We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only just get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Upper Hill Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Upper Hill Campsite
Save Saved
You added Upper Hill Campsite to your Saves list
Othaya Road - Lavington | PO Box 29886 00200, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Only just get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2010

We stayed at the upperhill campsite on our several stopovers in Nairobi whilst travelling around the country this Summer. The place is hustling and bustling with travellers so if you are travelling on your own theres great possibility to make friends.

Good points - The food was cheap; there were plentiful showers although they were definatley cold despite the signs outside; cheap rooms which made the cost of our trip significantly lower; location is out of the centre which I personally would say is well worth avoiding; great to have you day planned for you, the backpackers had set prices and recommended places to visit. As well as visiting the obvious (David Sheldrick and Giraffe sanctury) I highly reccommend visiting Kitengela Glass, make sure you get a guided tour from the guy who mans the scary bridge its a real gem!!

Bad points; We stayed in a cabin rather than the dorms, they were cold, extremely basic, could be noisy if lots of groups were about and the beds were uncomfortable; the food may well be cheap which is great after a busy/expensive day but quite often it wasn't great food; on one occassion we were messed about by one of the associated taxis drivers which lost us an entire day but this was one occasion.

Overally a good place as long as your only staying for one or two nights (max) any longer i'd much reccomend finding somewhere nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    20
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
17
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Basic and cheap, great service. Ratio of showers to beds rather low and gets noisy with groups.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

A great campsite.
I stayed in a banda - very comfortable and clean.
Facilities were clean and hot showers too.
Very friendly staff & guests - good social scene.
Nice bar - good fun.
Well worth the running man symbol in the rough guide.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

Upper Hill felt very homey, the manager is a lovely woman who help and advice about any question you can think about. she even helped us with some questions about other places out of Kenya. The place is very green and have hot showers (which I doubt if you will find in other places with this price). The food in the restaurant is very good and cheap.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

We spent a few nights here whilst travelling through Nairobi and we loved it. The rooms are a little bit dearer than other places in the area but they are spacious and they have hot showers (very rare!). The food was brilliant and loads of choice but were of a similar to price to what you would pay in the UK so are more expensive than other eating places in the city centre. Although the location isn't great, its easy to make your way to the centre by mutatu (public bus) for just a few pence, and the lively young atmosphere at Upperhill means there's no reason to go out at night.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA/Kenya/S.Sudan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2009

Run by a great group of people and always filled with a great mix of travelers from all over the world and all ages. Good restaurant and great bar. There are many options of where to stay, rooms, dorm, cabins/bandas, furnished tents with electricity, basic tents, or you can just pitch your own! All are great options. The compound is beautiful and there is a comfy fireplace with couches and a TV for relaxing nights... the fireplace is great on some of those cold Nairobi Nights. This is where I always stay when going into Nairobi.

The staff can also assist you in any of your needs as far as booking tours, finding your way through Nairobi and finding the best activities to do- no matter what you want to do- they know someone who can arrange it for you at a good price.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Upper Hill Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Hill Campsite

Address: Othaya Road - Lavington | PO Box 29886 00200, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 96 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Also Known As:
Upper Hill Campsite Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upper Hill Campsite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.