We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely garden, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Guest House

Save Saved
You added Hibiscus Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hibiscus Guest House
195 Kirichwa Road | P.O. Box 47663, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 156 Nairobi B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lovely garden, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I have stayed at Hibiscus a number of times when needing somewhere for a few days in Nairobi. The staff are lovely and very friendly, the rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. Its much nicer than anonymous hotels, and the garden is pleasant to sit in if you need to do some work or reading. Good value given Nairobi prices. Breakfast is ok with eggs to order.

Walking distance to the Yaya centre for shopping and restaurants.

Make sure your taxi driver knows the side street it is in, as not all can find it right away.

Room Tip: I prefer the rooms in the main house instead of the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    19
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
9
10
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
94 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
244 helpful votes 244 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I'm not sure why my experience of Hibiscus differs so much from other reviewers. Maybe because we were arriving at 10 pm and leaving at 7am, we were given an unrepresentative room, but room we were given, although large was very scruffy and expensive what the standard provided. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom adequate.

Communication was excellent when arranging our room and our pick up and drop off at the airport were very smooth.

The staff were very friendly.

Breakfast was extremely limited.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bujumbura
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I spent a weekend at Hibiscus with my wife (15-16 June 2013).

Hibiscus is an excellent choice in Nairobi. It is value for money considering the very expensive alternative.

The staff is incredibly attentive. The rooms inside the main house are really nice and cousy, while those outside could be improved.

I would go back to Hibiscus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Hibiscus was the perfect place for me to stay in Nairobi, and I'd recommend it to anyone who gets sick of anonymous hotels and would rather stay someplace with a more homey vibe. The place is clean and quiet, with a very pleasant garden and a plain but wholesome breakfast every morning. The location is excellent -- a quiet neighborhood not too far from the city center. The area, Kilimani, is safe to walk around during the day and there is a shopping center and a number of decent restaurants nearby. If you're traveling alone, as I was, you may appreciate the friendly staff, who will greet you by name and take the time to chat with you as you come and go, or as you linger over breakfast. They'll also escort you to the restaurant across the street if you need to go out for dinner after dark. Will definitely return next time I am in Nairobi!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 5 in the main house - very roomy and you have your own entry/exit into the garden...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Phyllis and the team at Hibiscus Guesthouse have done an incredible job to create an affordable, comfortable and friendly place to stay while in Nairobi. The next time I'm back in Nairobi I'll be going straight back to Hibiscus.

My experience in order of importance (for me):

People: the staff are awesome. Always smiling and happy to help you in any way possible. I moved in to a friend's place after staying here but often popped in to say hi when in the area. Chef Joseph even gave up his time to teach me how to make ugali and beef stew.

Location: perfectly situated near fun bars, good restaurants and handy malls. The guest house is set off the road and behind gates with a security guard there 24/7. It's also very close to many of the technology hubs (iHub, 88mph etc.), walking distance to Impala Sports club (outdoor pool) and just a couple of minutes from where you can take a bus into town.

Food: awesome breakfast spreads with eggs, omelets etc. cooked to order. I never sampled other meals but there are always amazing smells wafting from the kitchen.

Accommodation: the rooms are all clean and tidy. You're not getting 5* luxury but that's not the point of Hibiscus. My double room was big with a huge ensuite bathroom and a large safe (big enough for a laptop) There's a communal sitting area and free WiFi with a good connection throughout. There's also a super chilled garden and outdoor sitting area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Absolutely friendly staff, decent location, gives a good feeling...They are extra caring on smaller aspects too..
The room was fair, with basic necessities. Will recommend this to people who want to go Nairobi for Fews Days..
The Airport Pickup arranged was a plus..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Always a fan of Hibiscus. I've stayed here for more than a few weeks over the last couple of years. It's not a five star hotel, but it's everything I need with an excellent and incredibly friendly and helpful staff.

I have always stayed in the satellite building. The rooms are basic bust spacious and kept clean with nice personal bathrooms. All the rooms have a safe which is important to me in Nairobi. Everyone at Hibiscus is very friendly and accommodating. It's always my first choice for a short visit and I always visit when I'm in town.

The location is excellent. It is in a small house tucked off of a medium sized road in Kilimani. Without traffic it is just a few minutes driving into town or a bit farther to Karen, but the local area has lots of great restaurants and it's not too far to walk YaYa center, Prestige Plaza, and a short ride to the Junction Mall. It is also walking distance from the iHub which is convenient for tech visitors.

Room Tip: If you take a room in the main house there is a lock on the front door so if you get back late you h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hibiscus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Guest House

Address: 195 Kirichwa Road | P.O. Box 47663, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Guest House is a comfortable and refreshing place offering the business,leisure and family traveler all contemporary comforts at an affordable rate. We are located in a serene neighborhood near Yaya Centre, Prestige Plaza, Junction Mall, Java House and many more. Rooms are clean, fresh and comfortable with unique aesthetic appeal specifically designed for guest comfort. We have family room with connecting door. We have 24hr security, electronic safes in the rooms. There is one large beautiful room that can host a group of between 4-6 traveling together at a discounted rate and with shared bath. The place is ideal for guests looking for a quiet environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Hibiscus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.