We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The proprietors are fantastic!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Guest House

Save Saved
You added Hibiscus Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hibiscus Guest House
195 Kirichwa Road | P.O. Box 47663, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 156 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The proprietors are fantastic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed there with the rest of our family in January 2014. It was a nice little oasis in the middle of a not-so-nice city. While the rooms weren't the most amazing thing, the people working there made the trip awesome. They went above and beyond multiple times to help my family and I out. They made us reservations (at super-discounted Kenyan prices) and organized our whole entire time in Nairobi including drivers, places to go, and things to see.

I was very happy about staying there and would recommend it to everyone else looking for a mid-range place to stay in Nairobi.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
9
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
alexisanderson
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

The staff made our stay. Every single person who works at Hibiscus is kind, friendly and extremely thoughtful. They went above-and-beyond on several occasions -- from helping find drivers for last-minute full-day excursions, to helping my sister and brother-in-law plan a four-day side trip.

The garden is lovely -- a great place to sit outside and read for a bit.

The rooms are average. They don't inspire long stays, but Nairobi doesn't really do that either :)

The neighborhood has a few nice things nearby -- a sushi restaurant (surprisingly great!) and an Ethiopian restaurant a few blocks away. Avoid the restaurant across the street. It's gross.

For the price, this was an incredible value. Big bonus for the great staff. We'd absolutely stay there again simply for their kindness.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house seem to be a bit larger than the satellite rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Degeberga, Sweden
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Nice and friendly, really helpfull staff. Nice location with a beautiful garden away from heavy traffic.Good breakfast with pancaces! You need taxi to go to the citycenter, the staff will help you to order, around 500 shilling one way. They will also pick you uo at the airport if you want.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Don't have any big complaints about this place but can't say its great either. The rooms are alright but don't inspire any long stays, you can hear whole conversations from the neighbors. The common area is a bit cold and besides having breakfast there, which was decent, never felt like staying. Seems more like a place for a little business retreat. Positive things are its location which though not in the center is close to a main mall and not too close to a busy street and noise. Has a garden but again lacked something that made you want to hang out there. Would recommend it however for short stay and on lower budget. Staff friendly enough but takes a while to find one.

Room Tip: There are some higher budget rooms but only a few so book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff. En suite room was large and clean. My only complaint was that the garden was disappointing -it lacked character and interest in a country where beautiful flowers grow rapidly.


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I had a great stay - lovely friendly staff, some great taxi-drivers! I would recommend that you ask for rooms INSIDE the house - slightly better appointed rooms and fast internet!

Thanks, Hibiscus Guesthouse!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Situated in a quiet neighborhood, the Hibiscus is a wonderful home away from home. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The wi-fi works, the shower is hot, and the food is delicious. The staff is helpful and accommodating. I was served Chai when I requested it, and my comfort was given every consideration. I have given the guest house 5 stars, not because it is palatial, but you get more than you pay for. David Njau, the husband of the owner is an excellent resource as well. He has his own tour service and will get you anywhere you want on time for a reasonable amount. That is priceless in Nairobi!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a TV and private bath so request one if you want it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hibiscus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Guest House

Address: 195 Kirichwa Road | P.O. Box 47663, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Guest House is a comfortable and refreshing place offering the business,leisure and family traveler all contemporary comforts at an affordable rate. We are located in a serene neighborhood near Yaya Centre, Prestige Plaza, Junction Mall, Java House and many more. Rooms are clean, fresh and comfortable with unique aesthetic appeal specifically designed for guest comfort. We have family room with connecting door. We have 24hr security, electronic safes in the rooms. There is one large beautiful room that can host a group of between 4-6 traveling together at a discounted rate and with shared bath. The place is ideal for guests looking for a quiet environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hibiscus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.