We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value for money in town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Upper Hill Campsite

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nairobi
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Upper Hill Campsite
Save Saved
You added Upper Hill Campsite to your Saves list
Othaya Road - Lavington | PO Box 29886 00200, Nairobi, Kenya   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 94 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Dunedin, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best value for money in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

The staff, with Jesse in particular, are simply fantastic. They know everything there is to see and they're funny and chatty.. The dorm was all one could need. It's quiet and warm. Food great. It also comes with personal taxi drivers. Good Good Good.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    20
    5
    4
    4
See reviews for
3
17
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Islamabad, Pakistan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Upperhill is a fantastic place to stay when in Nairobi. Whether you pitch your tent (which you can do on some super cool raised platforms), rent one of the little cabins (we stayed two nights in one, comfy bed, outlet for charging stuff, little porch, sweet) or grab a bed in the dorm, you can't go wrong. Upperhill has all the amenities you'll need. Hot water all more morning and all evening, WIFI, great restaurant (really nice burger for anyone needing a gut-buster fix) and an awesome little bar, The Drunken Geko.
Owners Jessi and Rich can help you find or do anything in Nairobi or further out in Kenya. Transport to/from the airport available and they can set up taxis and half-day/all-day car hire. They set up a full-day car and driver for us and we had a ball cruising around the city with our driver Eddie, he showed us all the sites and went out of his way to make sure we had a good time.Their staff are all friendly, helpful and ready to assist.
We found Upperhill relaxing, quiet and super affordable. Will definitely be back the next time we're in Nairobi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The location is somewhat away from central Nairobi but it makes up for it by being a place where people can feel safe and comfortable in Africa. The dorms are ok, can be a little cramped and dark but the tents are surprisingly cosy. Traveling to and from the site can be a little troublesome, it's either a taxi (Not cheap) or minibus. And the jams on the way to city central can be terrible.
Food is good, and beer is available. Also a nice lounge area too and Jessi, she is wonderful. She gives great advice and the staff are always kind and helpful.
Toilets are sometimes a little messy but TIA (This is Africa!)
I found the dogs adorable though, but it can be a little disconcerting to guests who are probably not used to 3 or 4 big sized dogs coming up to you.

Room Tip: If you were alone, just take a tent, more privacy although the toilet facilities can be a little inc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

About three weeks ago I had a night's stop over in Nairobi before a journey to Mombasa so myself and my two friends decided to give Upperhill a call and see if they had a room. We got Jessi and she was super helpful with directions and offering to send a taxi for us. When we arrived we were all amazed (having come from living with the Masai for two months it was serious luxury!) and even though the kitchen was about to close they agreed to stay open late and prepare us dinner. Jessi gave us tons of advice for Mombasa and before she went off to bed she gave us a slip of paper with numbers for accommodation, her favorite taxi driver and a restaurant she'd recommended where you have to book. We left a big bag in storage for our trip and promised we'd be back to stay again before one of my friends flew back to England the following week. After our amazing stay in Mombasa we were more than happy to go back and again chatted with Jessi, Rich and Jessi's brother for the evening. Jessi told us we should go down on the following Friday for a big night out (my last night in Kenya) and after our amazing times there so far we decided it was worth it to head down again. Unfortunately Jessi was too sick to go out on Friday night so the two of us went out alone but because she felt bad that my friend and I had come all that way on her account she gave us our accommodation on the house.... Upperhill is an absolutely amazing place, brilliant food and great atmosphere. I think the staff at Upperhill more than prove that it's the people who make the party! Would recommend it to anyone and I will be back there as soon as I'm next in Nairobi.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Upperhill is a great place to stay...It is out of Nairobi and once inside the compound is like stepping into a relaxing garden atmosphere.It is a fair way out but taxis can be organised for a fixed price and there is the local bus near by.They can also arrange pickups from the airport.We also left our luggage there whilst on safari which was great.Food is great and the staff are very helpful and willing to assist. I stayed with my daughter and her friends in the big room with private bathroom which was great. As some of the other reviews say the dogs can be annoying..We had one night of little sleep due to their noise....would recommend earplugs..But the garden, price and staff more than make up for it.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kisumu, Nyanza, Kenya
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Upper Hill is great for its price, location, good food, and relaxing atmosphere. The problem is that a person stays at a guest house primarily to SLEEP and that was not possible given the four or five dogs that bark all night while jumping and crashing against a sheet metal fence. If not for the dogs, I'd be back without hesitation. Unfortunately with the dogs, I can't consider it or recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 days and we felt very much at home and welcome. Jesse and Rich did an amazing job in building the place as well as in taking care of their guests. They provided us with information about things to do in Nairobi and Jesse patiently answered all our questions regarding safety. She organized our shuttle bus down to and even booked our accommodation in Arusha.

We booked a double room (#1). It was nice and clean. Although a little noisy when people leave early (sometimes before dawn). Apart of that we were very happy whith the place. The food was delicious, all employees were very friendly and outgoing, and we felt very safe.
The cab from the city center was about KSH1000.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Upper Hill Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Upper Hill Campsite

Address: Othaya Road - Lavington | PO Box 29886 00200, Nairobi, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Nairobi
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 94 Specialty lodging in Nairobi
Also Known As:
Upper Hill Campsite Hotel Nairobi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Upper Hill Campsite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.