We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, one of the best backpackers in Africa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upper Hill Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Upper Hill Campsite
Save
You added Upper Hill Campsite to your Saves list
Othaya Road - Lavington | PO Box 29886 00200, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic, one of the best backpackers in Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

If at all possible be armed with a map or road address on your way as there used to be another upper hill and taxi drivers will always try and take you to the former one which is down a rather sinister dark alley, so make sure you know where you are going.

Upper hill is beautiful. Set in lush gardens in the embassy district of Nairobi it is well out the city centre (around an hour's walk) so well away from the chaos, but it is also on the bus route which stops right outside.

I am not sure i have stayed at a backpackers which offers more information to travellers. The lady who runs the place is an excellent source of information and is very helpful and full of recommendations for safaris and onward travel.

I have stayed in the dorm here twice which is one of the larger dorm rooms in Africa which is more what travellers from europe, asia or the USA might be used to. I think it had around ten bunks which for a dorm i quite liked as it meant there were plenty of people to meet. The beds were very comfortable and it was very quiet.

I have also stayed in one of the safari tents, which if you have a friend are actually the same price per person as the dorm. It was lovely, with two twin beds, power outlet, lamp and a nice little verandah with chairs.

The main lounge has hundreds of books, a large tv and drinks and food were taken here and were excellent. The whole place had more of the feel of a home than a backpackers, which was so nice and seemed to rub off on the other travellers who were all equally nice and its a great place to meet people with people heading in all directions across africa such is Nairobi's status as a hub.

there is a small bar area on some upper floor decking which is good if there are a few people as the lights usually go out around 10 or 11 in the main living room.

I wish all backpackers places were just franchises of this one as they have got it spot on. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    20
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
3
17
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Upper Hill was our home base while traveling around Kenya for a month and we can't imagine having stayed anywhere else. We didn't know exactly where we wanted to travel during that month and Jesse, the owner, gave us great recommendations and knew exactly how to get everywhere using cheap local transport. It's location is a big plus - you feel very safe there and can go anywhere in the city easily by bus. The hot showers were also great! Whenever we make it back to Kenya, we will definitely go to Upper Hill!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night and were impressed by the cosy,clean and comfortable rooms. Staff are cheerful and a wide variety of delicious home-made food is available until late.(I can recommend the stew!) The hostel/campsite is a good source of information and very helpful with regard to arranging taxis etc and it has a lively travellers' atmosphere with people exchanging anecdotes or relaxing reading/watching TV.
One thing to be aware of is that they do have a charge if guests have checked out but have to wait a few hours for a taxi, This happened to us but they waived the charge as we were buying food while we waited.
All in all, a pleasant and friendly place that I would definitely revisit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Despite the slightly daunting security gate that leads you to thinking that you're staying in the middle of a war zone, this place is the tops. Incredibly chilled out with accommodation at all levels and prices to suit all budgets. We stayed in the main house and had the room to ourselves ( double bed suffered from 'roll-together' syndrome however) but there are super chalets outside, as well as raised platforms for tents etc in a beautifully landscaped garden. Inside is a huge lounge to chill out in and the meals are divine. The veggie stew and veggie lasagne were great and the pancakes and ice cream simply delicious! The staff are very knowledgable and helpful and will arrange taxis for you which is useful, though the half-day and full-day hire will work out very expensive. Far cheaper and easier to get cabs as you go. You can leave your bags for collection if you have a late departure the next day but be warned that they have a policy that you must leave on collecting your bags or pay a 'hanging about' fee. They don't want people hanging around if they're not guests! Having said that, they were fairly relaxed about us staying for a couple of hours prior to our departure for the airport, but then again we were buying food and drink. Cheapskates might not be so lucky!

Room Tip: Chalets look cozy but didn't stay in one. Check other reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff, with Jesse in particular, are simply fantastic. They know everything there is to see and they're funny and chatty.. The dorm was all one could need. It's quiet and warm. Food great. It also comes with personal taxi drivers. Good Good Good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Upperhill is a fantastic place to stay when in Nairobi. Whether you pitch your tent (which you can do on some super cool raised platforms), rent one of the little cabins (we stayed two nights in one, comfy bed, outlet for charging stuff, little porch, sweet) or grab a bed in the dorm, you can't go wrong. Upperhill has all the amenities you'll need. Hot water all more morning and all evening, WIFI, great restaurant (really nice burger for anyone needing a gut-buster fix) and an awesome little bar, The Drunken Geko.
Owners Jessi and Rich can help you find or do anything in Nairobi or further out in Kenya. Transport to/from the airport available and they can set up taxis and half-day/all-day car hire. They set up a full-day car and driver for us and we had a ball cruising around the city with our driver Eddie, he showed us all the sites and went out of his way to make sure we had a good time.Their staff are all friendly, helpful and ready to assist.
We found Upperhill relaxing, quiet and super affordable. Will definitely be back the next time we're in Nairobi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The location is somewhat away from central Nairobi but it makes up for it by being a place where people can feel safe and comfortable in Africa. The dorms are ok, can be a little cramped and dark but the tents are surprisingly cosy. Traveling to and from the site can be a little troublesome, it's either a taxi (Not cheap) or minibus. And the jams on the way to city central can be terrible.
Food is good, and beer is available. Also a nice lounge area too and Jessi, she is wonderful. She gives great advice and the staff are always kind and helpful.
Toilets are sometimes a little messy but TIA (This is Africa!)
I found the dogs adorable though, but it can be a little disconcerting to guests who are probably not used to 3 or 4 big sized dogs coming up to you.

Room Tip: If you were alone, just take a tent, more privacy although the toilet facilities can be a little inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nairobi hotels
6.0 mi away
House of Waine
House of Waine
#1 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 177 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Boma Nairobi
The Boma Nairobi
#4 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 411 reviews
2.9 mi away
Nairobi Serena Hotel
Nairobi Serena Hotel
#9 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Fairview Hotel
Fairview Hotel
#11 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 992 reviews
2.7 mi away
Villa Rosa Kempinski Nairobi
3.5 mi away
Sarova Stanley
Sarova Stanley
#6 of 129 in Nairobi
4.5 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Upper Hill Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Hill Campsite

Address: Othaya Road - Lavington | PO Box 29886 00200, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 134 Specialty Lodging in Nairobi
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Upper Hill Campsite Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upper Hill Campsite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.