We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, very friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hibiscus Guest House to your Saves list
Hibiscus Guest House
195 Kirichwa Road | P.O. Box 47663, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 182 Nairobi B&B and Inns
1 review
“Good location, very friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The property is very nice, the rooms are a bit basic but spacious and comfortable. The staff were all very friendly and willing to go out of their way to help you. Location is quite convenient as well.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    24
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
10
10
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Located in a safe neighbourhood, not too far from the city center and tourist attractions. The rooms are basic, but clean and comfortable and they are reasonably priced.

The staff is very friendly and protective, after dark they even walk you to the restaurant on the other side of the street.

We came back here there times during our trip through Kenya.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kigali, Rwanda
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in Hibiscus Guest House with our one-year-old son. The room and ensuite bathroom were no great luxury, but they were spacious and the garden is a nice place to relax. The service was very friendly, one of the staff accompanied us all the way to the nearest mall. They also helped us in booking a daytrip to Nairobi National park, the Elephant Orphanage and the Giraffe Center, which was a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

The people at Hibiscus really make this a place worth staying at. This was my first time traveling to Nairobi and Africa in general and I came in with some of the usual concerns. They turned out to be unjustified as Hibiscus really became a second home. I had breakfast and dinner everyday and the meals were filling and varied (especially dinner) and the kitchen staff (Sos, Joseph and Hillary) were tremendous. I used to look forward to going back after a long day because I knew I could expect great company. You get a spectrum of visitors - families, couples, students, missionaries, business people, academics - so there is something for everyone.

Phillis was a great help organising taxis or even helping me set up a phone connection or changing money. One of the owners, David, even organised a trip to Mt Kilimanjaro and drove me there personally. The rooms are good and the location allows easy access to a number of malls where you can purchase your essentials and food. But it really does come down to the people and if you're looking for a place to put your mind at ease where you have reliable people to take care of you then this is it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed there with the rest of our family in January 2014. It was a nice little oasis in the middle of a not-so-nice city. While the rooms weren't the most amazing thing, the people working there made the trip awesome. They went above and beyond multiple times to help my family and I out. They made us reservations (at super-discounted Kenyan prices) and organized our whole entire time in Nairobi including drivers, places to go, and things to see.

I was very happy about staying there and would recommend it to everyone else looking for a mid-range place to stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexisanderson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The staff made our stay. Every single person who works at Hibiscus is kind, friendly and extremely thoughtful. They went above-and-beyond on several occasions -- from helping find drivers for last-minute full-day excursions, to helping my sister and brother-in-law plan a four-day side trip.

The garden is lovely -- a great place to sit outside and read for a bit.

The rooms are average. They don't inspire long stays, but Nairobi doesn't really do that either :)

The neighborhood has a few nice things nearby -- a sushi restaurant (surprisingly great!) and an Ethiopian restaurant a few blocks away. Avoid the restaurant across the street. It's gross.

For the price, this was an incredible value. Big bonus for the great staff. We'd absolutely stay there again simply for their kindness.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house seem to be a bit larger than the satellite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Degeberga, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Nice and friendly, really helpfull staff. Nice location with a beautiful garden away from heavy traffic.Good breakfast with pancaces! You need taxi to go to the citycenter, the staff will help you to order, around 500 shilling one way. They will also pick you uo at the airport if you want.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
Meridian Hotel
#16 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 55 reviews
The Boma Nairobi
#3 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
The Ndemi Place
#25 of 129 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Progressive Park Hotel
#19 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Khweza Bed & Breakfast
#29 of 182 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Nairobi Central Business District
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
Kahama Hotel Nairobi
#15 of 182 in Nairobi
4.0 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hibiscus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Guest House

Address: 195 Kirichwa Road | P.O. Box 47663, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 182 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Guest House is a comfortable and refreshing place offering the business,leisure and family traveler all contemporary comforts at an affordable rate. We are located in a serene neighborhood near Yaya Centre, Prestige Plaza, Junction Mall, Java House and many more. Rooms are clean, fresh and comfortable with unique aesthetic appeal specifically designed for guest comfort. We have family room with connecting door. We have 24hr security, electronic safes in the rooms. There is one large beautiful room that can host a group of between 4-6 traveling together at a discounted rate and with shared bath. The place is ideal for guests looking for a quiet environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Hibiscus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.