We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A MUST in Nairobi!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upper Hill Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Upper Hill Campsite
Othaya Road - Lavington | PO Box 29886 00200, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 90 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Middleton, Wisconsin
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A MUST in Nairobi!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

If anyone is traveling to and/or through Kenya/Nairobi, I highly recommend staying at the Upperhill Campsite.

I just came back from a 2 week Africa journey and had the pleasure of stumbling across the Upperhill Campsite in Nairobi. I am not sure how exactly I found out about it as I had full intentions of staying at a different location until a week or so prior to arrival.

The facilities are varied, from bring your own tent to tented facilities, dorms and private rooms & cabins. I choose the cabin (about $22US) which turned out to be a really neat and eclectic choice.

The main building is the social center of the site, with visitors from around the world staying and transiting across the region. Most seem to use the site as a stop to catch your breath before heading to Uganda and beyond. The staff and ownership are welcome, friendly and extremely knowledgable. It is more like staying with extended family.

Food is good and well priced on property along with the Tusker Beer! if you are in need of supplies, the market, cyber cafe and ATM's are an easy walk away and the public transit (bus or matatu) are either at the end of the drive or on the main road just 5 minutes walk.

Be prepared to hear and plan for adventure. Your neighbor will likely be talking about their climb of Kilimanjao or trek through Uganda. Folks at Upperhill will help plan anything you need from day trips to affordable Safari and even visits to the open Markets which are a blast!

Take time to sit and chat with Jessi.

Your stay is not only enjoyable, it supports alot of amazing people.

Although it is not a 5* hotel, I would still recommend Upperhill for most people regardless of comfort zone, except perhaps the highly pampered.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    19
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
17
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

After spending 2 of 3 nights at B&B's, I decided to try something new.

Upper Hill Campsite is in a great location, close to shopping and offering a quiet place to stay in the heart of the city. I opted for a small 2 man tent (which came with clean mattress and fresh linens), which for the price of 600Ksh/night, was exactly what this budget savvy traveler was looking for.

The food was well priced, cooked fresh and on site and offered something for every palette.

A bar with plenty of indoor and outdoor seating, shared showers and loos, controlled access to the compound, all this and more to assure a good night's sleep.

I would recommend this lodging to budget minded travelers and solo travelers.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We stayed at the upperhill campsite on our several stopovers in Nairobi whilst travelling around the country this Summer. The place is hustling and bustling with travellers so if you are travelling on your own theres great possibility to make friends.

Good points - The food was cheap; there were plentiful showers although they were definatley cold despite the signs outside; cheap rooms which made the cost of our trip significantly lower; location is out of the centre which I personally would say is well worth avoiding; great to have you day planned for you, the backpackers had set prices and recommended places to visit. As well as visiting the obvious (David Sheldrick and Giraffe sanctury) I highly reccommend visiting Kitengela Glass, make sure you get a guided tour from the guy who mans the scary bridge its a real gem!!

Bad points; We stayed in a cabin rather than the dorms, they were cold, extremely basic, could be noisy if lots of groups were about and the beds were uncomfortable; the food may well be cheap which is great after a busy/expensive day but quite often it wasn't great food; on one occassion we were messed about by one of the associated taxis drivers which lost us an entire day but this was one occasion.

Overally a good place as long as your only staying for one or two nights (max) any longer i'd much reccomend finding somewhere nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Basic and cheap, great service. Ratio of showers to beds rather low and gets noisy with groups.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

A great campsite.
I stayed in a banda - very comfortable and clean.
Facilities were clean and hot showers too.
Very friendly staff & guests - good social scene.
Nice bar - good fun.
Well worth the running man symbol in the rough guide.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Upper Hill felt very homey, the manager is a lovely woman who help and advice about any question you can think about. she even helped us with some questions about other places out of Kenya. The place is very green and have hot showers (which I doubt if you will find in other places with this price). The food in the restaurant is very good and cheap.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We spent a few nights here whilst travelling through Nairobi and we loved it. The rooms are a little bit dearer than other places in the area but they are spacious and they have hot showers (very rare!). The food was brilliant and loads of choice but were of a similar to price to what you would pay in the UK so are more expensive than other eating places in the city centre. Although the location isn't great, its easy to make your way to the centre by mutatu (public bus) for just a few pence, and the lively young atmosphere at Upperhill means there's no reason to go out at night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Upper Hill Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Hill Campsite

Address: Othaya Road - Lavington | PO Box 29886 00200, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 90 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Also Known As:
Upper Hill Campsite Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upper Hill Campsite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Upper Hill Campsite to your Saves list