We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home at Hibiscus Guest House” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hibiscus Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hibiscus Guest House to your Saves list
Hibiscus Guest House
195 Kirichwa Road | P.O. Box 47663, Nairobi 00100, Kenya   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 162 Nairobi B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
“Home away from Home at Hibiscus Guest House”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

This guest house is an oasis in the Nairobi area! The staff will do everything possible to make you feel at home and relaxed. They are also very knowledgeable about the area and able to arrange special transport for shopping to places where you'll have the best selections of whatever you are looking for. In addition to making airport transfers available, they know local taxi drivers who are very reliable (their fares are very reasonable) and can get you wherever you want to go. David and Elizabeth (the owners) make an effort to meet all their guests so this isn't just a business for them - it's a way to meet new friends. The food is good (family dining), the rooms are clean and basic (you'll need a converter for electrical gadgets if you are from the US), and the grounds are relaxing whether you choose to sit in the great room or the guesthouse or the great outdoor! I HIGHLY recommend the Hibiscus Guest House to anyone who finds themselves staying in Nairobi for any length of time. Karibu nyumbani traveler, karibu nyumbani.

Room Tip: You have an option of self-contained rooms which include shower and restroom facilities within them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    21
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
10
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
York, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

We stayed at the Hibiscus for two nights in October on our way to a missions trip in another country. In November, on our way home, my granddaughter and I spent five more days and nights at the Hibiscus after the missions trip and found it to be a wonderfully, relaxing time of recuperation on our way back home. The staff is wonderful and they were not just workers at the Hibiscus, but quickly became our friends! We enjoyed our time with Phyllis, Sos, and all the staff! Sos even taught my granddaughter to make Mandazis! We then made them for her family when we arrived back home! Thank you Hibiscus staff for a wonderful, relaxing time! Any time I come back to Nairobi, it is the Hibiscus where I want to stay!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stayed in Hibiscus Guest House in November 2011 and was very pleased with the friendly staff. They were very welcoming and accommodating with extending our check out time at no additional cost. The rooms are fairly basic but nicely decorated, which was completely fine given the relatively low rate we were paying for the room. The hotel is also in a great location as it is outside of the hustle of city centre but still close enough to lots of amenities and restaurants.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

Hibiscus guest house was a really nice place to stay at when we visited our daughter who studies at the Swedish school. The location was perfect with walking distance to the school and not to far a way from the airport. Very friendly staff who really helped out with everything. Good with pick up service from the airport, calm area of Nairobi, big and clean family rooms and good breakfast. We all recommend the gust house!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had a perfect time for the first 4 days from our stay in Kenya. Very friendly people, very flexible with our wishes, nice breakfast en good rooms. Sos makes tasty omelets and the staff is always helpful.

Room Tip: Very big rooms inside. Smaller outside the building but than you have your own bathroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Shasta
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2011

We recently stayed at the Hibiscus prior to a safari in Kenya. We arrived late at night from the airport with transport provided by the Guest House at a reasonable price. Despite the late hour we were greeted by a smiling, cheerful and welcome gent named James. Our bags were placed in our room while we registered. Our room was immaculate with clean sheets, firm bed, and ensuite bath for $55 per night. We awoke to an included hearty breakfast of cereal, toast, eggs, sausage, tea and fresh mango juice. While the eggs were cooked to death, the spicy sauce brought them back to life. The guest house is a quiet oasis that is not the most convenient location but the hotel will arrange a taxi but depending on your negotiating skills you can find a taxi in the street much cheaper. The only down side was a group of noisy young kids coming in late that made me somewhat ashamed of my American compatriots.

We had booked the room for three nights but due to a flight cancellation missed our first night. Despite this we were not charged for three nights; only the two we actually stayed. I did email them to inform them we would be a day late but they were most gracious.

They seem to be religious based but aside from a bible scripture on our door there were no other trappings of religion.

At this price point I don't believe you could do any better in Nairobi.

Room Tip: They have some rooms that are not in the main building but are more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

My friend I stayed at Hibiscus Guest House for 2 weeks while in Nairobi on missions work. It was a wonderful, relaxing retreat. We felt very safe, the staff were very attentive, the food was excellent. I have been to 5 star hotels that did not treat me, or feed me this well. I will stay here again, and I hope it is soon!

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hibiscus Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hibiscus Guest House

Address: 195 Kirichwa Road | P.O. Box 47663, Nairobi 00100, Kenya
Phone Number:
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Nairobi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hibiscus Guest House is a comfortable and refreshing place offering the business,leisure and family traveler all contemporary comforts at an affordable rate. We are located in a serene neighborhood near Yaya Centre, Prestige Plaza, Junction Mall, Java House and many more. Rooms are clean, fresh and comfortable with unique aesthetic appeal specifically designed for guest comfort. We have family room with connecting door. We have 24hr security, electronic safes in the rooms. There is one large beautiful room that can host a group of between 4-6 traveling together at a discounted rate and with shared bath. The place is ideal for guests looking for a quiet environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your Hibiscus Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hibiscus Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.