We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet haven from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hibiscus Guest House to your Saves list
Hibiscus Guest House
195 Kirichwa Road | P.O. Box 47663, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 173 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pontiac, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A quiet haven from the hustle and bustle of Nairobi.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Hibiscus Guest House for 2 nights, as we were entering and leaving Kenya. Both rooms were very clean, the beds comfortable, and the staff is very accommodating and helpful. On the way in, we had a very early flight out the next morning and had to be at the airport by 5:30 a.m. However, Phyllis, the manager, got up early and had breakfast waiting for us at 4:30, despite being up after 10:00 p.m. the night before to greet us when we arrived. On our return visit, we had a day in Nairobi before our flight back home. We went downtown and walked around a bit, but decided to return to the Hibiscus house and just sit in their pleasant yard and enjoy the peace and quiet for a few hours. They also provided storage for our luggage and allowed us to use their facilities to change before leaving for the airport, even though it was late afternoon and well beyond the typical "check out" time. They even asked if we wanted to take a shower one last time before leaving! Overall this is a great place to stay and also a great value.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    22
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
10
10
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Webuye, Kenya
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in January 2012 for a night. We flew into Nairobi late at night and had another flight out the next afternoon, so we stayed here for a night during our stopover. We were so impressed with everything about this location. The staff was incredibly friendly and went out of the way to do everything for us. The room was perfect, and a nice bed and warm shower were just perfect after several hours of flight from the US. The breakfast the next morning was just perfect. Overall, it was a great, great location that I am recommending to all my friends/family who need a place to stay in Nairobi. The staff alone make the place amazing - thank you for your warm welcome and for all you did for us!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linköping, Ostergotlands Lan, Sweden
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I stayed for 2 nights while traveling from Sweden to the west of Kenya in December 2011. It was a wonderful 2 nights and even though I were just passing Nairobi, Hibiscus Guesthouse had a really good impression on me. The staff is very friendly, the food was great and the location of the guesthouse is ideal for reaching JK international airport fast!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

i was traveling from Holland to Tanzania for new years celebration and stayed at a hotel that gave me the worst experience ever,the food was terrible and the staff were very arrogant.on my way back,i decided to go for a safari to Maasai mara and hence used Elida tours and safaris which happens to be the sister company to hibiscus,and hence booked me for 6nights at the guest house.ooh i loved everything about it,i was received by Phylis the guest relation officer,she was kind,respectful and very helpful.the rooms were so organized and very clean,with safe's to ensure maximum security although i did not feel insecure.i will surely go back with my family many more times,thanks to Elida for joining me with the spectacular home away from home guest house.highly recommend it.

Room Tip: annex rooms are calm and very quite,plus are self contained and well designed,am sure what ever you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

I have visited Nairobi on a number of occassions and stayed in a number of different hotels and inparticular the Crowne Plaza. In future I am going to stay in the Hibiscus guest house.

Yes it is basic but it is spotlessly clean. They beds are comfortable and the rooms are big. The have in-room safes big enough to fit your laptop and the have mosquito nets and free wifi. Breakfast is included and excellent and dinner is available at a small cost. The fresh fruit is amazing.

The location is excellent with so much to do within a 10 minute walk.

Most importantly the staff are incredibly friendly. I mean nothing is ever any hassle to them as they are so accomodating and super friendly. Every single member of staff was more helpful than any I come across in the Crowne Plaza.

At the prices they charge this place is amazing value for money.

Room Tip: Book the hotel taxi from the airport as he is a nice guy and obviously knows all the short cuts to g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We stayed here for two nights on two separate occasions in December 2011. The rooms are spacious with decent beds, mosquito nets and private safety box. The rooms in the main building are the best. (Especially the room with private patio was very nice.)
Very helpful and sweet staff. Great service, they even went to the station and bought tickets to the train between Nairobi and Mombasa, before our arrival, because it was difficult for us to arrange the train booking from Sweden!
The breakfast is simple but decent and the Guest House has a beautiful and relaxing garden. Hibiscus is placed in a safe lower middle class area. All in all a very affordable and nice B & B

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

This guest house is an oasis in the Nairobi area! The staff will do everything possible to make you feel at home and relaxed. They are also very knowledgeable about the area and able to arrange special transport for shopping to places where you'll have the best selections of whatever you are looking for. In addition to making airport transfers available, they know local taxi drivers who are very reliable (their fares are very reasonable) and can get you wherever you want to go. David and Elizabeth (the owners) make an effort to meet all their guests so this isn't just a business for them - it's a way to meet new friends. The food is good (family dining), the rooms are clean and basic (you'll need a converter for electrical gadgets if you are from the US), and the grounds are relaxing whether you choose to sit in the great room or the guesthouse or the great outdoor! I HIGHLY recommend the Hibiscus Guest House to anyone who finds themselves staying in Nairobi for any length of time. Karibu nyumbani traveler, karibu nyumbani.

Room Tip: You have an option of self-contained rooms which include shower and restroom facilities within them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hibiscus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Guest House

Address: 195 Kirichwa Road | P.O. Box 47663, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 173 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Guest House is a comfortable and refreshing place offering the business,leisure and family traveler all contemporary comforts at an affordable rate. We are located in a serene neighborhood near Yaya Centre, Prestige Plaza, Junction Mall, Java House and many more. Rooms are clean, fresh and comfortable with unique aesthetic appeal specifically designed for guest comfort. We have family room with connecting door. We have 24hr security, electronic safes in the rooms. There is one large beautiful room that can host a group of between 4-6 traveling together at a discounted rate and with shared bath. The place is ideal for guests looking for a quiet environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hibiscus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.