peaceful), though requires a taxi to get ANYWHERE (the hotel will arrange this for you), and cost to downtown Nairobi will be around 1000KES one-way (around 11USD). I'd advise asking your driver to wait, or come back at a prearranged time (take the driver's cell phone number too!).

I'd stay here again - though once they did run out of beer...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Mozambique
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

I have been working for Kenya for almost two months and stay at the Grace House whenever I am in Nairobi. Not only are the staff friendly and helpful, but there is a lovely garden and wireless internet throughout the hotel. It's also next door to the Ya Ya Centre, which has a supermarket, post office and some nice restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

For the price of the Gracehouse Resort it's good value for money.
This is the second time I've stayed here and it's always clean, great friendly staff and right next door to the Yaya centre which means good food and Awesome Coffee at Java Coffee House.
If you are looking for a 5 star resort, this isn't it but neither is the price. The resort is really comfortable and feels very safe.
Free wireless internet and the breakfast is good.
I'd recommend it - great value for money
Has a small lounge area with about 5 rooms connecting off it so is good if there are a number of you travelling together but not sharing the same room.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskoka District, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2011

I stayed here 3 nights total in November of 2010 and while I was very nervous being a young blonde female in Nairobi, this hotel made me feel completely safe. I got a good sleep every night I stayed here, and the breakfasts were included and delicious (omlettes, potatoes, tomatoes, fresh fruit, beans, toast, coffee, tea, juice). This hotel was perfect. It may not have been a spa, but I had a great time, the people were wonderful, the rooms were clean and spacious enough for short stays!! I would highly reccommend this hotel!

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gracehouse Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gracehouse Resort

Address: Ring Road, next to Yaya Center | Kilimani, Nairobi 2010, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi > Nairobi Central Business District
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Also Known As:
Gracehouse Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gracehouse Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Gracehouse Resort to your Saves list